We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
52
29
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
29
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews washing machine ruka village breakfast is served jacuzzi and sauna christmas week travelled with crystal these apartments colorado slopes ski beginners sleeping pounds santa downstairs
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2015

We booked this last minute in dec 14 to go mid jan 2015. Upgraded to jacuzzi room and glad I did, this hotel is perfect in every way. You can ski right to your hotel door after a day on the slopes and then relax in your rooms facilities. Very clean and great layout with everything local to enjoy. Dining out is great if u enjoy fine food but bit pricey if you just want to eat anything on the cheap, although supermarket has a good selection if needed to save money and cook in your room. Only let down on whole trip was boot hire. The lads working there don't really help and just give you any old boot as I found out the hard way three times. So have a good idea of what you want and keep trying them on until they don't hurt to much. Other than that skiing is great for all its nearly all powder snow so great fun. Will definitely be going back as soon as I can oh and caught a glimpse of the northern lights too. All in very impressed.

Room Tip: Go for jacuzzi room if you can afford it as they are great and very spacious
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Just spent a week here after booking with Crystal Ski.

We booked an E1 and it was great. The apartment was very large, with 2 double bedrooms, 2 toilets, shower, sauna, washing machine and kitchen that comprised of oven, fridge/freezer, hob, kettle, dishwasher and loads of pots and pans and crockery. The washing machine and drying room were very useful!

There was a 32" TV in the lounge and one of the bedrooms which generally showed Finnish programmes but there were quite a few programmes in English so we always found something to watch.

Our room also came with a locker on the basement level to leave your skis in, again very useful.

It generally felt nice and snug and the sauna was great!

Location wise the apartments are perfect as they're right in the centre of town and you could literally ski up to the front door if you wanted to. They're also next door to most of the places you need to go with nothing being more than a minute or 2 walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

Well good hotel, we have 4 bedrooms apartment for 2 nights, located just up to reseption. Room was good and nice, breakfast is not good. Everything was good but restaurant colorado is not good.
wifi and room-sauna including room.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
Thank J11P33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015

The Apartments were well situated right in the village of Ruka. We had an E1 appartment which included two twin bedrooms plus sofa bed in the Loiunge. There were only 4 adults and the appartmants per everyone we met who had skiied before were the largest ski apartments they had ever stayed in. There were no tea towels but I had taken one with me, and no drawers for underwear etc but there were shelves in each bedroom. Well laid out apartment with drying cupboard, separate wc, utility area with wasking machine (no pwder so take with you)shower and sauna. There was a separate wc off one of the bedrooms. There was hob, single oven and small dihwasher. Took a while to work out that a timer is required to work the oven and the dishwasher and oven cannot be on at the same time. We had two balconies but way too cold to venture ionto them but watching the village life go by from the lounge window was nice. The apartments were well glazed and very warm considering the outside temperatures were -20 degrees at times. Expensive resort but we took some packet soups, cuppa soups, packets of pasta etc and bought eggs in the supermarket, bread etc to make omelletes etc. We only ate out twice. Approx 7 Euro 50 cents for not quite a pint in the bars. If buy own beer in the supermarket and recyle the cans afterwards you get money off your next shop. As beginner skiiers the slopes were plentiful for us but be prepared for extreme cold-especially if it is windy. Other things to do in resort for non skiiers but again very expensive.The WiFi in the hotels and whole area was particularly extensive and fast speed-and free. We also expected to pay a couple of days on the ski bus as our passes weren't active but noi these were free too.Very clean resort and apartments and I would consider returning and recommending to others.

Room Tip: We were in room B201 and I enjoyed watching people walk around the village all layered up whilst I was snug in the room.
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2015 via mobile

Just returned from a week here via crystal ski for our honeymoon . Welcome pack contained digital pass code for the room. Upon entry we were impressed with the well thought out modular apartment, and I can say that the place was immaculate in both finish and cleanliness. We had an apartment looking straight out upto the floodlit slopes which was just a view to die for. Food: we went half board. breakfast was served in the colarado bar which was spot on, usual continental breakfast, hot and cold which set you up for the day. Evening meals for the week we stayed were served in the lovely Stefans steak house. The food consisted of a choice from a set menu: soup or salad for starter, a choice of two mains and a desert. Examples of the mains were reindeer, beef, salmon, mushroom risotto. The food was fine and tasty and what you would expect from a quality finished restaurant, some guests did not find the food to their liking but be fair they were the kind that would have preferred spam egg and chips and clearly showed little appreciation for what we were getting half board the Russian guests were paying in the region of €200 for a family of 4!!!!
The drinks in this place we're pricy, but so was the rest of the resort. A glass of wine and a beer was around €17 and the pints only get filled 3/4 full in finland, again not worth moaning about when your on holiday and besides you will soon be back in weatherspoons supping pints wishing you were paying €7!!
For lunches we did have hot chicken wings and chips in the piste bar and that came in at €10 but they were top notch. I would reccomend packing some cuppa soups, packet rice and pasta in your case for snacks between skiing and excursions. You can ski here from 9:30 to 7pm and it's nice to break it into sessions. The slopes are well maintained, supervised and not at any point could you feel remote or without assistance if you needed it. The equipment hire was great and had no issues. Excursions: we did the snowmobile evening safari to see the northern lights which is definatly one for the boys and their go-pro's, ladies hang on - these things shift. Ruka is surrounded by various snowmobile trails that are well mapped so the following day we decided to hire one solo for 4 hours for €110. Awesome experience setting off out into the wilderness over frozen lakes and finding remote coffee cabins for a warm up. We also did the husky dog sledding. We went to susi's (aka wolf) husky farm, this guy is the original authentic wolf man that deserves his own production on the discovery channel. We got talking to him and it's obvious that what this guy doesn't know about siberien and alaskan husky and general finland outdoors just simply isn't worth knowing. We had 6 dogs and one sled, me and the Mrs have a combined weight of around 24 stone and the dogs still took off as quick as the snowmobile. Gents: don't dismiss this for a walking the dogs because it isn't.
Nightlife in ruka is a bit hit and miss. We did the crystal ski quiz which was fun and later in the week we met some great people and that resulted in drinks in the collarado bar till the late hours.
Tips:
1. wrap up...This place gets cold. Clear skies and it was -30
2. Take some snacks with you.
3. Speak to the locals and learn the area. They are the most genuine, friendliest, respectful and polite foreigners I have come across.

Overall this place is magical, totally distracts you from the world and i came away feeling like I only peeked through the window. So much I could type down for you but it's nearly bringing tears ha ha! Definitely back next year!!!!

If your reading this in anticipation of booking.......just do it!!!!

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
6  Thank reservation12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews