We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jon S
Ottawa, Canada

Good value for the money

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 June 2022
We booked for 2 nights and were assigned cabin 5, Amphritite. Sleeping was a bedroom down below, and loft above (with a separate bathroom) and a hottub looking over the ocean. It was appropriately supplied for enjoying making meals. It was clean, and beds were very comfortable. View of Terrace Bay was wonderful. There were three things negative. Towels were the water repellent variety. The loft had little privacy as it was a railing rather than a 1/2 wall that surrounded it looking over the main floor. Most importantly a couple of the stairs were made of different coloured wood, which gave the illusion of 2 stairs rather than one. I stumbled down a couple of stairs because of this. Particularly hazardous at night with very low light. NOTE: this is not a conventional hotel at all. It is a resort with cabins or rooms off a main building so impossible to properly answer questions below. Also, there is a Terrace Beach Cabins, which is different and located just before the Resort. Don't confuse the two.
Date of stay: June 2022
Room Tip: Remember, these are mostly cabins, not rooms.
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$548
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Terrace Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Loft
AU$681
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$681
2.2 km from Terrace Beach Resort
Free parking
AU$333
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.8 km from Terrace Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Two Bedroom Suite at the Bayshore Waterfront Inn
AU$435
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$435
2.2 km from Terrace Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Terrace Beach Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
    0.8 km from Terrace Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Algotels
    • Priceline
    0.8 km from Terrace Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Ucluelet's Boutique Hotel - Award Winning Top Ranked - Top 25 Small Hotels In Canada
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • Algotels
    1.5 km from Terrace Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    West Coast Unit-view from unit
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Algotels
    • Priceline
    2.1 km from Terrace Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Deluxe King
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$485
    • Priceline
    1.7 km from Terrace Beach Resort
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Ucluelet
    Reviews (622)
    Filter reviews
    622 results
    Traveller rating
    460
    115
    26
    9
    12
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    460
    115
    26
    9
    12
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews terrace beach main floor beds were very comfortable loft cabin trail ocean hottub privacy
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 622 reviews
    Reviewed 3 April 2022

    We booked a cabin for several days in early April '22 and due to family concern had to cancel -- well within the cancellation period. I received the emailed cancellation receipt, however, the management did not return my $1300 deposit to my account for almost a MONTH and I believe that was only because I phoned every day for 1.5 weeks. If you must cancel for any reason, be prepared to fight for your refund!

    Date of stay: April 2022
      • Service
    1  Thank Wander600417
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Terrace Beach, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

    Hello,

    Processing refunds is a slow process, especially due to the volume of transactions we receive. We do not promise or make any guarantees to guests with regards to refund timelines, however, we do make an effort to process them as quickly as possible. We also do not charge a deposit, so you may have us confused with a different property.

    Best Regards,

    Terrace Beach Resorts

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 March 2022

    Very poorly managed. Called to cancel on short notice due to a child with COVID, was told over the phone not to worry we would get a full refund as had booked it within the last 48 hours. Call center employee overseas takes your information assuring you of a callback that never comes. Very non communicative, did not return multiple phone calls or emails. Despite being told we would receive a full refund, they finally agreed to only refund our cleaning fee- they have withheld over $400. Called the City of Ucluelet as they DO NOT have a business license and the Better Business Bureau.

    Date of stay: January 2022
      • Service
    1  Thank laurajT5116ZY
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Terrace Beach, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2022

    Hi Laura,

    We are sorry that you feel that you had a one star experience with us and we apologize for the communication issues.

    We do have a firm cancellation policy that to receive a full refund, guests must cancel at least 30 days before check-in. They can also get a full refund within 48 hours of booking if the cancellation occurs at least 14 days before check-in. If they cancel between 7 and 30 days before check-in, you’ll be charged 50% for all nights. If they cancel less than 7 days before check-in, you’ll be charged 100% for all nights.

    We do in fact have a Business License as you will find if you download the file "Business License Holders (August 2021)" here: https://ucluelet.ca/development/business-licences

    I hope this clarifies.

    Best Regards,

    Terrace Beach Resort

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 December 2021 via mobile

    I had reservations for Captains quarters and Sea star on November 19th to 22nd. Due to the extreme weather and flooding we were unable to travel to the island. Thankfully the owners of both cabins gave us a 100 percent future credit due to the extreme weather.
    We have stayed at this resort in the past and love it! We look forward to our upcoming stay.

    Date of stay: November 2021
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank 949rhondaa
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 31 October 2021 via mobile

    The location is excellent. Outside the cabin you see Terrace Bay. Always calm every time I've been there since it's well protected from ocean waves.
    Another bonus is it's about a 5 minute walk to the Wild Pacific Trail, Lighthouse Loop. Highly recommended especially at low tide so you can venture out on to the rocky shoreline where you might find a treasure such as a washed up bouy or some bones from a seal.
    The resort is very nice but I'm giving it a reserved rating, hoping that a few suggestions might be helpful.
    It is a totally hands off rental meaning from booking online to departing the rental there is absolutely no human contact either via phone or email.
    I did try calling the number listed on the website to confirm our rental but it kept dropping immediately. It did make me nervous since when booking the only email confirmation I did get was from an unknown site that only listed the date I booked and never listed the date I booked for.
    We were never provided information on how to connect to the wifi so our data was eaten up big time. There were a couple of pages of rules in the cabin but sharing the wifi information was completely overlooked.
    Check out was never explained. We thought maybe there was a key drop box where we found the envelope upon arrival near the office.
    The only box around was a box of poop bags. Good to have but not what we were looking for.
    We noticed a cleaning person and asked where we were supposed to put the key. She said to give it to her. (I hope we didn't give the key to some random person.)
    We then mentioned that we didn't have any wifi password where she cheerily stated the user name and wifi. I asked her how were we to know that, where upon a questionable look came over her face.
    I would stay again but my initial stay would have been a little less stressful had I known a couple of extra details.

    Room tip: You must be comfortable with not having any direct contact with anyone. Not phone or email. Some people will not be comfortable with that.
    Date of stay: October 2021
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank TheSpiceGirls
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 17 September 2021

    My wife and I haven’t had a good night sleep in 3 days since we arrived at the Terrace Beach Resort. Every night between 10PM and about 7AM there was a loud generator that started up that sounded like it was right under our room. Multiple calls at night to the “7x24”customer support phone number went straight to voice mail. If we did receive a call back the next morning, promises to “look into it” did little to stop the noise the next night.

    The room costs us over $300 / night and it was a poor experience and not a good value.

    Date of stay: September 2021
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Photo_Guy_Canada
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews