We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A good place to stay for visiting the Bristol area”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen Diner
Kitchen Diner
Stairs
Kitchen Diner
The Master Double Bedroom with Ensuite
Kitchen Diner
The Master Double Bedroom with Ensuite
Kitchen Diner
Kitchen Diner
Kitchen Diner
The Master Double Bedroom with Ensuite
The Master Double Bedroom with Ensuite
The Master Double Bedroom with Ensuite
The Master Double Bedroom with Ensuite
The Master Double Bedroom with Ensuite
The Master Double Bedroom with Ensuite
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
The Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Patio
Patio
The Building
Garden
The Building
Garden
Street
The Building
Entrance
The Building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bristol, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Colin D
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good place to stay for visiting the Bristol area”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Visited the area for a week with my wife, 22 year old son and 18 year old daughter as it was our sons Bristol University graduation on the Friday. The Coach House has plenty of parking and the door was already unlocked for us as the owners live just across the gravelled yard. The property is clean and bright with an open plan ground floor with a large modern kitchen area. The bedrooms are comfortable with good bathroom facilities. The pubic transport is good with bus stops nearby to get into Bristol and a train station only about a mile away. Its about £3.50 for a single bus ticket into the centre of Bristol or a taxi will take you in for around £20.00. There are local shops and takeaways/restaurants with The George (about a mile away) particularly nice for a meal and drink. There is also a large Tesco about 2-3 miles away in Nailsea with cheap petrol available. The owners are very friendly and we had a very pleasant stay which was also good value with it easy to drive to nearby places such as Cheddar Gorge or Bath.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the property for visiting the area, good public transport links, nearby shops and eateries, friendly owners, comfortable, clean accommodation
Liked least: Limited wi-fi access, part ground floor only.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you. We enjoyed having you stay here and glad all went well with the graduation etc. Best wishe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watkim
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitely not more than a three star cottage”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

No hand wash in either toilet upon arrival. When I said about it the owner offered to explain what self contained means. Curtain in bedroom hanging as hooks were broken. There are no net curtains in the bedrooms and the light globes give very poor lighting. When I asked for brighter globes the owners response was "it's a bedroom, you don't need bright lights". We are avid readers and read in bed. The view from the cottage is the owners back yard so all you see is parked cars, clothes line, rubbish bins and mop and bucket at the back door. There are no net curtains in the lounge so we were on full view every time any of her sons were in the yard. At least 50 paintings all over the walls with price tags or 'sold' stickers on them. Pottery bowls and vases with price stickers on them. When I mentioned it was more like a shop the owner asked me if I had read the book which explained about her relative and girlfriend who painted and potted. When I said that no I hadn't as we had just arrived she came back with "you have been here two hours" (which she repeated) and yes we had, but we had been unpacking as we were staying for a fortnight. We were weary from travelling and as it was seven o'clock at night we were more interested in finding a pub to have tea than reading her book. She justified this by saying that Cafes do this sort of thing. A four star cottage has a queen size bed, not a double, I am 6' 2" and my feet were off the end of the bed so I slept in one of the singles which had a hard lump in it so I tried the other one which was better. The shower was just a trickle, in 2016 a four star cottage should have a power shower. The wi-fi was very slow and only worked in one area of the lounge room and and not upstairs at all. Her book explains how to strip the beds and where to leave the bedding and how to clean. There were four spray bottles on view upon entering the bathroom. This is our twelfth trip to the UK and we stay in four different cottages each trip so we do know how lovely four and five star cottages are and this is not a four star cottage in this day and age. The accreditation on the door of the cottage doesn't exist on the internet so I don't know where she gets her four stars from. All four star cottages leave milk, tea bags, sugar and hand wash upon arrival. If this cottage is a four star establishment then Cyfie Farm in Wales, Fern Cottage in Bewdley and Parsons Grove near Chepstow must be ten stars. We have never had to put in a bad review of any other cottage that we have stayed at.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hairdresser Nicky at Michael's in Nailsea.
Liked least: Poor wi-fi reception, only worked in one area of the lounge room, none upstairs at all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
This is a vey unfair and frankly untrue review. When new light bulbs were asked for we supplied them immediately. Other guests have liked the pictures as did the quality in tourism inspector recently. There is clearly no obligation to purchase any. There are no net curtains but none of us have interest in looking into the Windows and we can't see in anyway from our home.! Most people see the courtyard as a pleasant area with flower pots and patios with tables and chairs and bird tables. This is all a very negative 'half empty glass' review and very untypical of the positive comments we receive birth on line and in our visitors book Disappointing since the man always seemed happy to chat when I asked about his day! The information book was simply mentioned for th guest benefit and no obligation to read. When milk was mentioned it was offered but they preferred to go to the shops. In 13 years running the coach house this is the only negative comment. We always seek to be friendly and helpful to guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is a really lovely cottage which wants for nothing. It was clean and very comfortable and the owner could not have been more charming and friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large open plan ground floor
Liked least: The steep stairs
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for this. It was a pleasure to have you stay here. Hope we see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell W
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A beautiful and spacious cottage with everything we needed, and a very warm welcome from Iola, Kevin, and Holly (the dog, with whom our 8-year-old daughter fell in love, despite previously being afraid of dogs!). Iola was very knowledgeable about the area and nothing was too much trouble. Backwell is a nice village, and a good location for exploring Somerset, within easy reach of Weston-Super-Mare, Cheddar Gorge, Wells, Bristol, etc. We would definitely like to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Lovely guests who have now been twice and always welcome here. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam W
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best in Backwell/Somerset.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

A few of my friends and I stayed here in June. The accommodations' were wonderful, clean comfortable beds, and facilities. The owners are kind and helpful people who make the stay even better. Add the beautiful country side and the location and this makes a great getaway. I was nervous coming from the USA renting an apartment sight unseen, but the owners communicated via email and the whole experience made it worth the stress. I highly recommend you staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How friendly Kevin and lola (owners) are.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2016
Thank you for this review. We enjoyed having you stay here and hope we may see you again. Thank you too for the recipe tips!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing