We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful accommodation in a glorious setting”
Classic local architecture; the building dates from 1560.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Classic local architecture; the building dates from 1560.
Welcome to White Sheep....come on in and have a look The lovely West and South facing terrace surrounded by lavender roses and wisteria
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
48 reviews
Classic local architecture; the building dates from 1560.
Welcome to White Sheep....come on in and have a look
The lovely West and South facing terrace surrounded by lavender roses and wisteria
The sitting room seen from the garden
The sunny terrace
Sitting room opens on to the terrace
Gorgeous eat-in kitchen with inglenook fireplace, walk-in larder and all conceivable appliances
The dining room...low ceilinged, intimate, perfect for a special lunch or dinner
The comfy and sunny sitting room
.....with French windows to the terrace
An amazing curved oak wall between the hall and the kitchen
The West bedroom
The cute and cosy cabin-like twin....children adore it....but its comfy for adults too!
Chocolate-y highlights in the bright East bedroom
Even the bath and shower rooms have fabulous beams
Ground floor family bathroom with double-ended tub
The natural pond, a haven for wildlife
The charming old barn
Relax by the pond....
The Pictorial Meadow, a riot of colour May to November
The wildflower meadow
Apple blossom time....there are cherries, figs and all kinds of herbs too....help yourself!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Peasenhall, Saxmundham, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janegrace...
Essex, Massachusetts
1 review
“Beautiful accommodation in a glorious setting”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed at White Sheep Cottage for 9 nights over Christmas and it was a wonderful stay. The cottage had everything we needed and we felt very at home. It's very well equipped and very comfortable and it accommodated 5 adults perfectly.
The village location is absolutely beautiful and the cold frosty mornings only added to the scene, it's exactly what we were looking for. We visited Southwold while we were here and it wasn't too far away in the car.
I'd recommend The White Horse in Sibton for a lovely evening meal.
Sue was a fab host and responded to any queries very quickly. We would definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thanks Chay, thanks Jane, for being such great guests. I think you left behind some fans in the village......come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horn885
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Blissfully peaceful rural retreat”
Reviewed 26 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Newly married, my wife and I were looking forward to a restful and recuperative stay at White Sheep Cottage after the whirlwind of activity surrounding our wedding. We were not to be disappointed.

It's a quiet, peaceful, place to stay in a beautiful village. It has a comprehensively equipped kitchen (great for Sunday roasts) and the bedrooms are really cosy and nicely kitted out. The cottage retains many of its original features and is very homely. It is immaculately presented.

We particularly enjoyed our countryside strolls from Peasenhall and thought nearby Fakenham well worth a visit. The White Horse in the adjacent village of Sibton does fantastic food, but don't forget to book in advance, it's very popular!
Fish 'n chips on Aldeburgh seafront are a must, too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2016
Glad to have you back and delighted you came to White Sheep for your honeymoon! Look forward to welcoming you again in the future....might there even be the patter of tiny feet....kids love the wildlife garden and the cosy cabin twin (parents last summer reported their girls asking if they could please go to bed, they loved it so much!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbutlerha...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely beautiful, extremely clean and excellent facilities”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We rented White Sheep Cottage while we were filming in a location in the same village. It was by far the best cottage we had. So convenient, spotlessly clean and tidy and beautifully decorated. It was such a delight to go back there after a hard days filming.
The cottage has everything; washing machine, dryer, very well appointed kitchen, working wifi and 3 bathrooms! Could not fault it, and Sue was such a delight and very helpful.
Only disappointment was that Black Sheep Cottage wasn't available to rent as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Thank you Tori, so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back again when you have some leisure time.Can't wait to see your film by the way, the whole village is excited about it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
1 review
“Wonderfull stay at White Sheep Cottage in Sizzling Suffolk”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

White Sheep Cottage is a delightfull holiday rental in a lovely, picturesque part of Suffolk. Everything was catered for, comfy beds, well equipped kitchen, ensuite to both double bedrooms, pretty garden for alfresco meals and even fans in the bedrooms for when it got hot! For our stay temperatures rose to over 30c degrees and the fans were a godsend to one of the party who dislikes intense heat! Sue was patiently waiting for use when we arrived late and took time to show us around the cottage and explained where things were kept etc. Hope to return sometime!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Great to have you Patricia. You certainly enjoyed some lovely weather as well as all the joys of Sheep Cottages and lovely Suffolk! Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard D
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful combination of old character property combined with beautifully equipped accomodation”
Reviewed 11 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Charming 16th century cottage located in lovely village. Cottage has an absolute wealth of characterful beams, nocks and crannies yet brought up to the 21st century, though some ducking for taller persons and various stepovers around the property. Sue the owner, though not locally resident, is very easy to communicate with and rapid in response to any issues raised. Local housekeeper keeps the cottage clean neat and tidy. Kitchen very well equipped with lovely central seating area comfortable for six to eat in, and further character dining room for more formality.Light and airy sitting room, opening onto the charming cottage garden, has very comforable settees and modern audio/tv facilities. A great find in this lovely part of Suffolk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thank you Richard for your kind words. Hope to welcome you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;