We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place”
Natural tranquility
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Natural tranquility
Pure relaxation in the calm of Amari Valley Face to face with Mount Psiloritis
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Natural tranquility
Pure relaxation in the calm of Amari Valley
Face to face with Mount Psiloritis
Overlooking the village and the valley
The southern entrance
The view from the very top
The arched entrance hall
Living room #1
Living room#1
Kitchen and dining #1
kitchen and dining #1
Bedroom #1 (double, upper floor)
Bedroom #2 (quadruple, upper floor)
The little attic of the quadruple bedroom (1 double or 2 single beds)
One of the 5 bathrooms (upper floor)
Upper floor terrace
Bedroom #3 (triple, upper floor)
The little attic of the bedroom #3 (single bed)
Detail of southern entrance
Bedroom #4 (double, ground floor)
Bedroom #4 (two sofa beds - optional)
One of the 5 bathrooms (ground floor)
Ground floor shaded terrace
Living room #2
Kitchen and dining #2
Kitchen and dining #2
Outdoor dining beside the pool
Detail
Bedroom #5 (double, ground floor)
One of the 5 bathrooms (ground floor)
The eastern entrance
A little veranda under the mulberry tree
Upper floor main terrace
Bedroom #6 (triple, upper floor+)
The little attic of the bedroom #6 (single bed)
Psiloritis Mt. at sunset
Garden detail #1
Garden detail #2
The unique landscape of Amari Valley, the village and the location of the property
The exact location of the property
The famous Amari bell tower
A typical byzantine temple on a hilltop
Springfields
Olive groves
Wild flowers in Amari valley
Simple and humble
A Venetian gate in Amari Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Rethymnon Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Kjell A
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed some nights in this wonderful house. We loved that the house was placed in the village and the view from the terrace was magnificent, with a view of the valley and Psiloritis. The owner of the house had really taken great care to make the house both functional and esthetic, both modern and traditional. The caretaker was the best, generous and warm.
Amari valley is really green and flowering in May and we had some lovely walks. The house and Amari valley has a place in our hearts and we long to be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolamur...
Oberursel, Hessen, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, warm hospitality: Didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My partner and I stayed in the Villa Idi (3 bedrooms plus loft), sharing with two other couples. The houses can be rented separately, so don't be put off by the high price per night listed here - that is the price for both houses together (6 bedrooms). Villa Idi is an old stone house, beautifully restored. It is very roomy and comfortable, with dramatic views of the surrounding mountains from three terraces. The wifi is excellent, and the fireplace was a welcome benefit on a cool May evening. The owner, Manolis, and the live-in housekeeper, Mrs. Roomy, are very helpful and hospitable - arranging, for example, to have the small local museum opened for us and contacting the local historical society for me so that I could buy a newly published WWII memoir set in the Amari Valley. Among the helpful information Manoli sends by email is a list of dishes Mrs. Roomy can prepare for you. She is a fabulous cook! On our last night, we asked for dinner on the terrace. Mrs Roomy prepared little herb pies, a 'horiatiki' salad with fresh artichokes, baked vegetables stuffed with rice and mint, and a moussaka whose béchamel was made with fresh goat's milk. Heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous views, the shady terraces, the fireplace and Mrs. Roumy's cooking!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nogafried...
1 review
“The perfect location for an excellent and calm vacation”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Amari is located up in the mountain of Crete, an hour drive to the beach, on the way beautiful see-nary.
the Villa's are excellent- well equipped and beautifully design. we had a wonderful family vacation.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katarzyna...
Chrzanow, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Unforgettable paradise in middle of Crete”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were a group of 5 families enjoying an unforgettable summer's week in Amari Villa. The Villas are located in the middle of Crete in the picturesque mountain village of Amari. It is a perfect location because you are away from crowded tourist areas, however you can make at any time day trips to the South as well as to the North. The access to the villa is very easy thanks to details supplied by the owner Manolis. Moreover, he provided us a lot of proposals of trips around the whole Island, he indicated the wonderful places and exquisite restaurants with traditional Greek cuisine. The view from the villa is breathtaking especially in the evening when the sun sets behind Samitos and Idi Mt. Amari villas are modern and of very high standards while preserving the Cretan traditional style of the old family house once standing there. The villas are beautifully decorated with an extra effort about tiny detail. Bedrooms are spacious and well designed. Kitchen is well equipped with every appliances you may need. There are balconies everywhere: small balconies where you can be alone. as well as an immense terrace for our whole group where you can eat together admiring the old bell tower which is illuminated at night and listening to the soft sheeps' bells. The villas are submerged into the exceptional plants. The fragrance of flowers and herbs floats in the air. Two abundant welcoming baskets awaited us with local olive oil, honey, eggs, milk, cheese, eggs, fruits, vegetables, bread, butter, feta, wine, raki and excellent jams made by the house keeper Roumy. Besides Roumy is a real treasure and excellent cook. The owner Manolis is very charming and friendly. They makes you feel at home. We have rented a lot of houses in various parts of South Europe and we can confirm the opinion of other guests that we have never rented a place that was so well attended to by the owner. I hope we will stay in touch and we come back to this paradise soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stan L
1 review
“Cretan Gem”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Amari Villa – a real Cretan Gem! In the middle of the Island (need a car to get there), wonderful and REAL surroundings of a small Greek village away from the tourist crowds with mountains and sheep all around! Yet accommodations freshly renovated to a very high standard. Spent 5 days with 16 family members celebrating my wife’s birthday holiday using the Villa as a base to explore the Island by cars and returning for a REAL Greek food arranged by the great host Manolis, realized and served by the greatest cook Roumy – including Greek cooking lesson. Contacts and arrangement details with Manolis were so easy by phone and emails – he’s very fluent in English. He provided lots of info and suggestions about the Island, a walking trip around the village and Cretan and Zorba dance show and lesson on one of many terraces in the Villa with his friends from the village playing the real Greek music. Avoid tourist traps – go to Amari and enjoy REAL Crete ! Highly Recommended – we have got “cretan energy”!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location,Host and the Cook
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing