We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Effort from Staff”
Review of Mill River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mill River Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in O'Leary
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the Rodd. Check in was smooth and very friendly. As a family they were quick to point out the few extras like free meal for kids, a beach ball for the pool, etc.
After leaving we noticed we left our pillow in the room. After getting back home called them and in a week the pillow arrived in the mail! What a generous gesture. The time and effort to track it down, package it and mail it was very "over the top".
Excellent and friendly staff.

Room Tip: ask for room that ourlooks the golf course. Great view of the pond and sprinkler of 18th hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 189 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2011

Another reviewer hit the nail on the head - Rodd seems to be letting this place go. As you walk through the entrance, make sure not to trip on the broken terra cotta tiles. Once inside, you may detect the scent of 30 year old musty carpet and the buzz of dehumidifiers. My room had a view of shingles that had well exceeded their 25 year lifespan. The fish and chips featured frozen, thawed, re-frozen and re-thawed fish with a distinctly mushy mouth feel. Would not recommend staying or eating here. The golf course is nice, but shabby compared to the Rodd courses on the East side of the island. I can only imagine what the Big Break contestants thought - good thing it wasn't featured on the show.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PieroDellaFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Nice facility, beds were very comfortable, check in and check out were easy. Employees were very pleasant. My food was good, but my companions steak was over cooked. But the rest of the dinner was good. Would go back there anytime. Central location for what we want to do and see.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capecodnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed 2nights and found it lovely. The staff was very friendly and accommodating - from the front desk to the golf shop to the pool/aquaplex facility to the restaurant. Overall the resort needs some upgrading ,especially as regards the bike trail info.We hired bikes (cheaply) and although the bikes were not well kept,the helpful staff made up for it. We played tennis and enjoyed the indoor pool. The golf was great in that we are a family of 4,beginners and were able to play 3 holes of golf for free ,all equipment provided!! There was no pressure to book tee off times and we could play as much as we wanted (i.e. 3 holes over and over).The restaurant was great value and good .
It was a lovely stay and we would be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wolflore53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

We stayed here in July 2010. We had read the reviews and thought it would be a great place to stay.

The problem we had were the bugs flying around in the room and one morning, I woke up to my wife screaming as a bug had been crawling on her body in her bed. We don't know if this is a seasonal issue or hotel issue.

We mentioned this to a staff member during breakfast and she spoke to management and told us it could be that because we were on the ground floor, it would have more bugs. Breakfast was very good, my wife order waffles and I had their buffet, stuffing myself to the gills. It had a good variety and the food was of good quality.

The staff were nice enough to move us into a different room, but alas, bugs were still there and I ended up killing three that were flying around before we went to sleep. No screaming wife the second morning.

The staff were very friendly and accommodating.

We didn't get to use the amenities as we were there mostly to sleep. The internet service was reliable and relatively fast.

We would stay there again if invited to do so. It seemed more business oriented and for golfers as there was a golf course on site.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank easyHwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near O'Leary
11.1 km away
Rollo Bay Inn
Rollo Bay Inn
#2 of 2 in Souris
30 reviews
0.0 km away
Cavendish Country Inn
Cavendish Country Inn
#7 of 8 in Cavendish
48 reviews
9.4 km away
Briarwood Inn
Briarwood Inn
#3 of 4 in Alberton
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill River Resort

Address: 180 Mill River Resort Road | Route 136, O'Leary, Prince Edward Island C0B 1V0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > O'Leary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in O'Leary
Price Range: $122 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill River Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mill River Resort is truly one of Prince Edward Island’s most unique vacation destinations. We cater to all types of family, corporate and group events to ensure each visit to Mill River is an experience to remember. The property boasts a 90 guestroom hotel, 72-site campground and is home to Mill River Golf Course, voted as one of “Canada’s Best Golf Values”. Our never ending list of amenities including our indoor pool & 90’ waterslide, full service spa, beach volleyball & tennis courts, driving range & additional 3-hole golf course and nature trail, guarantees to keep the whole family entertained! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mill River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Mill River Hotel Oleary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing