We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent Middlefield”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Middlefield Farm

Main Lounge with inset log burner, pool table, LED TV and DVD
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main Lounge with inset log burner, pool table, LED TV and DVD
Fully equipped kitchen with Aga (instruction given if needed) Informal Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Main Lounge with inset log burner, pool table, LED TV and DVD
Fully equipped kitchen with Aga (instruction given if needed)
Informal Dining area
Dinning Room
Hall between kitchen and dining room /lounge - 3 steps down
Bedroom 1 with Hammock folded
Bedroom 2
Wet Room
Bathroom
Wetroom 2, with 100ft deep glass topped well
100ft deep glass topped well, Wetroom 2
South facing patio and decking around the pond
Annex Lounge area
Annex Kitchen/Dining area
Annex Bedroom 1 with en-suite bathroom
Partial view of en-suite bathroom
Annex Bedroom 2 with en-suite shower room
En-suite shower room
Annex is situated 30m from main house
Annex exterior view
One of several sheltered picnic/BBQ areas
One of the pathways through the Millennium Wood
Looking towards the meadow area before cutting
View of one of the open areas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
CaroleLin...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed needs a good clean and updating!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Having eventually found the property we drove up a narrow lane with high speed bumps (which caught my car exhaust) and lots of CT cameras, we were met by an irate woman who lives across the lane saying she owned the lane and made it quite clear we were not welcome - a great start to our weekend away. She not only told us but every single vehicle that arrived! She obviously was spying on us with the cameras! She seems have a dispute with the owner - NOT our problem!
On arrival the buildings looked quirky.
Myself and 3 others stayed in the Annex across the drive which had lots of spiders and huge dark cobwebs, the oven was disgustingly dirty, no clean dish cloth just a very well used scrubby sponge, the toilet brush in the bathroom was also disgusting, the tumble dryer was so full of compacted fluff it must have been a fire hazard, the main door was a very poorly fitted old stable door which didn't feel secure, very damp supposedly clean towels were folded on one of the double bedrooms which had left wet patches on the bedding. I have to say the beds were clean and comfortable.
The main house had lots of little steps and desperately needs some TLC!!!
The outside patio area was very shabby with lots of weeds and the water in the hot tub was GREEN!!!!!!
We had a fantastic time not due to the accommodation but the company I was with.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Dear Guest
I was concerned to receive your review which contains some items that need a response and action.
a) We have taken steps to eliminate inadvertent trespass beyond the right of way by improving signage to the property and we have also offered to create an alternative access into our property which does not pass the neighbouring property.
b) I think the claims regarding the huge dark cobwebs is a bit of an exaggeration. The property is cleaned after every visit and part of that is cobwebs. The property is in the country and is surrounded by vegetation. I have since asked the cleaners to pay particular attention to cobwebs.
c) I have passed a copy of your review to the cleaners and we have also reintroduced our check sheets at the end of each clean to ensure that omissions are caught.
d) The green hot tub is an exaggeration but at that time we were following a policy of minimal chemicals and changing the water on a weekly basis in order to minimise irritation to sensitive skin. The problem with this is that the chemical balance could change rapidly and so we have now reverted to a more conventional and higher chemical dose regime.
Finally, I do have to say that I only had positive responses from other members of your party and I am sorry that we did not meet your requirements.
We are continuing to improve the property and since your stay we have renovated the main house kitchen, one of the bathrooms and utility area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam R
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent Middlefield”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and my family enjoyed a truly fabulous stay at the beautiful Middlefield Farm, an incredible base from which to explore the delights of nearby Cambridge. So fabulous in fact that on arrival we wondered whether we should just spend all 3 of our days in the property itself - relaxing in the hot tub, shooting some pool, or simply enjoying a long, luxurious soak in the free standing bath within one of the nicest en-suite bathrooms imaginable. We really did love everything about this property - the acres and acres of grounds, the corridor after corridor of lovely rooms, the peaceful setting, the fact that, as luck would have it, the TV could get BT Sport which allowed me to watch my beloved Manchester City's opening Champions League match (my wife was not quite so enamoured with this discovery). And of course, special mention must also go to the owner, John, a lovely man who welcomed us warmly and left us in no doubt that should we need anything at all, he'd be only too happy to help at any time. All of these things, and many more, combined to give us all a magnificent stay at Middleton Farm. Highly, highly recommended.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you for such an excellent review and for being such lovely guests. I hope we see you again sometime. Kind regards John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindyLemm...
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal solution for a family or groups of friends to relax and catch up.”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We rented Middlefield Farm to house the extended family during our son's wedding. The farm is in a great location, close to Saffron Walden, and it proved to be the perfect base, not only for the nuptials, but also for exploring the locale afterwards. Ideal for a large group, the farm has a number of spacious and comfortable bedrooms. The "master" bedroom also has the advantage of a truly spectacular en-suite bathroom, which includes a (thick) glass floor section over the old well, There is a large farmhouse kitchen *with an Aga - bliss!) with a dining table but the farmhouse also boasts a large annexe with a huge dining table and a separate lounge area with TV and even a pool table. Part of the accommodation is in a separate cottage, both doubles having en-suites and a shared sitting room area and kitchen - so ideal for people who prefer a little more peace and quiet! There is a nice garden and patio at the back of the main house and a new spa bath which proved immensely popular and there is an enormous field to the front, fringed with hedges and trees and again superb for those that fancy some down time with a blanket and a good book. John, the owner, was great throughout, very quick to respond to e-mails etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and others.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
I am very pleased that you enjoyed the property for what it is and I hope we see you again. Best Wishes John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenjensup...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic property - cosey, comfortable and spacious”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our stay in this property was everything we'd hoped for and more. The rooms were comfortable and spacious, beds very comfortable and some very special individual features. The living space was bright and the fires made for a very cosey stay. Ping pong and snooker tables provided lots of entertainment as well as the fantastic outdoors space. With the long dining room tables we were able to have a wonderful group meal - it made catering very easy.
John was a wonderful host and was very flexible and generous with our stay. Thank you so much.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Dear Guest, It is always good to know that guests find the beds comfortable and the property cosy and warm in the winter. It was also lovely to hear that you made good use of the facilities. I hope we see you again soon.

Best Wishes

John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
434Cheryl...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything we needed”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The property is well situated for getting to many attractions in the area and for accessing Cambridge easily. Having both Middlefield Farm and Keepers Cottage gave us good versatile accommodation for sleeping and still being able to all eat together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's quietness and situation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
I am glad you all enjoyed your stay and you will be pleased to know that the new bathroom is now fully functional. I hope we see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 415
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing