We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
Yew Tree Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yew Tree Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Yew Tree Cottage
Double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fenny Bentley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
bevnrich
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from a weekend break in this beautiful little cottage, everything about it is charming, furnished to a very high standard and spotless, yew tree is very well equipped, cosy and homely, the small cottage garden was very pretty, and the wine, chocs and nibbles are a lovely gesture, the cottage is a real credit to its owners Sally & Roger. We visited the village pub the coach and horses, on the Friday afternoon and had a meal which was very nice, so much so that we returned on Sunday for a late lunch which we would recommend, we walked down the tissington trail to Ashbourne on Saturday and over to Thorpe following the public footpath on Sunday morning and timed it just right to sample a few beers at the old dog which has been refurbished and is very nice. All in all we wouldnt hesitate in recommending a stay at yew tree cottage, it is without a doubt perfect

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley W
Nantwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our 3 night break at Yew Tree Cottage exceeded our expectations. The pictures certainly do not do the place justice. The quality of the furnishing and amenities provided were excellent, especially the fact that we didn't have to take out own bikes with us! There was oodles of local information (places to see and things to do) Lots of local walks right from the front door and to top it off, we could call into one of the local pubs on our way back for pub grub and a few drinks.
The cottage garden is very pretty and peaceful, the perfect place to relax.
Thank you Roger and Sally for our welcome pack, and thank you for Yew Tree Cottage, we will definitely be back again!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John v
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice cottage but not ideal”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Visited the cottage during Easter holiday. Cottage was beautiful and nicely renovated to a good standard. However too many small negatives adding up: on busy road so can't open windows, no garden to sit in, extremely low ceiling (bumped head 8 times), owner does not live locally so can't fix/advise on things, no phone reception to call owner if needed. In addition owner decided to withold a pity £5 for noisy small plastic bedside clock we misplaced.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2015
We are saddened by this guest's review - it is in contrast to the kind and complimentary comments he wrote in our visitors' book on departure. We are also sorry that he did not appreciate our little cottage garden with table and chairs.
We had never taken this action before, but if a guest removes any item from our property, whether by mistake or otherwise and there is no offer to return or replace that item, we reserve the right to retain an amount from the damage deposit to cover the cost of replacement.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CorkFamil...
1 review
“Charming Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My family and I stayed 4 days in this tastefully decorated cottage. It was perfect for us; comfortable, cosy accommodation, well equipped kitchen, great bathroom & shower, sitting room with stove, tv/DVD player & DVDs, music system & CDs, board games, maps & travel guides for area, free wifi, and use of 4 bicycles! We will definitely be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Countryside cottage perfection!”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014

Booked a long weekend get away with a few friends, to get away from the hustle and bustle of London and the cottage was utter perfection- stunningly beautiful inside and out, and furnished fantastically. Great attention to detail, including the welcome gifts from Roger and Sally. Incredible walks around Dovedale and in the nearby countryside, and pubs within walking distance which was a big plus point- we're already planning our next visit in the summer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing