We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“We had a fabulous time.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wills Barn

Sleeping for 6 in two full sized bunk beds and a double sofa bed.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sleeping for 6 in two full sized bunk beds and a double sofa bed.
Wills Barn: come and enjoy the outdoors.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Sleeping for 6 in two full sized bunk beds and a double sofa bed.
Wills Barn: come and enjoy the outdoors.
There's a campfire and picnic benches for evenings under the stars.
Log burning stove to keep you warm and cook your meals on.
Kids will enjoy the hand-made bunks.
Dining for six.
Stunning views of the Manifold Valley to the front.
Shower and toilet facilities in the barn.
The Manifold Valley is a short walk from Wills Barn
Thor's Cave is within walking distance
Chatsworth House: a great day out in the Peak District
Planning your route for the day ahead.
Alton Towers is a 20 minute drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Butterton, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RuthFCA
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“We had a fabulous time.”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed as a family over the August bank holiday weekend for 3 nights, The barn is surprisingly spacious inside and reasonably well equipped in the kitchen for this type of basic accommodation. Our 3 kids had a great time running round outside in the field besides the barn and they slept well every evening despite being in the same big room. There are curtains provided to screen off the bunk beds.

The barn did get cool in the evening and we used the log burner every night. This worked well and heated the barn quickly. (There is a electric heater there too but we didn't need to use this.) We used a full bag of logs over 3 evenings.

The electricity is on a meter. We used a £1 when we got there and didn't need to top it up again although we used the power lots including the kettle and shower.

The location is good for exploring the peak district and we did a walk from the nearby village Wetton to Thor's cave which the kids loved.

We really enjoyed our stay and the barn was beautifully clean and welcoming.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2015
Thanks, glad you had a fabulous time. Hope to see you at Wills Barn in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joakim T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Five stars for coziness”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We travelled as a group of five friends and really liked this barn. As the title suggests, it is extremely cozy. The location allows you to start your hikes from the door step, and the local pub is just 500 meters away. The standard of the barn is high, and the bunk beds probably rank among the best bunk beds on the markets - or at least, the best ones we've ever slept in.

We felt that two things could be improved. Firstly, the logs for the wood stove were very big and chunky, and most likely slightly wet. Despite the provided fire crackers, we weren't able to start a fire the second night. We'd recommend the owners to chop them into smaller pieces and make sure they're dry. Secondly, the floors were very cold. Although one probably should expect this in a barn, it would be useful to point this out in the welcome email - simply saying something like "the floors can get cold, we'd recommend you bring a pair of slippers".

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
Thanks for your positive and helpful comments. We hope to see you all again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz r
2 reviews
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Thanks Michelle for letting us stay in your fantastic camping barn, it was just what we were looking for!
Wasn't sure what to expect when I booked but was very pleasantly surprised by the size and facilities in the barn. The large bunk beds were really comfy and loved having a log burner to keep us warm.
Thanks for all your help and tips for places to eat. We had a brilliant time and will definitely recommend your barn to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2015
Thanks for visiting our Wills Barn. Glad you enjoyed it and was pleasantly surprise.
Hope you can make another visit very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing