We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Donna B
Leduc, Canada

Great Location but dated and expensive

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Sept 2023
The lodge is set on the Marina in Ucluelet within walking distance of downtown, walking trails and places to eat. There is a lovely veranda overlooking the marina to sit and drink your coffee and watch the activity on the marina.

We stayed for two nights on the weekend. I'm guessing the demand and thus room prices go up significantly on weekends. We certainly paid way more for the room than what it is worth. When we checked in we had a room on the lower level and it was very noisy from foot steps from the room above. They did upgrade us to what they called a king executive suite when we requested a room on the upper level due to the noise. We really appreciated the upgrade however the room was very dated, the carpet was past its' best-before-date and the decor was very haphazard. The TV did not work well and the upstairs room with the king bed was very basic and without a TV.

If you like a communal kitchen they do offer one on the grounds where you can cook your own food.

High marks for location but in terms of the actual room itself we paid way more money per night for this room than what we felt it was worth when comparing it with some of the other hotels we stayed in on this west coast vacation.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Evergreen Hospitality, Owner at Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina, responded to this review
Responded 20 Dec 2023
Thank you for the feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disturbed by your neighbors. We hope to welcome you back again soon for a more restful visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
The Two Bedroom Suite at the Bayshore Waterfront Inn
AU$433
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$433
0.3 km from Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$331
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$331
0.5 km from Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$545
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$545
2.0 km from Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
West Coast Unit-view from unit
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
0.2 km from Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
Ucluelet's Boutique Hotel - Award Winning Top Ranked - Top 25 Small Hotels In Canada
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina
Free Wifi
Free parking
    1.5 km from Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    • Priceline
    0.9 km from Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    • Priceline
    1.5 km from Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • eDreams
    1.8 km from Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Deluxe King
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$483
    • Priceline
    0.6 km from Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Ucluelet
    Reviews (233)
    Filter reviews
    233 results
    Traveller rating
    71
    65
    47
    37
    13
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    71
    65
    47
    37
    13
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews communal kitchen comfortable beds coffee maker hotel room fishing boats mini fridge sea lions vancouver island loft balcony fireplace harbour logs bc storm
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    4 - 9 of 233 reviews
    Reviewed 8 August 2023 via mobile

    Firstly the only positive which is the location. It’s within easy walking distance of most of Ucluelet and the beautiful beaches.
    Our experience though left a lot to be desired.
    We booked 2 nights in a larger suite. We were allocated room 305 which was on the ground floor and when we first entered it looked beautiful and it had a good sized balcony area overlooking the marina. When going out for dinner we noticed that the windows were all open with the fly screens closed. With it being on the ground floor, to make the room secure, we closed all the windows and left. We returned a few hours later to the most overwhelming smell of damp and the humidity in the room was such that the tiled floor in the bathroom was really slippery. When we complained we were told the carpet had recently been cleaned which might explain the smell. We had to insist on a room change as the receptionist seemed unsure about what she should do and even said she would have to contact her boss who was in Vancouver at the time. At over $900 for a 2 night stay this is unacceptable service.
    The second room 323 was a 2 story room with 3 beds, which we didn’t need, and no sitting area, but presumably they gave us that because it was similarly priced. That room highlighted that there is no sound proofing between the rooms at all as we were kept awake by the screeching coming from the family in the room next door until after 1.30 in the morning.
    Lastly when we booked the room no payment was taken so we had to pay on arrival. Totally fine with that but as well as taking the payment they wanted to place a hold on our credit card for another 50% of the room cost so over $400. This resort offers nothing other than a room, no restaurant or bar or anything which you can charge to the room so we queried this hold and the receptionist backed down and ensured that only the room cost was charged. Whilst at the reception we heard other guests also question this and the receptionist did the same for them. This then begs the question why antagonise your guests as soon as they check in by trying to charge them this way and then having to backtrack when they query it. It also needlessly prolongs the check-in process.
    All in all we couldn’t really say we enjoyed staying in this property. We are still awaiting contact from management despite providing our email address and several contact telephone numbers.

    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank hxdirect
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Evergreen Hospitality, Owner at Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2023

    Thank you for the feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 August 2023

    We have stayed at the Princess Resort three times.  The rooms are lovely, with a balcony and a panoramic view.  I cannot believe what I just read in the previous review.  We run a wildlife tours and many of our customers have stayed at the Princess.  They tell us what a lovely experience it is.  We hear many comments about how friendly and accommodating the staff is. 

    I cannot figure out what is meant by a bog.  There is a mudflat exposed at low tide that you can walk on if you wish.  We've seen deer, eagles, racoons, and even river otters at low tide,  The boat harbor itself consists of commercial fishing boats, motor boats, and sailboats, against a backdrop of nearby mountains.  It's beautiful.

    Date of stay: October 2022
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Lanal205
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Evergreen Hospitality, Owner at Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2023

    Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear our staff made a great impression on you; we are very proud of our team, who are always ready to go the extra mile for our guests.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 August 2023 via mobile

    At almost $475.00 a night, most definitely stay away from this place, way overpriced for way you get. We booked this room a few months ago when availability in the Ucluelet-Tofino area was somewhat limited. With the Hwy4 closures, we attempted to cancel our reservation but was refused as it was less than the 7 day cancellation policy and road closures aren’t exempt. Ends up that the expected delays were not that bad and made it to the motel without issue. Checking was quick but the the person at the front desk was quite rude and dismissive. Other staff were great, one noticed that we had quite a few bags and immediately came and brought them to our room for us. Our room smelt damp and musty, we needed to keep window and patio door open. We had reserved a room with water view, which was a bog. Bathroom had mold, toilet leaked, shower head was almost falling off. On the plus side, beds were fairly comfortable and excellent water pressure!

    Date of stay: August 2023
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    1  Thank mojo1107
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Evergreen Hospitality, Owner at Canadian Princess Lodge & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2023

    Thank you for the feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 18 July 2023

    Not handicap friendly. No railings to hold onto to get down 3 fairly steep steps into our room. No railing beside the toilet. No ramp to get to the office. Not easy task for a person with a walker. Overpriced, no breakfast. Beds clean and quite comfortable. Friendly staff. Not recommended.

    Date of stay: July 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Explorer10378544889
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 June 2023

    Best location in town! Right on the water with large comfortable rooms. Unique rooms with loft and comfortable beds. Even has laundry facilities in the building. Great place to watch the marine life and eagles! All the staff were very friendly and helpful, made us feel comfortable staying there. Made us feel at home while we were stuck in town due to the highway closure. Will definitely be coming here for a planned vacation.

    Room tip: Prime location, right in town with shopping and restaurants within walking distance.
    Date of stay: June 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank 674kareny
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews