We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chester Grosvenor
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We had an overnight stay at the Chester Grosvenor en route from Liverpool airport to Staffordshire. In every way, the Chester Grosvenor was exceptional. The location in beautiful Chester cannot be beaten, out of the front door and you are in to history. All members of staff we dealt with were professional and obliging. We booked a Suite and the room had everything you could wish for - towels that were like blankets, delightful Elemis toiletries, the most comfortable bed imaginable and all the extra little touches. The public rooms were elegant without being over the top and we had a delightful 24 hours in Chester. The Continental breakfast that some people have moaned about was first class. Service was a little haphazard but the quality of everything was outstanding and you could eat as much or little as required. The porridge was delicious as was the fresh fruit complete with freshly squeezed orange juice. We left breakfast well sustained and didn't miss a cooked option for one moment. One previous reviewer has mentioned about the £5 charge for the milk in the fridge but this is inaccurate. The milk is complimentary with the tea or coffee. What the £5 charge is for is the dinky bottle with the Grosvenor Hotel logo. I am sure that many guests cherished these 'souvenirs' and left with them, hence the charge for the actual bottle itself should you wish to purchase one, not the milk - just leave the empty bottle in the room!
All in all, I could barely fault the Chester Grosvenor and were we to return to the city I wouldn't dream of looking anywhere else to stay. First class!!

Room Tip: Go for the best category room you can afford - understated luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterGrosvenor, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Bob1949,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a comprehensive and complimentary view of your stay with us and I am delighted to read that your experience of The Chester Grosvenor was such a positive one overall with the standards of service and facilities meeting your expectations.

I am so pleased that your suite was so very comfortable and had every amenity that you required. Our beds and towels often receive positive comments and I will be sure to pass these on to our Housekeeping Manger who will be as delighted to read of your kind comments as I.

I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Chester Grosvenor the next time your travels bring you to Chester!

Kind regards,

Danielle Facer
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 2,493 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017

Thank you to all the wonderful team at the Chester grosvenor for making our anniversary celebrations most perfect for us. Will hopefully visit again soon. Couldn't recommend enough. A must experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sophiejJ8474BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterGrosvenor, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear sophiejJ8474BK,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to The Chester Grosvenor to help you celebrate your special wedding anniversary! I am truly delighted you had such a wonderful experience and I hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to The Chester Grosvenor on your next trip to Chester.

If I can be of any assistance towards any future reservations please do not hesitate to contact me directly on Danielle.Facer@ChesterGrosvenor.com.

Warm regards,

Danielle Facer
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This was an excellent stay in a beautiful hotel in a fantastic location. Our room was perfect and the hotel staff very attentive and helpful. We dining in the brasserie which was excellent value and enjoyed the delicious food very much . We will certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank christinepD1761RW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterGrosvenor, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear christinepD1761RW,

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review, I was delighted you enjoyed every aspect of your recent stay and have shared you compliments with the entire team. My sincere thanks for this wonderful praise and Debbie, our Brasserie Manager, is particularly proud that you enjoyed dinner so much.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Chester Grosvenor on your return!

Warm regards,

Kindest regards,

Danielle Facer
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Great but unobtrusive service . Our room was spacious and well appointed.
The hotel generally has an unhurried ambiance. The afternoon teas are brilliant-beautiful presentation, a choice of teas, gorgeous, intricate cakes.A quiet oasis.
Located in the centre of Chester so good for shopping etc.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank anonF6972AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterGrosvenor, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear anonF6972AB,

May I firstly say how pleased I am that you enjoyed your Afternoon tea and kind compliments with regard to the team are sincerely appreciated. Our Afternoon tea is a must-try experience for all, and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Jaime and his team who will be thrilled to read how much you enjoyed your Afternoon tea experience!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Danielle Facer
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

beautiful and charming hotel in the heart of Chester! Great dining experience and spa is very intimate and relaxing. Staff make the experience a super one!
The rooms are spacious and well appointed, while the spaces such as the drawing room,, are perfect to work or just relax.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank T3031ISjennifero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheChesterGrosvenor, Guest Relations Manager at The Chester Grosvenor, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear T3031ISjennifero,

I'm delighted that you chose The Chester Grosvenor for your first visit to our historic city, and that you enjoyed the experience so much! Our location is perfect for exploring all that Chester has to offer.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us especially our attentive staff and we hope to welcome you back to The Chester Grosvenor in the not so distant future.

Kindest regards,

Danielle Facer
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
1,733 reviews
8.3 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
0.5 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
709 reviews
0.6 km away
ABode Chester
ABode Chester
#16 of 45 in Chester
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chester Grosvenor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chester Grosvenor

Address: Eastgate, Chester CH1 1LT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chester
#6 Family Hotel in Chester
#11 Business Hotel in Chester
Price Range: $231 - $601 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chester Grosvenor 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of beautiful Chester, the Grade II listed building, with its black and white timbered façade belies the modern elegance of the interior. The hotel offers both relaxed Parisian style dining and an exquisite Michelin star experience along with luxurious bedrooms and a heavenly spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chester Grosvenor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chester Grosvenor Hotel Chester
The Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing