We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friend gathering”

Assilah Bistro & Sheisha Garden
Ranked #51 of 1,813 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family run authentic moroccan / Med bistro on the wells road between totterdown and knowle. Established 14 years ago we operate on a B.Y.O basis allowing the customer to bring the tipple of their choice. We use traditional moroccan recipes from tagines to meshwi and relax in the moroccan bedouin seating or the more traditional bistro seating. We can cater for large groups and belly dancing can be arranged. So come and enjoy a taste of morocco in Bristol. AS WITH ALL TRADITIONAL MOROCCAN RECIPES TAGINES DO TAKE A WHILE TO COOK SO WE WOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED FAST FOOD. The new sheisha Garden will be operating from April lots of flavours.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Great atmosphere with the environment felt like we were in Morocco with the setting . Tasty food and extremely friendly staff. Recommended for a small group of people who want to experience something new.

Thank Jordan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I would come again every time. It's atmospheric, it's tasty and it's polite. The menu is small but what they cook is nothing short of brilliant. Loved it. You can also bring your own alcohol if you wish to.

1  Thank bustr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018

Great themed restaurant with lovely fresh food. Decorations and seating in an authentic style with lovely atmosphere. BYOB.

Thank Shazza705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We visited this restaurant for Valentine's night and were not disappointed by the quality of food and service we received.

This is a little gem and family run so the attention to detail and relaxed atmosphere is a delight. The décor is ethnic Moroccan and really makes the whole experience feel wonderfully authentic Arabic.

This is a Bring Your Own (BYO) bottle restaurant you are charged a corking fee and the food is superb.

Highly recommended this is a great place for couples and groups

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridget h, Owner at Assilah Bistro & Sheisha Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thankyou Jeremy for your lovely review and comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Assilah. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Although this restaurant has a nice ambience, very friendly staff, is relatively inexpensive and is BYO, I'm surprised it is so highly regarded.
I love Moroccan / North African food and so was hoping Assilah would at least be on a par with the excellent Tagine Zhor in Bath but sadly not.
There was a lack and depth of flavours with little to remind / hint at this being Moroccan food being served by a family run, independant restaurant. Whilst the meat in the chicken and lamb tagines was certainly very tender the dishes as a whole were just not that tasty - a case of skimping on the herbs and spices?
Apart from starters and mains we also ordered sides of couscous and Arabic Bread, the latter being the most disappointing part of the meal. It had all the hallmarks of something mass produced and that had just been heated up in a microwave. Hope this wasn't the case but just maybe not everything is made in house - one of the original starters ordered ie Moroccan Fish cakes was not available.
Could I conclude from this that they are bought in rather than made on site?
Don't think I will be revisiting.
As a footnote on the night we visited there was only one person front of house and so the length of time between arriving, giving the order, food arriving etc would certainly not suite those without a couple of hours to spare.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tinram_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridget h, Owner at Assilah Bistro & Sheisha Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Hi there firstly we would.like to thankyou for taking the time to write your review. Fishcakes are infact made by us but you were offered sardines which has always been a favourite with our.customers. we.do use lots of spices and herbs in our dishes I suppose its upto personal taste sorry you were dissappointed we could have made some.tweaks if you had let us now

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Assilah Bistro & Sheisha Garden also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Assilah Bistro & Sheisha Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing