We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful private location - very relaxing and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Caltiere

House and Pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House and Pool
Front of house Side view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
House and Pool
Front of house
Side view
House to pool
Master bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Dining room ( extending table )
Side garden / boules pitch
Rear garden (part)
Night swimming
Bikes
Table tennis in barn
Bread / pizza oven
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Indre, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona W
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful private location - very relaxing and plenty to keep our children busy.”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second visit to La Caltiere. We went for a week last summer and enjoyed it so much, found it really relaxing but a week did not feel like long enough so we returned for two weeks this summer. The booking process is very smooth with the owners and they are very helpful.
Once again this year we loved the location - a huge garden space not overlooked at all where we played rounders and football. The pool is great - our youngest learnt to swim there last year and this time he, with his brothers, spent plenty of time in it as we did too. Sitting by the pool is very relaxing and feels idyllic. The table tennis table is also a big hit with us and between that, the petanc court and playing pool there was plenty to keep us all busy. We also used the bikes and cycled each day to the village to buy bread and pain au chocolat which was good exercise and great to be cycling past sunflower fields on extremely quiet roads. The house is very comfortable and we happily cooked and ate all our meals there and found being in the house very relaxing. I have included my recommendation as being suitable for families with young children (ours are 8, 11 and 12) but very very young children would maybe find the staircase a bit tricky but ours this year and last have no problem with it. It really is a very easy house to stay in, with plenty of space.
Once again at the end of this stay we didn't want to come home.
Maureen and Terry who look after the property there are so helpful and friendly in a very unobtrusive way. All in all a fab holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the garden by such a pretty property, with only the sound of table tennis being played, splashing in the pool and the birds.
Liked least: Having to come home.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
Dear Fiona , Thank you very much for your review - pleased that you had such a great time. Maureen and Terry who look after the farm for us are delightful and do so much to keep the place looking tip-top. Kind Regards Fiona and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shove365
Shannon, Ireland
2 reviews
“Beautifully setting, great house but needs updating”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were a family of 4 that stayed in the house for ten days. the house and location is great and quite central in The Loire Valley region.
The house itself is great. It sure is a renovated 17th. Farmstead so we knew what we had booked - being seasoned travellers and adventures. However, with the rate quoted and charged we were quite disappointed on how old the items were in the house. For instance the cooking pots and frying pans seemed as old as the house, we couldn't use them. The mattresses were of poor quality and the beds creaked with each movement.
We advised prior to departure on the items that needed attention like the bathrooms and showers.
Overall, would be go back. Yes - but we'd have to be guaranteed that the house received much needed care and attention.
the housekeepers themselves, Terry & Maureen (not the owners) were extremely helpful and thoughful. The house would be in dire straits without their care.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and private pool facility.
Liked least: kitchen, beds and showers
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2015
Dear Siobhan , Thank you for your kind review. Indeed the managers of the property are one of the most important aspect of the farm as they are so devoted to ensuring that all guests have the best possible experience. We have replaced all the saucepans and frying pans at your suggestion. The beds were perhaps too soft for you but other guests have found them to be very comfortable. We are so pleased to have heard from our housekeepers that you had such a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing