We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid food”
Review of Thali Cafe Clifton

Thali Cafe Clifton
Ranked #238 of 1,811 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 24
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Went for a mates leaving party. Not tried here before but I have to say we are really enjoyed it and the food was some of the Thai I have had!

Thank 505annathomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thali C, General Manager at Thali Cafe Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi Anna,
Thank you for the lovely review and we're very pleased you had such a nice time, I hope we see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Mathew Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Limited menu and uninspiring food sitting on uncomfortable chairs. We were served by an officious waitress who on being asked what the replacement Sauvignon wine was like, replied that it was ‘white’.

Thank Briony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thali C, General Manager at Thali Cafe Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi Briony,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, we're very sorry that you didn't enjoy the food and setting and also that the service you received was far below our usual standard. Please contact me via clifton@thethalirestaurant.co.uk, I would very much like to discuss your visit further.

Sincerely,
Mathew Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The Thali Cafe in Clifton was recommended to us by our daughter who has just moved to Bristol. The experience was surreal, but well worth a return. “Picture this, Johnny”..

Bright Indian themed decor on two levels. Greeted by really friendly and helpful staff, in fact our server’s Mum lives in Southport just down the road from us. It’s a small world. The music was a mixture of reggae, Doobie Bros and Steely Dan, which was like a soundtrack when I first worked in Bristol as a teenager in the hot summer of 1976! The vibe was relaxed.

Looking at the concise menu, choice is limited, but focus on what you do best. The food was terrific. The accoutrements to the poppadoms were 10X better than the generic gunge that most Indian restaurants dish out, so different and fresh tasting. The lamb was so tender with a depth of warm spices, and the chicken tikka dish was tender and mild, very tasty. The sides were truly authentic bursting with flavour, the dessert and chai tea rounded off what was a great tasting and good value dinner.

On our way back to our hotel, we passed another Indian Restaurant. We counted over 100 dishes on the menu, and I bet not one would have been as good as we had just eaten at the Thali.

Thank Tarquinjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thali C, General Manager at Thali Cafe Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi Tarquin,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this lovely review, we're really pleased you had such a good time and look forward to having you back soon.
Sincerely,

Mathew Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

A fantastic restaurant with great food and perfect service. My family came in to celebrate a 40th birthday. We weren’t the easiest customers, but nothing was too difficult for the staff. The food was very good - tasty and complimentary and the atmosphere was perfect for a party. We will come again. The spicy chicken thali was a favourite, as were the mushroom samosas.

Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thali C, General Manager at Thali Cafe Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi Daniel,
Thank you for your lovely review and we're all really pleased that the Birthday party was such a success! We'd love to have you all back any time and honestly your party made our day here at Thali, you were great :)
Looking forward to seeing you again soon,

Mathew Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

Traditional Indian look and feel, lot of though has been put into the decor. However food could definitely do better. 2 out of 3 veggie starters weren’t available. Ordered the aloo bondas and they were really lovely right amount of spice, hot and fresh- which definitely raised the expectations. We ordered the Paneer thali main- which didn’t live upto the standards. They should either try to eat an authentic thali to get the inspiration if they are a thali based restaurant charging £10 upwards for a thali. Paneer main was very disappointing in taste. Biggest let down however was the chappati which was the supermarket standard straight out if a packet reheated. If I had to do that I wouldn’t be eating out, right? We ordered gulab jamun and chai for dessert- portion had only one piece if gulab jamun but tasted gooooooodddd. Room for improvement but definitely has the potential. Staff and service was lively and welcoming. Also could do with Indian music instead of Blues

Thank nikita27_sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thali C, General Manager at Thali Cafe Clifton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Hi Nikita,
Thank you for the feedback, you've raised some valid points and we are always looking to improve and provide the tastiest , most authentic food possible! We have suffered with some short term supplier issues in the last week which unfortunately has left us unable to provide everything on the menu and i'm sorry that this unfortunately left you short of Starter options on your visit but i'm very pleased you enjoyed the Aloo Bondas, we think they're fantastic too! As too your feedback regarding the Paneer Thali it's been passed on to our Head Chef Ramesh and we'll be working together to look at ways we can boost the flavour of this dish while staying true to it's roots as a Punjabi lunchtime favourite. If you'd like to provide any further feedback about your visit please don't hesitate to contact me on Clifton@thethalirestaurant.co.uk, hopefully we'll see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Mathew Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thali Cafe Clifton also viewed

 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Thali Cafe Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing