We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel - little out of the way but great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Aylesbury
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The hotel is easily accessible by road (A41 going south from Aylesbury) but is out-of-the-way for both local transportation and amenities. The town centre and railway station are a 15-20 minute taxi ride away so a car is likely to be convenient. Parking is adequate and inclusive.

The hotel itself is well appointed with the expected leisure suite, bar, restaraunt and so on. The bar regularly shows Sky Sports (for the football fanatics!) and has a pleasant ambience. Having stayed a number of times, food has been a little variably in quality on occasion.

Service is very good by UK standards and the staff seem keen throughout the hotel, but particularly on reception.

The rooms are fine and come with the usual array of facilities e.g. iron board, kettle, tv (c. 20 free-to-air channels) and so on. Disappointingly, wifi is not free - indeed is pretty expensive. Like the rest of the hotel. the rooms looked clean and tidy.

This hotel works well as a base for both leisure and business, if you have a car. Nothing particularly exceptional but still a decent hotel with very good service. Certainly, I've returned many times and have usually enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear UK49er

Thank you for your feedback further to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.

I am delighted to learn of the great service you experienced during your stay, the hotel team will be especially pleased that their hard work has once again created a positive experience for our guests.

Thanks also for highlighting the inconsistencies you have experienced around food quality, this is an area we work hard upon to ensure great service, great quality and value for money.

With regard to Free Wi Fi, this is an offering our owning company currently are reviewing, however for the foreseeable future remains as is.

Many thanks once again

Ian Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Aylesbury
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

636 - 640 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

I only stayed for 1 night in Feburary 2012 as I was here for a family funeral but the staff were very helpful.

The room was good, clean and comfortable.
The bed was just right for a good nights sleep.

I would have no problems in recommending this hotel for a short stay, but the only problem was it seemed a little out of the way for local pubs and restaurants unless you are happy to get a taxi or drive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aapierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear aapierre

Thank you for your feedback further to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel facilities to be clean and comfortable and that the hotel team were friendly.

Many thanks
Ian Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Typical worn and ageing Holiday Inn, with exceptionally keen and personable reception staff who try very hard to lift a bland, sales reps road stop. To be fair, even though the hotel is basic and showing its age, it is well maintained.

Restaurant totally lacking in atmosphere and not somewhere to linger. 

One request for the management; please consider offering free WiFi, making access an incremental profit centre is now starting to look a bit mean and profit grabbing. Radison have got this right, and I am sure they make up in goodwill in what they lose on WiFi income.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long way from reception. Longer walk but quieter corridors wen sleeping.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OleDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear OleDunk,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor service experience when you stayed at our hotel. I am pleased that our staff was able to off set this displeasure with great service. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and will use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. I hope you will consider us again when in Aylesbury.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

stayed here for one night was given free upgrade and recognized as platinum member nice pool only slight fault with room is its a long way from reception the food in the restaurant was slightly disappointing an indian buffet is all very well if you like indian food there was an alternative menu but the food quality was slightly disappointing they were doing a survey and i did report this to them however breakfast was fine. sleep quality was good and new tvs excellent

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear CleethorpesGtfcfan

Thank you for your feedback further to your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and for your positive comments with regard to your room and the breakfast. However I am disappointed that we didn't quite get dinner right for you but pleased we picked this up with our guest satisfaction checks.

Look forward to your next visit

Thank you

Ian Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed at the holiday inn at must say what a pleasure it was to be served in the restaurant by such friendly staff. It made our evening that extra special by Ian providing us with exceptionable good service. He was knowledgeable and seemed to know what we wanted when we wanted it. Its not often you find a member of staff with such attention to the customers but on this occasion we were more than surprised. It was a fairly busy shift and nothing seemed to much. The wine was a superb addition to the meal!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRees, General Manager at Holiday Inn Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Dear John M

Thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Aylesbury.

It is always a pleasure to learn that the hotel team were successful in delivering a great experience, and I am particularly delighted to learn of the service provided to you within the restaurant by Ian, I will take a great deal of satisfaction in sharing your kind feedback with him.

Thank you

Ian Rees

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aylesbury hotels
4.0 km away
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
2.2 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
5.4 km away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 km away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
560 reviews
5.5 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wendover
539 reviews
3.2 km away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Aylesbury

Address: Previously ASTON CLINTON Road New Road, Aylesbury HP22 5QT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aylesbury
Price Range: $100 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Aylesbury 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Aylesbury offers stylish yet comfortable surroundings for the business and leisure guests alike. The hotel enjoys a semi-rural location on the outskirts of Aylesbury conveniently located on the A41, yet within easy reach of the M25, M40 and M1 motorways.This hotel is a suitable base for visiting Silverstone, Stoke Mandeville Hospital, Whipsnade Zoo & RAF Halton. Holiday Inn Aylesbury combines an excellent range of facilities - 139 bedrooms,including family rooms,interconnecting rooms and 60 Ground floor bedrooms including 2 fully accessible rooms and all public areas are situated on the ground floor. Junction restaurant, Hub bar and lounge facilities overlooking the Courtyard Gardens. Kids Stay & Eat Free* *Terms and Conditions apply. The Spirit health and fitness club including indoor swimming pool, steam Room, gym, dance studio & two beauty treatment rooms. Air Conditioning, High Speed Internet Access & Wireless Internet access available in all bedrooms, public areas and Conference Rooms. Holiday Inn Aylesbury is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 130 delegates. The hotel is one of the few venues that has a license for hosting a Civil ceremony in its gardens or alternatively in 2 other venues inside the hotel. Complimentary onsite parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, IHG, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Aylesbury Hotel Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing