We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unplanned pit stop ...”
Review of England's Gate Inn

England's Gate Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Bodenham
Price range: USD 7 - USD 19
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

A trip down memory lane for my wife as she worked there behind the bar many years ago.
A chance booking for a meal. I had gammon. Adequate nothing special.
My wife had the sea bream - she says it was exceptional..
The sharing cheese fondue starter. Very poor- not enough dipping veg. 2 of each (carrot, cucumber matchsticks and bread) is insufficient for the quantity of sauces provided.
It got busy when leaving - only to find that we were blocked in by a totally inconsiderate 'person' parked too close. No one owned up as the driver - took 20 mins to get out.
The pub is a great asset to the county and local community. So keep using it folks. A little bit of tinkering with the menu would help

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank mooney859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2018

Popped in after booking for an evening meal. Service good meal fine. My husband really enjoyed his steak pie while I thought the belly pork OK it looked a little tired and re-heated. Veg fine. Beer good.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Leonora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2018 via mobile

Outstanding food and superb service what an absolute GEM of a place...can't wait to go back to try the Sunday roast...great place with good prices

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

The pub is a lovely old pub with lots of character.
Came to the supposed beer, cider and sausage festival.
Nightmare to get served in the pub.
Paid for a burger and hot dog and fries with both to have a few fries squeezed on the the polystyrene tray (£2.50 for the fries each) on looking at others good they had a tray of chips separate. The alleged hot dog was a small sausage that was lost in the middle of the roll. Realised after I was overcharged aswell . But didn't complain as the disorganised staff looked at the end of their patience.
Could have been so much better organised and a better way of queing for food. No serviettes either so glad I didn't choose the curry that I saw balanced in the polystyrene tray - an accident waiting to be spilt.
Probably won't give the restaurant food a try even though reviews ate good. I was told that previous years the food had been superb-sadly not at this event

Date of visit: July 2018
6  Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

A lovely old inn with great original features and flagstone floors. Interesting menu with plenty of choice for vegetarians. Nice presentation with lots of choice when it comes to burgers and toppings. Staff are pleasant. Lovely gardens. Great place for a lazy hot summer evening

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Millicent2Socks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed England's Gate Inn also viewed

Ledbury, Herefordshire
Harewood End, Ross-on-Wye
 
Hope Under Dinmore, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 
Little Cowarne, Herefordshire
 

Been to England's Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing