We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,246)
Filter reviews
4,246 results
Traveller rating
2,253
1,378
420
125
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,253
1,378
420
125
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe room free parking overlooking the harbour car park adjacent ncp nespresso machine bars and restaurants lovely hotel ss great britain excellent location an upgrade city centre saturday night lovely room comfy bed buffet style a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 4,246 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited The Bristol recently along with some members of my family.
My wife had booked it over the phone as a surprise birthday gift for me.
She said the staff could not have been more helpful when she booked as she is not use to doing that sort of thing.
We arrived around 9pm on a Friday and the reception staff recommended some independent places to eat, could not not have been more helpful.
They where always on hand to help with recommendations of places to visit.
If fact the every member of the staff we spoke to 'sold' Bristol promoting local produce, restaurants and area.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 60charlief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, Guest Relations Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 60charlief,

We are all delighted to hear your 5 star account of your special occasion visit to the city - we're proud to have played a crucial role in ensuring your unexpected celebrations were thoroughly enjoyed.

Our Front of House team are not only advocates of The Doyle Collection, but, also, and perhaps more importantly for our leisure guests, of our incredible city; it's fantastically rewarding to receive your glowing endorsement of their local knowledge.

Thank you so much for sharing your excellent feedback - we can't wait to see you all returning soon, for another treasured get together.

Kind regards,

Brett Atkinson
Business Excellence Manager
The Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is ideally located for the old centre of Bristol. There are plenty of places to eat and drink nearby, as is the theatre.
The rooms are refurbed and very nice (the shower in particular was fab!) if a little on the small side. The bar is great and had some novel but brilliant predinner cocktails! Breakfast was also good with a really good selection of gluten free options.
Overnight parking in the adjoined NCP is good value and secure also.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank ColinTall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, Guest Relations Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Colin Tall,

It's clear that from start to finish your recent stay with us at The Bristol, and your exploration of the city sights, on our doorstep, were thoroughly enjoyed.

The Bar Team - and in particular Edyta - are always inventing and innovating when it comes to their weekly cocktail, and they will be over the moon to receive your appreciation of their creativity.

Thank you kindly for your excellent 5 star review - I'm sure we will be seeing you all returning soon.

Kind regards,

Brett Atkinson
Business Excellence Manager
The Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018

Room 529 , Sunday to Friday .

This is Reasonable room fifth floor facing water and the harbour quarter , there are though many large trees restricting any view , no issues with noise on the 5th floor and there is also secondary glazing.

Categorised as King size deluxe , they are not huge rooms and it would seem you get either a comfortable size bathroom or a bedroom but not both , for stays more than typical business visits there is not enough wardrobe space , but in fairness there is an attempt to give you everything , quart into a pint pot .

What makes it worth it though are the very well trained staff bottom to top , it is run extremely well by responsive managers , unlike many continental hotels they do not hide behind junior staff , a refreshing difference , the communication between them was seamless , it really is very well run.

You can choose with or without breakfast , if you enjoy a full English its worth including , the category of room gives you the usual robes , coffee machine , kettle, water , iron etc , there is no mini bar .

The restaurant serves good food and has a decent wine selection , usual sort of mark up but they are well chosen you are not paying for rubbish .

There is only one suite in the hotel so if you want that book it or it will be pure pot luck if you get it .

In terms of rooms you will get what you pay for you can not complain if you have gone cheap and got small , the sizes are noted when booking , however the treatment from the staff will be the same throughout , absolutley no reason not to return , its so convenient we walked everywhere after arriving by train which was a fifteen minute walk from Temple Meads .

Room tip: Floor five or six
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoawayTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, Guest Relations Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear p b,

We really do enjoy receiving detailed and considered reviews such as yours; they provide us with a fantastic insight into our guest's individual experience, and, also, just as importantly, provide the Trip Advisor Community with those much sought after traveler tips.

What is incredibly rewarding to see is the profound effect our whole team at The Bristol had on your stay with us - we are all in this together and it's a great testament to our behind the scenes "family atmosphere' how much that shines through.

Your feedback on our River Grille restaurant especially with regards to the wine list will is very much appreciated by our Food and Beverage management team, who work tirelessly to ensure the product matches those Doyle Collection standards of service.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the city; please do contact our in-house Reservations Team the next time you are planning another visit - thank you so much for sharing your 4 star review.

Kind regards,

Brett Atkinson
Business Excellence Manager
The Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

As you’ll notice from the prices quoted, this is one of the most expensive hotels to stay at in Bristol. I got a reasonable deal but I also got one of the smallest rooms in the hotel (room 121). It wasn’t much bigger than the size of the bed!
It was probably due to my misfortune but the queue on arrival at reception was enormous (see photo below). One good thing was that I was offered free overnight parking.
I was disappointed that, unlike most modern hotels, there wasn’t complimentary bottled water in the room.
Breakfast was good.
I would stay again, but I wouldn’t pay anything like the rack rate and I would ask for a larger room- apparently 125 is good.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, Guest Relations Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Steve G,

Thank you for taking the time to post your 4 star review following your recent stay with us at The Bristol. It's great to receive your positive note on Breakfast and to see that you are planning on returning.

We fully acknowledge that at peak times (for arrivals) our small lobby area can quickly fill with delegates checking in, after leaving their offices in the surrounding area at the same time, during weekdays. We always endeavour to ensure we are staffed accordingly and can only apologise that this impacted on your stay negatively.

As noted via this forum previously our prices do fluctuate in line with the business demand on the city and we are consistently listed on Trip Advisor as 'Best Value' when compared to our direct competitors in the city - though we fully acknowledge that when our standard rooms are selling at a premium as a result, this does not necessarily represent an obvious value compared with the average price you can stay with us when the city is not so busy.

Next time you make a reservation with us, please speak with our friendly in-house Reservation Team and we're sure they will find you a room more suited to your individual requirements. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Brett Atkinson
Business Excellence Manager
The Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights using Tesco vouchers, and whilst we hoped it would be decent, we were really pleasantly surprised by just how good it was. On checking-in our receptionist was unable to get hold of housekeeping to check if our room was ready, and when he was unable to, gave us a great rundown of things to see and do in the area, and when that was exhausted, sorted us out with drinks until our room was ready.

The room was great, clean and comfortable. My wife enjoyed the toiletries, I enjoyed the 55" TV with built in Chromecast, so we happily spent time tucked up in bed catching up on box sets. When we want to get out about, there were bars and restaurants in all directions, and just a short walk to the key tourist attractions.

To top it off, £5 a day to park on-site in the multi-storey is ludicrously good value compared to a lot of city-centre hotels.

We'd love to return to the city and I'm pretty sure when we do we'll stay in The Bristol.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank reverendbingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol_GM1, Guest Relations Manager at The Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Mark P,

We enjoy nothing more than hearing how we have exceeded our guest's expectations with our Doyle Collection welcome at the Front Desk and our high standards throughout the property. Our whole team here at The Bristol will feel proud to have contributed to another wonderful guest journey.

Your notes on our super value parking arrangements are very much appreciated and it's always fantastic to see that our historic central location has afforded our visitors the perfect opportunity to explore all the city has to offer.

We can't wait to welcome you both back for another all round enjoyable stay in the South West's cultural hub. Thank you for sharing your 5 star review.

Kind regards,

Brett Atkinson
Business Excellence Manager
The Bristol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews