We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,261)
Filter reviews
1,261 results
Traveller rating
273
451
305
128
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
451
305
128
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clifton suspension bridge white lion great view of the bridge balloon fiesta street parking third floor hotel bar full english stayed for one night lovely room permit
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 1,261 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

My other half surprised me with a nice lunch to this establishment. Rather pricey, very nice interior, I was delighted. However it turned out to be a waste of time and money and now we will not return nor Reccomend to anybody. My partner ordered us some drinks and our food, and after atleast a half hour wait we asked a bar member when to expect our meal. The Bar team were vague and assumabley went to the kitchen to find out. We waited another 15 minutes before asking a young Spanish lady again, where our food was. She briskly explained that it was not her problem and to ask the bar team again. After yet another kerfuffle we finally got our food, after we had finished our drinks, and it turns out the Spanish lady we had enquired with, had taken our burgers (yes, two burgers, not that hard for a Wednesday afternoon with only two tables sat down for lunch if you ask me) to a different table, and completely mixed up the two tables orders. Now having worked in hospitality for several years, my first instinct in this situation would've been to apologize and offer some drinks on the house, however we were blessed with a very brief apology, followed by having to ask for the Chipotle mayonnaise as they had forgotten one of the portions on the order.

All in all, we will not be coming back.
Thanks, but no thanks.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The White Lion bar pre revamp was an under-utilised and under exploited bar particularly with the view.

Post revamp the bar is aesthetically pleasing and much more in keeping with the neighbourhood, however the prices and quality of the food does not match.

I stupidly opted for the famous chip butty sandwich, quite possibly the worst rip off I’ve ever had the displeasure of coming across. I received circa 8 chips on a “chapati” (it in fact a tortilla wrap)! I finished it in a bout 2 mins (after my 30 min wait). I’m a 5ft 2 female and was left so hungry afterwards.

Also my friend found large pieces of paper in her burger (wrapping not removed from the chicken pre cooking!) which was very unpleasant. To be fair they did rectify this situation rapidly, however the fact it occurred in the first place is shocking. All the sides are £4.50 (the rather pricey burgers coming alone which is at least made clear) are tiny, particularly the potato skins.

Please see photos of the ‘chip butty’ and the loaded skins.

Save your money and go elsewhere in Clifton

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jaybeekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We have stayed here a couple of times now visiting our daughter who studies in Bristol. This is one of the few dog friendly hotels with lots of good walking on the door step.

The hotel is being upgraded to a very high standard, the rooms are very comfortable with all of the modern comforts.

The staff are all really friendly and helpful, and made us and the dog more than welcome. Breakfast is great, very good quality, freshly cooked. Lunchtime vibe in the pub area is lively, food is quickly served and tasty.

Recommended, we will be back! Great value if you search for the best room rates

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tarquinjonesik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Wanted to leave my feedback about my recent stay last week. Great location, parking is as always a problem in Clifton Village, was disappointed as there was no parking available at the back of the hotel. Reception was always welcoming, was greeted by Susan very helpful lady. Look forward to returning when the refurbishment is complete.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Helenrosedaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

I have stayed in the Avon Gorge a few times over the years but this is the first since major renovations began. I had a really pleasant stay . Staff were all very polite friendly and helpfull, reception particularly so.
I echo other reviewers comments about the rooms, stylish , comfortable and very dark. I found myself taking things into the bathroom which has proper lighting to read. Some kind of normal lighting option would be useful. Otherwise though my room, 225 was great, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom and shower excellent ( I love the grapefruit shower gel).
I ate out in Clifton village but did have a drink in the lion bar. This has also been returned very nicely.
Breakfast was good as always. The granola and yoghurt pots are great and eggs Benedict delicious .
A comfortable stay for business and I will happily return.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phill_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews