We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A chance to get a second opinion”
Review of The Bristol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bristol
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Swansea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A chance to get a second opinion”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

After a visit to the hotel last year, during which I was disappointed with a number of things and mentioned this in my review. The manager contacted me to offer a reduced rate to show my initial impression was not the norm. I took up the offer but arranged for my daughter to visit. My daughter and her husband visited last week. They enjoyed their stay and enjoyed the breakfasts. They felt the hotel was in an excellent place and liked the parking. Their only disappointment was the size of the room which they felt to be small and not as represented by the hotel photographs.

Room Tip: If not happy with room ask to change, quite a wide variety of room shapes
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpygrandadSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheBristolHotel, Manager at The Bristol, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear grumpygrandadSwansea

Thank you for the review on behalf of your daughter, I am delighted that they had a most enjoyable stay with us and that we manage to regain your confidence in our hotel. Memorable luxury experiences are what the team continue to strive for and I am thrilled that in this instance they looked after them the way they did.
However I'm a bit disappointed in your overall scores 3/5, I would very much appreciate your feedback once again to see where we fell short.
I hope to hear back from you in the near future

Kind regards,

Raphael Herzog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,833
    1,164
    342
    112
    62
See reviews for
349
1,881
127
684
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at The Bristol for one night and found the staff, room and facilities to be well above expectation for what was a relatively inexpensive tarrif. The room was spacious, recently redecorated and clean. The staff in the reception were very helpful and friendly and the Barman was very knowlegeable on the subject of the beers and spirits. Highly recommended and when in Bristol again there is no doubt that we will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is an excellent hotel with great customer service.The hotel values its guests and provides great value for money compared to other 4 star hotels in Bristol.We would highly recommend this hotel.The accomodation and the food really impressed us and we will certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Excellent location for new or old Bristol..Busy Riverside restuarant with fine Sunday Buffet Breakfast with piano accompaniment..Rooms celan and comfortable and some will have lovely views of the waterside

Room Tip: There must be some great views form the waterfront rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staffslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

myself and my partner came to bristol on stayed one night in the hotel bristol on the 11th february. i booked through lastminute.com and i can only assume either there was either an error with pricing or there had been special offer when booking through lastminute. i booked a double room for £55 and included was a good sized room, breakfast on the sunday morning (lots of choice, food was fresh too) and a 3 course meal which was amazing!! we worked out in the end that they had actually paid us to stay there!! fantastic hotel, friendly polite staff, clean room, confortable bed and the hotel was centrally located for park street where we spent most of our time. if i find a deal similar to this i would definately be back!! outstanding!!
be sure to take your NCP ticket to reception when checking out to receive complimentary free parking!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlowe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.7 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.5 km away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bristol

Property: The Bristol
Address: Prince Street, Bristol BS1 4QF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bristol
#2 Business Hotel in Bristol
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#2 Family Hotel in Bristol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price range (per night): $144 - $302
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Bristol!Anyone spending any length of time in Bristol is likely to come across The Bristol. Sitting pretty on the quayside of the Floating Harbour, this luxury Bristol hotel is surrounded by the best of Bristol's Old City and maritime history: Bristol Old Vic and the beautifully restored Queen Square, Bristol Cathedral and at Bristol across Pero's Bridge and of course The Arnolfini, Bristol's celebrated contemporary arts centre, right next door.For all these reasons, The Bristol is hard to avoid, even by visitors who are staying elsewhere. Those who do stay at our hotel in Bristol get to experience our great location, greatly reduced overnight car park rates of £5 at the adjacent NCP, the fresh, modern luxury of our bedrooms, and the chic cuisine and quayside ambience of The River Grille and Shore Café Bar.Make sure you are among them and choose The Bristol, the finest Bristol Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Otel, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotelopia and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Bristol
Bristol The Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing