We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect weekend”

Review of The Gothic Mansion

exterior back lawn to mansion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior back lawn to mansion
Blue toile double bedroom with ensuite wet room ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
60 reviews
exterior back lawn to mansion
Blue toile double bedroom with ensuite wet room ground floor
ensuite wet room ground floor
Master ensuite with Jacuzzi bathroom
One of many halls in the mansion and plenty to see
Enclosed and high gated  gardens perfect for the klids and family to enjoy.
Chesterfield lounge
stained glass stair landing, you will just love being in eloquent surrounding s of the mansion
The Gothic Mansion Bristols best kept secret!
Double boudoir
The Gothic Mansion nestled in an acre of grounds and on site car park
Grand reception hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 50
Bristol, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AKFieldin...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gothic ? Must refer to not having been cleaned this century. Grubby, at best.”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
16
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for a weekend for my best friend's 50th. We were a large party of friends and family. We have previously rented several other places as a large party, so we know the drill - we like to cook together and we are generally good at being organised. The bedrooms were numerous and accommodated us all, which was the main (only) positive feature.
Otherwise the house felt grubby and ill maintained. My friend was very upset to have invited us all there and we spent most of the weekend cleaning and trying to cheer her up about being there.
Overall this is a great shame, as the property is impressive and has great potential but appears poorly managed and administered.
Specific issues:
Kitchen:
1-shelf fallen out from fridge almost impossible to store food especially for so many persons
2-freezer dangerously unstable nearly toppled over when door pulled
3 - 3 kettles promised only 1 was operational
4. Several toasters promised only 1 was operational
5. No cleaning cloths provided but the place was filthy
Bathrooms:
1.Too few for the number of bedrooms
2. Significant hot water problems
3. Filthy

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nigel b
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gothic horror doesn't match the photos”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
8
people found this review helpful

Our trip got off to a bad start when we couldn't find the damn place on a dark, wet December night. We spent half an hour driving up and down Redcatch Rd in a taxi, looking for this so-called Gothic mansion, which we eventually found out was really a big house at 100 Redcatch Rd, in an area of several big houses. It would have been helpful if the website had given the full address! The taxi firm had certainly never heard of the Gothic Mansion (mind you, it appears to be a recent invention - subsequent googling revealed it had been a large multi-occupancy rented house three years ago according to a Bristol Post story when the landlord was fined for keeping the place in a poor state of repair). The house was indeed a bit shabby and appeared to have been divided up once and now reconnected. Stairwells everywhere. Certainly the photos on the website show the very best features - no picture of the bathroom that I used, which had a boarded up, disused dumb waiter in it! Indeed, only half of the bathrooms seemed to be working properly, with some of the showers not giving hot water. An upstairs kitchenette and sitting room looked like something out of bedsitland to me. The main living room, which contained three sofas, was far too small to take our entire party of fifty. The dining room was drab and although crockery was adequate for our formal birthday dinner party, it was a shame there were only plastic water jugs to put on the tables. To cap it all, the bed was uncomfortable! Not a place I would go back to or recommend.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: leaving
Liked least: poor bathroom facilities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamiRehov...
Rehovot
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awaiting the grim reaper”
Reviewed 27 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
8
people found this review helpful

Cold, shabby, dirty and poorly equipped. The large fridge had no shelves, the curtains in the lounge were falling down, only one of three kettles worked and the showers were cold & leaked. One toilet to serve many bedrooms on the ground floor was quite inadequate. Contrary to the expectation of a grand Gothic Mansion, this property screams of neglect. As a former Victorian orphanage, it still has that feel about it.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy129
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect weekend”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We are a large group of about 45 students who were using the house primarily to rehearse for a show we are putting on at university. The gothic mansion was absolutely perfect. Every single person said how incredible the venue was and the main feeling on leaving was can we come back next weekend?! We easily managed to cater for everyone in the large kitchen and everyone had a seat to eat at. Many of us commented on how comfortable the beds were. There was also always plenty of hot water for showers despite there being so many of us. The owners were also lovely and willing to help in whatever way they could.
In conclusion, if you are a large group of people looking for a place for a fun weekend away, this is it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the venue
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent weekend, amazing house!!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I recently returned from staying at the Gothic Mansion for my hen weekend. There were 24 of us in total and it was a real blast! The house was perfect for hosting, with two large halls that catered for dinner and dancing afterwards. The kitchen and lounge were the the hubs for the whole weekend with everyone congregating downstairs for cups of tea and bacon sarnies to games in the lounge before dinner commenced and the party started. The owners (Misha) couldn't have been more helpful throughout all our correspondence and also whilst we were there. I have already recommended to others and would go back there for a visit with friends/family and kids again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and all the quirky paintings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing