We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Sands Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Piha
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Sands Lodge
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Sweet Escape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

If you're visiting Piha, then this is THE place to stay. I stayed during this past summer and it was one of the best decisions I made during my time in New Zealand. All three suites are less than a minute's walk to the beach and maintained to the highest standards.

Relish you're privacy or get to know Bobbie and Julia (owners) -- the choice is yours. Bobbie and Julia's house is on the property, so they are there if you need anything. They could not be more accommodating. I really appreciated their hospitality and warm conversation. It was clear to me that their guests' experience is important to them, which meant a lot to me. Piha is their home and they are more than happy to share their knowledge of the area with their guests or make bookings for local activities on their behalf.

There was also a young (handsome), American WWOOFer working on the property at the time. He was just as helpful and interesting as Bobbie and Julia.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of the suites. All three are meticulously maintained and situated le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    8
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
2
30
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We have been lucky enough to stay at Black Sands Lodge in the beach cabin for the past 5 years.The cabin is cosy and clean and a true picture of an original " kiwi batch " and nothing is too hard for your wonderful hosts Julia and Bobbie. Relax and enjoy your time here with the beach or a bush walk within minutes or try the Surf Club or Cafe for a meal out. We love the bush setting and there is nothing nicer than hearing the birds when you wake up.We look forward to returning again and would not hesitate in recommending to anyone.We love this place. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Booked the studio closest to the beach.....two minute walk to to pristine coastline. What a lovely eacape from busy Auckland. Studio was tidy , clean and comfy. As there was no oven, Bobbie cooked our enchilada meal for us, did a good job too !
Great location, friendly hosts. Will definitely go back sometime again

Room Tip: studio is a good choice. Closest to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

What a perfect weekend away from our busy lives in Auckland! Footsteps to the beach, the RSA and quick walk to the Piha Cafe for breakfast. It was so relaxing waking up to the sound of nature, and Bobbie and Julia were perfect hosts! The perfect weekend getaway, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelgriffin90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

The Black Sands Lodge was a great place to enjoy our holiday. It's located only 3 minutes from 2 amazing beaches with nice lookouts and great opportunities to go surfing and hiking. Only 7 minutes from the Black Sands Lodgs, by foot, lies a great little cafe, perfect to have a nice breakfast and to get to know the locals.
The cabin was just great! Not only was it very clean and cosy but also very well equipped. The hosts were extremely friendly and very welcoming... it felt like home straight from the beginning. For the really breathtaking location and nice surroundings it's not overpriced at all in my opinion. I definitely find this one of the best places to stay in Piha and I would suggest it to everyone who wants to relax and have a nice time in one of the most beautiful places in New Zealand.
Thank you for a great time and all your help Bobbie and Julia, we'd love to come and visit you again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJacobsen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piha
9.2 km away
Heritage Collection Waitakere Estate
24.4 km away
Vineyard Cottages
Vineyard Cottages
#1 of 1 in Waimauku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
28.5 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 km away
Novotel Auckland Airport
1.0 km away
Piha Beachstay Accommodation
0.9 km away
Romantic Piha
Romantic Piha
#5 of 5 in Piha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Sands Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Sands Lodge

Property: Black Sands Lodge
Address: 54 Beach Valley Road | Piha, Waitakere, Piha 0772, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Piha
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Piha
Price range (per night): $172 - $344
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Piha - Black Sands Lodge offers a choice of three self contained accommodations located in a large, private native garden just a 1/2 minute walk to Piha Beach.The Kauri Suite is private, spacious and romantic accommodation in Piha. Enjoy the luxury of the King Size torquezone bed looking through the french doors, over your own private deck, to the native garden . . all this just 1/2 a minute to the beach! The Tui Suite is our Queen Suite with ensuite and kitchenette/living room. The Tui Suite has an east facing deck for morning breakfast and a west facing deck for sunsets. Private accommodation again just 1/2 a minute to the beach!Our budget accommodation, the Beach Cabin, is twin accommodation with kitchenette/living room. Very popular and true Kiwiana. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing