We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
58
79
57
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
79
57
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new building liquor store beautiful view texada island a million dollar view room was clean and comfortable the ground floor indoor pool would stay here again queen bed small fridge close to town sunshine coast small town bight balcony sunset
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Just spent 3 wonderful days and nights up in Powell River at the Beach Gardens. The hotel is located right on the water and has a really great beach beside it! Every single room has a spectacular oceanfront view and a private patio. Wish I could have stayed longer!! Highly recommend if you are looking for a great spot on the water with great amenities. Waterfront Restaurant, Cold Beer & Wine Store, Swimming Pool, Fitness Centre all on-site! Also, a free shuttle into town. Looking forward to my next trip up the coast.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

On our summer vacation, we spent two nights at the Beach Gardens and had a 4th floor, full ocean-view room in the waterside building. We arrived with some trepidation because the place seemed deserted on our arrival with no cars visible in the upper parking lot and no-one on the front desk. However, our qualms were put to rest when a receptionist returned from elsewhere in the complex and we were directed down the hill to the lower parking area.

Initially, the room did not compare well with the room we had at another resort before our arrival in Powell River. The décor was a bit bland, the queen bed and settee were not particularly comfortable, the two pillows on the bed were thin, and there was just one bedside table. There was no place to put a carry-on case, which may explain the nicks in the furniture left by previous guests. When turned on, the air conditioning unit inflated the curtain and was quite noisy so we turned it off while we were in the room, despite the summer heat. On the other hand, the room and bathroom appeared to be very clean, the bathroom fixtures were in pristine condition, there was a single cup tea/coffee maker, and the view was truly stunning. Best of all was the peacefulness when the air conditioner was switched off. Even the elevator next to the room was inaudible within the unit.

It was inconvenient that there were no breakfast facilities on the premises and eating in was complicated by the lack of a mini fridge, even if it was just for bottled water or milk for coffee.There was also no place within easy walking distance for breakfast, although the receptionist kindly provided a map and three recommendations - one place at the airport and two downtown.

It is not fair to compare one resort with another, but had we spent the previous nights in a cabin, the Beach Gardens room would probably have fared far better in this review.

Room Tip: A car or boat is pretty well essential for a stay at the Beach Gardens.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just2LetUKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a pre night before a sailing journey & from the moment we checked in we knew we had chosen the best place! Friendly service at the front desk, spotlessly clean room and comfy beds. We were on the 4th floor (406). The restaurant was great and the service there from bartender Chris and waitress Andrea both at dinner & the next morning was wonderful....great staff definitely. The new decor in the restaurant was beautiful as was the variety on the menu.

Room Tip: Request 4th floor for lovely views
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C6822YSlindav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We had no reservation last weekend but they had an available room - we opted for a 4th floor queen room with a sofa (bed) instead of the king room with fridge and microwave. Easy parking outside the room. The room itself was nice and clean and the views were amazing. We went to the Seasider Bistro for dinner - It was an excellent meal in a bright and modern restaurant. We also bought a bottle of wine at the onsite liquor store which was handy. The beach to the left of the hotel was perfect to sit on the driftwood and enjoy the evening. Amazing sunset - we walked along the wharf at the marina to take in the views before going back to our patio to enjoy our wine and the last of the sunset.

One issue (hence 4 stars) - I came out of the shower about 11 p.m. and thought I heard my husband trying to open our door but saw that he was out on the deck so I assumed the noise must have been from the neighboring room. A little while later we both heard someone trying to open our door so he opened it and there was a couple trying to get in. They were mortified and said they had tried to open our door previously as they had been given the same room. They had gone back to the lobby to say the door wouldn't open and were told that the room was empty and to go try the lock again. Had we not had the deadbolt on they would have walked in! I explained this to the front desk clerk the next morning and she apologized and said there had been a security error.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BoomChickaCUBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Professional and courteous staff from reception to housekeeping all very welcoming and accommodating. Gorgeous views, great location, best restaurant patio in town with beautiful sunsets and friendly service... menu is great as well.

Awesome gym/pool and some of the best ocean swimming right in front of the resort... the perfect beach for you and your pooch to take a dip. I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else !!

Brian ~ Van Isle

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank VanIsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews