We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay in a great location with a great...”
other travellers have booked this property
One of 3 luxurious comfortable bedrooms for you to enjoy a peaceful nights sleep in during your stay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of 3 luxurious comfortable bedrooms for you to enjoy a peaceful nights sleep in during your stay
Private Hot Tub Log Cabin in National Park Spacious Solid Log Holiday Homes in 7 acre private grounds, perfect for luxury self catering breaks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
One of 3 luxurious comfortable bedrooms for you to enjoy a peaceful nights sleep in during your stay
Private Hot Tub Log Cabin in National Park
Spacious Solid Log Holiday Homes in 7 acre private grounds, perfect for luxury self catering breaks
Breakfast in bed perhaps, treat yourself, you are on holiday after all
2nd of 3 Bedrooms, a lovely supersized double bed which can be made into twin singles if you prefer
Bedroom 3 is a fun bunk bedroom, great for Children, memorable too, who gets the top bunk?You choose
Comfortable spacious lounge with views from your patio doors which open out into the private grounds
Extremely well equipped kitchens are perfect fro your luxury self catering stay to cook tasty meals
A warm welcome always at Artlegarth in the family dining room for 6
Perfect for special occasions, exclusive extras can be purchased for you to enjoy during your stay
98m2 each of our Birds log cabins is as large as many family homes, built from solid pine
Rare Red Squirrels feed regularly close to the lodges as well as an abundance of bird and wild life
Starlit skies can be enjoyed on a clear night from your luxury lodge or private hot tub.Aurora poss!
Private Hot Tub views delight at night
Pets are welcome to join you for free during your stay, all local pubs are pet friendly too..walkies
Exceptional walking right from your luxury cabin, once enjoyed you can relax in your private hot tub
Great for families to reconnect in the great outdoors. WiFi is also available as Plan B if required!
Well equipped modern kitchens perfect for cooking tasty local produce during your stay
Family bathroom with shower
Exceptional value Winter breaks just for you, perfect & cosy real log cabins, whatever the weather
Pets friendly lodges, no extra charge
Enjoy the woodland backdrop, rare wild red squirrels, private grounds, views, National Park & more..
2nd Bedroom of 3, twin singles can also be made as a supersized double, your choice.
Bunk beds sleep 2, great for young kids or big kids
Comfortable spacious lounge with seating for 6
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ravenstonedale, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris H
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay in a great location with a great company!”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A very relaxing long weekend break punctuated with hot tub, real ale, great food and excellent company in a wonderful setting.
Even though it rained (quite a lot) it was nice to kick back and relax without any disturbance or time boundaries. Our lodge (Mallard) was very clean and tidy with nice fixtures and ultra comfy beds - what you would expect in a nice 4* hotel.
Couple of very decent pubs within walking distance along with a small shop for sundry items. We drove down though due to the rain but it didn't spoil our enjoyment. Kirkby Stephen is only 4 miles down the road for cash points and larger shops, cafes, tourist facilities.
This isn't like any other holiday "site" you may envisage - it is unique in what it provides and you have plenty of space around your lodge - not crammed in like holiday sites usually are.
Jennie and Neil have this off to a fine art, their attention to detail makes all the difference. You just have to go to try it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The complete rural disconnect from the everyday... oh and the hot tub!!
Liked least: Local roads - quite narrow and bumpy....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derek h
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“birthday”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

stayed for a week in january for the daughters birthday .the 3rd time its just the best place to be. the middle of no where with lovely veiws .we love the lodges they are so warm & comfortable we love the outside hot tub the best place to be on a cold night for a couple of hours eating & drinking its so perfect .the walk to the pubs was so easy cant believe we havent done it before .roll on next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amie D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing break away!! ”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Had a fantastic stay at mallard lodge I'm
Ravenstonedale we was made to feel very welcome by Neil and Jennie. Very quiet and relaxing! The lodge was cosy and warm and has everything to cater your needs during your stay, The hot tub was amazing even in cold weather! Can't wait to return again would highly recommend!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miranda J
Ashley Green, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic break away in a stunning location.”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

From the moment we arrived we instantly relaxed in our beautiful log cabin. There was a freshly made cake & tea/ coffee waiting for us on arrival & Jennie, our host, popped in shortly after to ensure we had everything we needed & to answer any questions that we might have. The hot tub was an instant hit, particularly with our seven year son, and was a great way to relax even further, having explored the local area during the daytime. Both Jennie & Neil were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough to ensure we had a great time. This even extended to rescuing our sons remote control plane from the roof, minor disaster averted! We can't recommend it highly enough and will definitely look to book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky281
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect 40th birthday weekend!”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Was given this weekend away in Mallard Lodge as a birthday gift. It was excellent, clean and well-equipped. Obviously recently decorated and the carpets, bedding and soft funishings all looked new. Flowers, champagne on ice and balloons waiting for me on arrival. It was dark outside but we were straight in the hot-tub with the coloured underwater light show and bubbles going. The patio is covered so the light drizzle didn't stop us and the water temperature kept us cosy even though the outside temperature was about 10C. Stayed in until about 11pm every evening and our young teenagers were in it at every opportunity throughout the daytimes, also. Was great to get the kids away from their computers for conversation, music listening and some splashing fun. I wasn't a hot-tub fan before but I'm definitely converted! In the daytime it was clear to see the beautiful countryside all around and another lodge in the distance - not all crammed in like some Lodges at other venues. We saw sheep, horses, birds and red squirrels locally. There is a small, shallow but pretty fish lake on site. I requested Neil and Jennie book a lunchtime table for my extended family (who visited for the day) and they selected the Black Swan in Ravenstonedale where we got an elegant, private room and the food was great. For another meal we had takeaway from the Mango Tree Indian in Kirkby Stephen which was excellent. Also, the high quality big breakfast pack that we had ordered lasted all weekend making it excellent value. Most relaxing weekend ever! Would recommend 100%. (Surprisingly, my virgin phone network gave phone and internet access too.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness, scenery and wildlife, hot-tub.
Liked least: Lack of local shop although the local pub did sell me some OJ from their kitchen and Neil kindly gave me a bottle of cordial from theirs.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing