We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrace Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Heavenly!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012 via mobile

My best friend and I stayed at TBR for two nights on our Vancouver Island trip last week. We were absolutely thrilled with the place. When we arrived, it was 2am and pouring - we had just completed a 3 hour drive from Nanaimo (ferry). We were tired, soaked and feeling a little green after the hippy-dippy mountainous road into Ucluelet.

After locating the envelope with our key inside, we were quick to identify the location of the ramp. Truly, if my friend and I could find the ramp at 2am in the pouring rain I'm pretty sure it isn't "hidden" and I have no idea what was wrong with the people who were complaining about the stairs.

Anyway, our cabin (Morning Mist) was nice and warm - someone had been thoughtful enough to turn on the heater. We weren't privy to the view of the beach until the following morning, but boy was that beautiful! I regret that we were unable to hike down and see the beach. We loved the hottub and watched the sunset from our deck. We did go out and do other nearby hikes (Pacific Rim/Tonquin Park). Also, we hiked from Chesterman beach to Frank's Island at low tide and it was *thee* highlight of our Tofino/Ucluelet visit. We were recommended to go to Matteson's for breakfast the following morning and can recommend it to others - great food!

I loved the resort and its fishing village look - the owners obviously have good taste. I hope I have a chance to return with my husband, and so does my friend! All of our friends were envious of our hottub and view!

I chose this resort for our Ucluelet/Tofino stay because we wanted a cabin with a hottub. The beach and water view were a major bonus, and I wasn't willing to pay Tofino prices. There were a few neighboring resorts or Inns but this one met and exceeded every expectation of mine. I also thoroughly enjoyed Lorne's comments on travel reviews. I like an Innkeeper with a sense of humor and pride of ownership, which he clearly has.
A++++ Don't even hesitate - you won't be disappointed.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jaded J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    93
    19
    5
    7
See reviews for
175
219
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Elst, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This resort has great cabins with good facilities. Our cabin had a great jacuzzi, two balconies and good beds. The bathrooms where nice. We had a great seaview. Tip: do the pacific wild trail: We saw some eagles a few meters away in the trees. Saw a Seaotter as well while walking along the coast! Good place with a nice service and good facilities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThijsPeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I've stayed here 3 times now, and every time I am thoroughly impressed!! We have stayed at #26-Tidal Pool & #25-Hummingbird. Both cabins are alomst identical...however if I were to pick one, I'd choose #25 the Hummingbird.
The cabins are ALWAYS spotless....which is #1 on my priority list. It is cozy and comfortable, with nice ocean views. The hotub is also a big plus for us....after all, vacation is all about relaxing :)
Ths sheets are cozy and the beds are firm...which I like...however my mom found them a little too firm....but nothing that an extra comforter on the bottem can't fix. The bathrooms are gorgeous and spacious, and the large dining room table is great for family games night. The only thing these cabins are missing is an oven.
The staff is super friendly and helpful. They are patient when customers bug them for directions to different tourist sites. The cleaning staff is great!! Make sure you TIP them when you leave. They work hard!!!!
The best part of this resort is the Pacific Trail which starts right on the property!! Most beautiful hike I have ever seen.
Book this resort....you won't be disappointed!!
Brandi from Nanaimo

Room Tip: The Ocean View lofts are the newest cabins...so recommend them!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldpriestley, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We appreciate that you have stayed with us so many times. One thing we would like to bring to your attention is that we have a selection of mattress toppers for those who prefer a softer mattress. Mention this to any of our staff, and we will make up your bed with one of our toppers. We look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks Brandi. Regards, TBR.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver bc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This review is a little delayed, but better late than never!

We stayed in the Sea Urchin #18 one bedroom loft April 22 - 24, 2011 with one pooch! A HUGE plus is that they are dog friendly, and rather than the usual $20-$25 per day charge, it's a $20 per pet per stay! It's situated right on a small cove with a beautiful beach area and hiking trails right off the beach! And the resorts just a short drive to Tofino, Long beach and Pacific Rim National Park.

Some of the suites overlook the beach and some have hot tubs - we opted for neither this trip, but would definately go for one of those rooms next time round.

I notice people complaing about the stairs - silly lazy people! There is a ramp around the back side of the building if you really need to wheel something up. It felt rustic and like it was built to resemble an old seaside fishing community on stilts! The stairs didn't bother us one bit!

The staff aren't on hand very late, but the units are equipped with everything you could need - it's not a spa resort, it's more like renting a cabin - with no wood chopping required! We found the staff to be super friendly!

We went in the off season so the prices were a bit lower, but I don't really think their prices are far off from all the other places in Ucluelet.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawne_n_travis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldpriestley, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Hello Dawne and Travis: THANK YOU SO MUCH for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate it! Best to you both. Please do come back to stay with us again. From N&L and all of us at TBR!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My partner and I booked a weekend in Cabin #8 - Surf Grass to get away from all the hustle and bustle of every day life. And what an escape it was! The service at the front desk was excellent - she walked us to our cabin, and after opening the door for us, let us make ourselves at home without any distractions. We immediately felt comfortable and cozy and wasted no time before jumping into the hot tub.

What we loved:
- The West Coast Wildlife Trail that took us out to the lighthouse and to some beautiful views. The trail was just minutes from our doorstep
- The jacuzzi tub that fit two people comfortably
- The privacy and the peace and quiet
- The candles and matches provided for us all over the cabin
- The thunder and lightening on our second night
- The playing cards, poker chips, and movies that we could borrow from the office.

What could have been better:
- We ran out of hot water on the second night. To be fair - one of us had already had a large bath, and a shower that day, so when we tried to have a bath together we had to wait for the hot water tank to fill up again. It took a couple hours, but was well worth the wait.
- The kitchen is really small, only two elements and no oven, so be prepared to plan your meals.

We will definitely be going back here!!

Room Tip: Cabin #8 is great - fabulous view and nice and private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
34.1 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
0.4 km away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#7 of 11 in Ucluelet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
31.4 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 km away
Best Western Tin Wis Resort
1.6 km away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
2.4 km away
Water's Edge Shoreside Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Beach Resort

Property: Terrace Beach Resort
Address: 1002 Peninsula Road | Box 96, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
Price range (per night): $98 - $345
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Beach Resort is located in Ucluelet, nestled between the two main sections of Pacific Rim National Park - the Broken Group Islands to the south and the miles of Long Beach to the North. With Beachfront Cabins, Ocean View Lofts, and a selection of suites we can accommodate your needs. Many of our 20 suites have a private hot tub on a private deck. Others have two person soaker jetted tubs. Most have propane barbecue, fully equipped kitchenettes. All have queen beds with Jersey Knit sheets, duvets, electric fireplace, TV, DVD player and free WiFi.Come Home to Terrace Beach Resort Ucluelet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrace Beach Hotel Ucluelet
Terrace Beach Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing