We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel du Vin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel du Vin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

You always know that you are going to something a bit different at Hotel du Vin. This is the third one I have been to and it didn't disappoint. Fantastic bedrooms, very attractive bar and dining area. The bathroom was awesome! We stayed on a Sunday so got an excellent rate. The only thing that was unfortunate was the way the cooked breakfast was brought out before we had finished out cereal. That said, we had a great time and highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    320
    120
    63
    26
See reviews for
139
631
26
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed for just one night in a large room which was very comfortable. Furnishings are very classy and the bathroom was sumptuous (abour the size of a small hotel room, itself) with monsoon shower and freestanding bath.

Dinner was excellent and the service both in the restaurant and the bar was friendly, attentive and not at all patronising. The feel in the restaurant was smart casual. The pannacotta was simply the best dessert I've ever tasted.

Breakfast was leisurely with lots of choice.
OK, so it's not particularly cheap, but in terms of the quality of the hotel, its food and its service, I reckon it's good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank historymanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope we can welcome you back in the near future. If we can be of any further help, please let us know.
Lorraine Jarvie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Excellent hotel! Has yet to disappoint. My girlfriend and I spent the night for our anniversary, and we could not think of a better place to spend a relaxed romantic weekend. The furnishings in the room are unparalleled, with a spacious rolltop bathtub, and the best shower i've ever had the pleasure of using (walk in monsoon, with more than enough room for two...). no complaints in the morning from the hotel means the rooms have very good sound insulation, and the bed is also very comfortable. One small issue which might be inconvenient to some is the dim lighting in the rooms. This added to the romantic atmosphere for us, but I can see how that could be an issue if you need to work.

Finally, we also had dinner and breakfast at the Bistro, and the food was truly excellent, on par with any other premium tier restaurant in bristol. The decor alludes to a different era, complemented by the antiquated wine bottles lining the walls. Their wine list is host to a fleet of fantastic labels from around the world, with an obvious focus on French wine, but is somewhat on the pricey side. At 16.96, the HdV Merlot was perfectly satisfactory though.

We could not overstate the excellent caliber of this hotel, and cant wait to return again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NVanHoren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

it started with our initial wine selection not being available, an argument with the waitress about a bottle of corked wine, through to overpriced average food with a stone cold tart tatin, we were then left in an empty restaurant, for half an hour to top up our own wine, but still charged 12.5 % service,, to find our own coats which were on the floor of the cloakroom, as we left the barman shouted out see you mate "class"

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lagendar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine1966, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Reviewer

We would very much ask that you contact the hotel directly so that we can ascertain when you stayed with us and who looked after you during your stay so that we may take some corrective action.
We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night for our anniversary. We were very impressed with the room, especially the bathroom which had a lovely roll top bath and nice toiletries and which was spotlessly clean. The hotel has a cosy and relaxed feel to it with big soft sofas and armchairs in the bar area and the staff especially in the bistro and bar were extremely helpful and friendly. The meal we had in the bistro was amazing and was quite possibly one of the nicest meals I have ever had.

Overall, My husband and I had a great stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. We look forward to trying out other Hotel du Vin's across the UK.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMcEniff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,412 reviews
0.5 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 km away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price range (per night): $204 - $369
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing