We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Back garden of Church Farm which can be used by guests. Snowy day in Kniveton
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Back garden of Church Farm which can be used by guests. Snowy day in Kniveton
Double bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Twin bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Miles of walks from the front door
Brook at back of garden offers shaded tranquility
Llama in field overlooking Carsington Water
Garden with bridge and swing seat
View across field to Church Farm in the background
Open fields with panaromic views of Kniveton,Ashbourne and Carsington Water
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kniveton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
beverley4...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay, a real home from home. Central to lovely walks and places to visit. Would come again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnTrave...
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Good location for peace & quiet to read, write & contemplate life.
Initially chilly but that appeared to be through lack of recent use. Warming the lounge was greatly aided by closing the curtains ...& some extra fan power, which travels with me for such occasions.
Bedroom ceiling wouldn't suite anyone tall.
Oh, worthy of note in these electronic times : an o2 signal wanders in/out of the bedroom, but no other network. There's no wifi to allow Facetime, TuGo or similar. I drove a mile away to get a 4g signal. For this reason, I wouldn't recommend to friends - but my old parents would be fine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy once warm
Liked least: Isolation from comms & data
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitch C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Cottage!”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Beautiful cottage, Kimberley and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Milkmaid Cottage it is in a lovely location, there is a pub just down the road called the Red Lion where Kimberley and I had a few drinks. Really enjoyed our time and was a nice little holiday for saying we only live 20 minutes away! We only spent 2 nights and wish we booked a few more nights now haha, we already want to book for next December and we will be in touch very soon we can't wait already! Thank you so much for making us feel so welcome. I would recommend the milk maid's cottage to anyone who want to just get away and relax in such a beautiful place.

See you again soon!

Mitch and Kimberley

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin A
1 review
“Lovely break”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We met Liam as we arrived, he was delivering a loaf of bread and some cakes which were fresh and enjoyable. He was helpful, and friendly, and showed us the features of the cottage and spoke about the area. We were pleased to find that there was a dishwasher (as well as pretty much everything else you could expect), which was not mentioned on the website. For me there was one small issue, in that the shower was more suited to those of us who are not so tall, but I managed by a few deft maneuvers. It was lovely to get away from the rat-race for a while and the limited mobile signal in the area was something of a benefit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire break
Liked least: The limited height of the shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri M
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent cottage , wonderful location and ideal for a family .”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had never booked a cottage before but I must say I was amazed how wonderful this cottage was. Home made bread , milk and cakes when we arrived . Owners were so helpful with were to go and eat . Cottage had everything needed , plus little touches and was exceptional inside . We extended our stay because we loved it so much . So much in the area for children ( we have a teenager ) and within easy driving dinstance .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was lovely to stay in such a pretty cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing