We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect little getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terrace Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ucluelet
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Terrace Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ucluelet
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect little getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My partner and I booked a weekend in Cabin #8 - Surf Grass to get away from all the hustle and bustle of every day life. And what an escape it was! The service at the front desk was excellent - she walked us to our cabin, and after opening the door for us, let us make ourselves at home without any distractions. We immediately felt comfortable and cozy and wasted no time before jumping into the hot tub.

What we loved:
- The West Coast Wildlife Trail that took us out to the lighthouse and to some beautiful views. The trail was just minutes from our doorstep
- The jacuzzi tub that fit two people comfortably
- The privacy and the peace and quiet
- The candles and matches provided for us all over the cabin
- The thunder and lightening on our second night
- The playing cards, poker chips, and movies that we could borrow from the office.

What could have been better:
- We ran out of hot water on the second night. To be fair - one of us had already had a large bath, and a shower that day, so when we tried to have a bath together we had to wait for the hot water tank to fill up again. It took a couple hours, but was well worth the wait.
- The kitchen is really small, only two elements and no oven, so be prepared to plan your meals.

We will definitely be going back here!!

Room Tip: Cabin #8 is great - fabulous view and nice and private deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    91
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
169
206
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We (a family of 2 adults and 2 teenage children) stayed in a beachfront cabin (Amphitrite #5). The cabin was adequate for our needs - again, not 5-star but perfectly cosy and comfortable. It would be good if some of the cabins offered beds in arrangements other than 2 x doubles. For our stay, one teenager got a large bedroom with spa and the other had to settle for camping out on the sofa bed - not ideal, but we knew what we were getting in for when we booked. Also, there could be more seating in the loungeroom (particularly if you lose the sofa to a sleeping-in teenager). The best part is the location right on the beach and watching the water, weather and sunsets. It's also very handy to an easy walking path that goes on a loop to the lighthouse. The office has a wide selection of DVDs to borrow which is a good idea, as the area is very quiet (we loved the chillout factor, but the kids probably got a bit bored). As mentioned by other reviewers, there are stairs to access the carpark from the elevated boardwalks, but we didn't find this a problem. We had a lovely, relaxing and quiet stay at Terrace Beach. Our only tip to the owners would be to offer different sleeping arrangements in some of the cabins to better cater for families.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

The complaints that can be seen in the other reviews are the same as what we experienced:

- the rooms weren't cleaned properly between guests
- the hot tub was filthy
- website gives you a false impression of what you are getting
- website photos cleverly hide how many stairs you are going to have to deal with
- staff is only there a few hours a day
- right on a main road to a tourist spot so can be noisy
- really basic motel facilities and service but charging a resort price

I love the area and have been many times, but this is a terrible place to stay.

Imagine lugging your luggage and groceries up several stories, and that is how you will start your stay here. No idea why they decided to build it like that... or why they wouldn't install some sort of luggage "dumbwaiter elevator" or even with a winch mechanism to help people out. A basic thing with a motor would be pretty simple to build and it would show that they have an inkling of concern for their guest's experiences.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
23 Thank BurnabyCanucksFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ldpriestley, Owner at Terrace Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Hello BurnabyCanucksFan: Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Please allow us to address the points in your review. Our hot tubs are checked and cleaned every two days, and between check ins. They are clean.
We cannot understand your comments that our website gives a false impression of our resort. Tripadvisor shows many pictures of our resort taken by guests that clearly show the stairs, as do we on our photo gallery and on our facebook page. Our resort is designed to resemble a 1920s fishing village -- this design history is explained fully in our guest information books in every unit. Sadly, you missed reading this history.

Our confirmation letter which you received when you booked with us clearly states that there is a ramp on the left hand side of the resort for easy access with your luggage.

Our staff is on site from 10:00AM to 5:00PM every day, and, there is an after hours phone number posted in every room and next to the office door in case of any need that arises. Our staff are available 24/7.

We are a quiet place to stay, with a park on each side, and a beautiful beach in front and connected to the Wild Pacific Trail -- not really a basic motel.

Your review troubled us, and we felt we had to respond.

Sincerely, Terrace Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

What a trip...these rooms are built up on platforms which makes them quite high and then to the top floor and a bedroom above that in the loft...I loved it...quite an aerie and surprisingly quiet for the number of quests...located right next to the Pacific Trail which was fabulous...if you are on the top it is lovely...I enjoyed my stay very much...good exercise up the many steps...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyHawke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

My fiance and I stayed in one of the beach front cabins in January. I was a little nervous, because we were staying with his parents and I worried that we wouldn't have any privacy. Well, I worried for nothing! The cabin was very spacious, with amazing views of the water. The little bay is quite sheltered so we didn't get to watch any crazy winter storms, but we saw some breakers from a distance. We loved the cabin and of course the Wild Pacific Trail (amazing in the winter!), but what made the most impact on us was the customer service. The front desk staff member was extremely helpful and accommodating! In fact, we were so impressed, that we are having our wedding on the beach and having our 30 guests stay at the cabins this summer!

Room Tip: We stayed in number 6 - Sea Glass. The rooms in the beach front cabins are spacious but open. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ucluelet
0.5 km away
Reef Point Cottages
Reef Point Cottages
#6 of 10 in Ucluelet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
34.2 km away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
31.5 km away
Pacific Sands Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Ocean Village Beach Resort
35.5 km away
Middle Beach Lodge
Middle Beach Lodge
#6 of 16 in Tofino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.7 km away
Black Rock Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Beach Resort

Property: Terrace Beach Resort
Address: 1002 Peninsula Road | Box 96, Ucluelet, British Columbia V0R 3A0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Barkley Sound > Ucluelet
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ucluelet
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ucluelet
Price range (per night): $100 - $352
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrace Beach Resort is located in Ucluelet, nestled between the two main sections of Pacific Rim National Park - the Broken Group Islands to the south and the miles of Long Beach to the North. With Beachfront Cabins, Ocean View Lofts, and a selection of suites we can accommodate your needs. Many of our 20 suites have a private hot tub on a private deck. Others have two person soaker jetted tubs. Most have propane barbecue, fully equipped kitchenettes. All have queen beds with Jersey Knit sheets, duvets, electric fireplace, TV, DVD player and free WiFi.Come Home to Terrace Beach Resort Ucluelet! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terrace Beach Hotel Ucluelet
Terrace Beach Ucluelet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing