We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Get away from it all at this island paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Seal Beach Cottage

A lovely still evening on Seal Beach              Photo credit: Jag photography
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A lovely still evening on Seal Beach              Photo credit: Jag photography
Seal Beach Cottage Seal Beach Cottage - see the beach reflected in the window?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
A lovely still evening on Seal Beach              Photo credit: Jag photography
Seal Beach Cottage
Seal Beach Cottage - see the beach reflected in the window?
Patio with BBQ looking over the oceanfront. New grass there now!
Living area
View from Kitchen
Spacious Great Room
Kitchen - well equipped
View of Seal Beach From the Master bedroom.
Twin room- spacious
Bathroom
Seal Beach - 25M from the cottage
Seals on Seal Beach Point overlooking Miners Bay and the Mayne Island village.
Driveway through 22 acres of private forest to Seal Beach Cottage
Watching the Seals on Seal Beach. Mayne Island Village in background
Seal Beach looking onto Galiano Island
Another beautiful sunset on Seal Beach              Photo credit: Jag photography
Seal Beach on a calm sunny evening!
Seal Beach looking over Active Pass onto Galiano
Seal Beach
Seal Beach Point
Walk through Seal Beach forest! Our trail is 1.5 km long. Sit on our driftwood bench!
Fern Hill Trail in private forest at Seal Beach       Photo credit: Jag photography
Fern Hill Trail at Seal Beach           Photo credit: Jag photography
Looking towards the village from Seal Beach Point
Mayne Island Village from the Point. A 1km walk to the grocery store, bakery, and the gift store.
Seal Beach at sunset
Seal Beach at low tide - wonderful for exploring tidal pools
A late Summer sunset from Seal Beach. WOW!
North Shore Mountains seen from Seal Beach!
Clear water, healthy beach and lots of wildlife!
A couple of over 30 seals hauled out on our Point!
Pals at Seal Beach                Photo credit: Jag photography
Seals and Gulls share the Point on Seal Beach           Photo credit: Jag photography
Eagle on Seal Beach
Gorgeous winter day!
Beautiful all year round!
Your holiday starts on the ferry with the gorgeous trip  through Georgia Strait and the Gulf Islands
Ferry arrived in Village Bay, Mayne Island. Only 3 km to the cottage!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Mayne Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Barbara B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get away from it all at this island paradise!”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This wonderful cottage rental offers comfortable accommodations, awesome ocean views and abundant wildlife for those seeking a place to spend some quality time with loved ones. The owner, Lois, greeted us on arrival and was quick to respond to our questions. We also enjoyed getting acquainted with her friendly and well-behaved dogs. The kitchen is well-equipped should you wish to make your own meals, but if you want to dine out, the local bistros and restaurants are a few minutes' drive away. For those interested in recreational activities, I recommend spending some time exploring the local hiking trails or paddling a kayak in one of the local bays. Also make sure to check out the island's lovely Japanese garden!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet, the gorgeous views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P C
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“scenic, quiet, convenient”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The Seal Beach Cottage is an ideal spot for a Gulf Island getaway! The location is beautiful with the bay right out front, surrounded by forest. We enjoyed walking on the beach and playing with the dogs. The cottage is is very quiet and comfortable and is easy access from the ferry and close to stores and other services on the island. Many thanks to Lois for making booking, directions, and other arrangements easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DankPDX
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A glorious spot to spend a holiday on Mayne Island”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and our two children (9, 12) enjoyed a lovely mid-week holiday at Seal Beach, with cozy accommodations, ocean just out our door and access to nature (seals, otters, eagles, etc.) all around us. The location and cabin exceeded our expectations - we would gladly come back again another time...and hopefully stay longer this time. Booking was a breeze and Lois was very prompt with replies and assistance, both before and during our stay.

Our host, Kathryn (Lois' daughter), was very helpful and friendly - she even came over to the cabin one evening to tell us a family of otters was out on the floating dock and that we shouldn't miss them! A wonderful and serene location, easily accessible from the ferry by bike, with only a few hills to deal with. We were able to ride our bikes down to the corner grocery store for provisions, and enjoyed a nice meal at a local cafe. Lots of area on the property to explore...plus an open field with a few items of sports equipment helped entertain the kids, as well.

A glorious location that would be great any time of the year. Can't recommend it enough.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann P
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful weekend away with family”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time at Seal Beach cottage. The cabin is just as pictured. It has a beach in front that we took our grandkids to throw rocks in the ocean while we sat on a blanket and watched the ferries go by and the seals suning themselves on the rocks. Lois was very helpful and answered any questions we had right away. She even brought two little chairs for our grandkids to sit on. They sat there all the time. The Mayne island Saturday market is just a five minute drive away also a grocery store We would love to stay there again

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penticton...
Penticton, BC
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great scenic place!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here for 5 fantastic nights and the house was located in a great spot overlooking the ocean with seals and BC Ferries in full view. The house was very clean and the the wifi was strong after they reset it.

Communication and service with Lois was excellent and we would highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing