We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent weekend, amazing house!!”

Review of The Gothic Mansion

exterior back lawn to mansion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior back lawn to mansion
Blue toile double bedroom with ensuite wet room ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
60 reviews
exterior back lawn to mansion
Blue toile double bedroom with ensuite wet room ground floor
ensuite wet room ground floor
Master ensuite with Jacuzzi bathroom
One of many halls in the mansion and plenty to see
Enclosed and high gated  gardens perfect for the klids and family to enjoy.
Chesterfield lounge
stained glass stair landing, you will just love being in eloquent surrounding s of the mansion
The Gothic Mansion Bristols best kept secret!
Double boudoir
The Gothic Mansion nestled in an acre of grounds and on site car park
Grand reception hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 50
Bristol, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise A
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent weekend, amazing house!!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I recently returned from staying at the Gothic Mansion for my hen weekend. There were 24 of us in total and it was a real blast! The house was perfect for hosting, with two large halls that catered for dinner and dancing afterwards. The kitchen and lounge were the the hubs for the whole weekend with everyone congregating downstairs for cups of tea and bacon sarnies to games in the lounge before dinner commenced and the party started. The owners (Misha) couldn't have been more helpful throughout all our correspondence and also whilst we were there. I have already recommended to others and would go back there for a visit with friends/family and kids again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and all the quirky paintings
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MojoLiddy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the Gothic Mansion for 4 nights over Easter to celebrate my 40th birthday - our group comprised of 33 adults/children/babies. The organisers were brilliant at responding to all my queries prior to the event, which is no mean feat considering we had lots of them as I'm slightly OCD when it comes to organising these kind of things! On arrival we were just amazed by the Gothic Mansion - it is such a special place...the kids LOVED it - we hardly saw them over the 4 days as they took themselves off and entertained themselves...as there was so much to see and do and explore within the house/grounds. The place is a lovely space to relax and is brilliant for entertaining large groups particularly due to the 2 big rooms next to each other which seat lots of people with piano etc... Also the kitchen is fully stocked and capable of catering for lots of people - loved the kitchen too - it was the social hub during our stay. We all had a perfect break, and hope to return someday soon. The kids keep asking when they can 'go back to the castle'. Just excellent. Would highly recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can't decide...it was all perfect!
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benmx
1 review
“quirky unique gem”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in March 2013

we stayed 2 nights at the Gothic mansion. Massive rooms Fab staircase huge hall and outside space too
The kitchen was really well equipped. The mansion was really conveniently placed for going out in the evening, just a 2 min taxi ride to centre nightlife. The staff were really helpful and sent us some recommendations for the evening pub crawl. All in all we had a really excellent stay.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aishashak...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent family reunion”
Reviewed 6 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Our family came to stay from around the world
We were in awe of the massive surroundings which lent itself well to a huge gathering of all generations of our family. We are really pleased that we found this manor, as we had a big headache trying to find accommodation where we could all sit down for a family meal.
We hadn't seen some of our family in over 20 years and this was just perfect for our reunion.
On the recommendation of the owner we tried the 3 course curry catered meal which went down really well and all our needs were met. The food was amazing.
The remainder of our stay we cooked for ourselves as the premises has a very large kitchen which is well stocked.
I would say for al,l that we had a great stay and would highly recommend the gothic mansion for anyone coming to Bristol.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The immense space, grandeur of house, convenience for city centre as well as huge car park
Liked least: we had very little time to see all our family, next time we will come for longer stay
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johniegus...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most perfect party night possible”
Reviewed 24 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this house for a charity event, raising money for St Peter's Hospice, as well as a celebration for Bristols' first Elected Mayor, George Fergusson who was the star of the night. We had 2 very large halls and several reception rooms connected by a hallway that feels like a mainstream hotel, log fires in period fireplaces and a kitchen big enough to cater for an army. We had space for a whole series of Art and craft stalls for the afternoon and we set up a PA for a night of music with several different bands and performers and though we made loads of noise the it was absorbed by the huge thick walls of the mansion. This place is definately Bristols best kept secret..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge amounts of space
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing