We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (538)
Filter reviews
538 results
Traveller rating
148
191
120
41
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
191
120
41
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews in town chophouse restaurant fireside lounge lakefront room caravan tour lakeside chophouse second floor lake view thirsty bear waterton lake gift shop tour group main street small town an older hotel coffee maker boat dock
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 538 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The location is good.It faces the lake.However, the inn is a bit run down and old.The free internet is slow.You can barely use it. However,you can try Waterton free wifi which gives you 4 hours free wifi services.Luckily,the mattress is good and comfortable that you can get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kcwyhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertonalberta, General Manager at Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2016

I am glad you enjoyed our location but i am sorry you found it run down. We have just completed a full renovation on all restaurants, gift shop , front desk. In our guest rooms we just installed new carpets, bathrooms, beds , bedding, lighting, art and amenities. Perhaps you were speaking of the exterior , we will be spending all summer staining and painting as the harsh winters take a beating on the exterior of the property. I hope you will give us another chance to show you all the improvements that make us the premier property in Waterton Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

We just returned back from a birthday celebration weekend in Waterton. We decided to go a day early, so called the hotel on our way to see if we could add a night to our stay, the young lady on the other end of the phone said no problem.

During the call I confirmed we had booked a romantic suite as I didn't want to change rooms after adding the extra night, it didn't seem to be a problem. I also asked if there was a difference in the rooms, one being better than the other kind of thing, the young lady said she'd look into it and she would be there when we checked in so all was good.

We had to endure some snow on the final drive into the park, but traffic was light, we found the hotel without issue and parked out front of the office. I was greeted with a smile from the young lady behind the counter, she welcomed me and asked how the roads were. I noticed on her name tag she was from out east. She mentioned she personally checked out the romantic suites and picked the best one, even turned up the heat for us. Check in couldn't have been smoother. In a matter of minutes we were in our warm corner suite on the second floor, room 214.

It was dark and still snowing so we didn't see much of anything, so unpacked, had a glass (or two) of wine and went to bed.

In the morning we woke up to the sign shining in right on the bed, snow melting like crazy and views of the lake and mountains for all of the 6 windows. I couldn't have asked for a better room.

Though the hotel was crowded in the evenings we didn't feel that. Looking out the windows enjoying coffee in the morning was very relaxing. We were told about discounts at the chop house, ate there twice and really enjoyed it, we ate across the street and enjoyed the food there as well but it was very pricey compared to the chop house. We had Waterton Wieners for lunch and enjoyed that as well.

The park is small, you can walk anywhere, what a great place to be. Lots of hiking, smiling and relaxing took place.

Our room had a fridge, Microwave, TV, coffee maker (with lots of coffee, tea), jacuzzi tub, regular tub with shower, king size bed, two chairs to look out the window and a corner deck with two chairs, covered. The room is about 30 steps to the lake and overlooks the marina on the side.

We were high enough that you didn't need to worry about people walking below.

We saw lots of wildlife, deer, sheep, birds and squirrels. The water is so clear you can see to the bottom a long way out. It is all rock though, no beach to be found. The rock is all smooth though.

We'll be back!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank B I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Customer service was very good. Nice view and nice sitting area on the balcony. Large spacious rooms with vaulted ceilings. Very clean and nice bathroom space. Exceptional location, if you're looking for a convenient location this is the place right in the heart of Waterton easy access to shops, restaurants and the marina. Great views off the balcony of the walkway and park. Only negatives were the food at the restaurant buffet and the rooms were a little dated. The breakfast buffet left much to be desired though not the worst. The server said that it was the first buffet of the year so things will probably improve later on. The staff, nice restaurant space and views made up for what was lacking. Overall it is a great place to stay!

Room Tip: 2nd floor are large with vaulted ceilings and ask for lake view.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jwint386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertonalberta, General Manager at Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! It was our first breakfast buffet of the year and we have ironed out the bugs and it will be fantastic going forward. The next time you are in our area please let me know when and i would love to buy you breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

This hotel needs some work in the form of renovations and upgrading their internet service. Being in a National Park is not an excuse for lame internet as their give in their brochure. Look at Banff, they do fine for internet service why cant you?

We were initially put into a non lake view room that was undergoing some maintenance. The excellent staff there moved us onto the lake side when we complained. The view is awesome and the hotel right on an alpine lake. But for an off season weekday rate during a province wide recession, a price of about $150 after taxes is less than great value. Especially with no breakfast. As a guest you get 10% off of meals in the attached restaurant, but all the prices are jacked up anyways being a resort. Food was good though.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelBuddies1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watertonalberta, Manager at Bayshore Inn Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

I am glad to hear the service and our staff droid a great job. I am sorry you did not like our decor, we are going for a mountain theme as we just renovated with new carpets, beds, bedding , bathrooms, lighting , drapes and LED TV's. The internet unfortunately is a different story. We can't be compared to Banff as they are a major city now with high speed internet. Waterton has had slow Satellite internet for years as there has not been a provider in Waterton. We just received a grant for new high speed fiber internet which is currently being installed and will be up and going and in next few weeks and we are all very excited! I am sorry you felt that $140 for expensive but you may not realize that Waterton has mainly seasonal businesses only open for a few months a year thus to pay all our bills and park lease fees we try to keep it as rates as reasonable as possible. Thank you for all your feedback and we will try and improve to make your stay better next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

We were at Bayshore early May. They had just opened for the spring/summer season. Even though it was early in the season, Bayshore delivered first class accommodation and service. Our room faced the lake and had a balcony to enjoy the view. Early in the season the trees still have not gotten leaves so the view is great. Staff are all very friendly and keen to help with anything you need or suggestions to occupy your time in Waterton. Chophouse restaurant is the best in the village. Good food. Good service. Loved everything about our stay at Bayside. Maybe later when the summer is in full swing the tranquil village atmosphere might become hectic but early in the season, it's great. Choose Bayside rather than the aloof and somewhat isolated Prince of Wales.

Room Tip: 244 was very good. Upstairs, balcony facing lake. Quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Noela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews