We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Falling into Ruin due to Neglect” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seascape Waterfront Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seascape Waterfront Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Quadra Island
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Falling into Ruin due to Neglect”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

We stayed here years ago and it was great. This time, on arrival, it was clear that times had changed. The new owners built some unfortunate additions (a cabin on the hill with a view of the check-in office and road, falsely promoted as romantic water view, and a wedding hall blemish on the waterfront) and then appear not to have lifted a single finger to maintain the original sites and grounds. The on-site manager was gracious and a real problem solver, but she is unfairly having to work in bad conditions: the well water was on a boil-water advisory (not revealed until we arrived), docks are falling apart, the A-frame cabin bathrooms and kitchens are in disrepair (our sinks wouldn't turn off - they turned on in either direction and the toilet ran constantly ... this on a well water system! The shower and tub were worn out, caulking negligible, and surroundings water damaged) and balconies have nails popping up with weathered, past due to replace boards and railings. None of the window latches worked, the blinds were so worn that sections fell off when you tried to adjust them and the rails were jammed. The mortar has crumbled away in the steps and walk ways and the BBQs were so filthy you couldn't use some and the best of the bunch were barely operational. The advertised WIFI only works if you take your laptop and sit on the side of the road or steps to the office, so really it shouldn't be promoted as an amenity when it works more like the olden-days when you had to go to the hotel lobby and send a fax! The only day the owners showed up, they were there removing the better kayaks from the boat house, and wouldn't let the remaining boats go out even though it was before the posted end of day time. The reason seemed to be that they didn't want to have to stick around for their guests to bring the boats back in, since they drove off shortly after denying boat access. This is a beautiful setting and once well built and run establishment that has been neglected into ruin by new owners.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coonhounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    19
    4
    3
    7
See reviews for
17
23
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Irrigon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

we attended a destination wedding there w/family & friends & new in-laws & all seemed to enjoy our surroundings! very accommodating for our outdoor wedding & the pavilion was a great place for our small reception! would have liked the rooms to be less occupied by dust & spider webs but our bed was very comfortable even tho we did hear complaints from some of the other guests! I would definitly go back if i had the chance!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMesteth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We came to Seascape to do some kayaking and sightseeing on Quadra Island. We found it fairly simple but very comfortable, nice location & great views from our studio room on to the water and dock. The staff were friendly and helpful. Some details: plenty of hot water, well lit rooms, clean, very comfortable bed, all equipment and appliances worked fine, nothing broken, bug screens all intact (though actually very few bugs anyway), good parking. There was wifi on site, but it didn't reach as far as our room, so we had to walk up to the office - not a problem. We certainly look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed at the resort in one of the wooden cabins near the small harbour. We were only steps away from the water and had a maginificent view from our private patio.
Our cabin had two levels. The lower level offered a living room and completely equipped kitchen and bathroom. The upper level offers two double beds abd one single bed plus a nice balcony.

The lady who received us was very helpful and practical. She manages the whole resort with some help fof housekeeping and gardening.

The resort is quite small which gives a very cosy and quiet atmosphere. An excellent place to relax! We enjoyed several hours everyday reading a book on our patio in the late afternoon sunshine.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

This time was our 2nd stay at this particular resort and we came back to it purely because of it's beautiful ocean views, the very friendly staff, the amazingly clean accommodation and the relaxing environment you would want out of a family vacation. We had a fantastic time kayaking and riding the bikes which there was no charge for. This time we stayed in one of the deluxe cabins which had the best view that I have ever seen. We spent some of our evenings down by the fire camp which was awesome, just outside the gorgeous pavilion which in itself is an eye opener and I understand it has been used as a venue for a few weddings which I think is picture perfect!. The hiking trails around there were fantastic and the locals were also very friendly. All in all a great location. I would recommend it to everyone.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank AleaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quadra Island
9.7 km away
Old House Hotel & Spa
Old House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 9 in Courtenay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
19.9 km away
Oyster Bay Resorts
Oyster Bay Resorts
#8 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
10.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Courtenay Comox Valley SW
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
37.5 km away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
29.3 km away
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
Tsa-Kwa-Luten Lodge
#2 of 9 in Quadra Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Waterfront Resort

Property: Seascape Waterfront Resort
Address: 774 Cliff Road, British Columbia V0P 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Quadra Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Quadra Island
Price range (per night): $79 - $118
Hotel Class:3 star — Seascape Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Seascape Waterfront Hotel
Seascape Waterfront Quadra Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing