We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stargazer Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Front of cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Rear patio
Rear of cottage.
Garden
Garden
Pick your own fruit and vegetables
Jaques Tati in Ste Severe sur Indre
Les Pierres Jaumatres
Tree adventure at Lac Sidiailles
Sidiailles lake.
Sidiailles lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Indre, Berry, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
B3490YMpa...
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

On arrival there was a welcome food pack to keep you going, although we were travelling as a couple the property has two good sized bedrooms and suitable for families.
There is a sitting room and kitchen diner with all the facilties you need, even a barbecue and private wonderfully kept garden to relax in and plenty of wildlife to see.
You can really see the wonderful stars at night and if you are in the double room you can lay in bed watching the night sky.
In the cottage there is lots of information on places to visit, or you can just relax in the garden. There is also a lake nearby where you can swim and there is even a cafe there for lunch, but we took our own picnic and had a great day.
I would recommend this property for couples or families there are lots of nearby places of interest to visit or just spend time relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A wonderful holiday in a good location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“UNSPOILT HEART OF FRANCE”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Relax and unwind in a peaceful rural location.

The Cottage is located on the outskirts of Perassay.With easy access from all ferry ports and only 1hr 40 minutes from Limoges Airport.

Average summer temperatures ranging between 25 and 32 degrees C

Stargazer cottage sits in the unspoilt region of the Indre, shimmering yellow fields of sunflowers rolling hills and beautiful rural countryside a haven for the keen walker, cyclist or wildlife enthusiast, and as the name suggests the location of the cottage is perfect to sit out on warm summer evenings and be mesmerised by the crystal clear skies with all the stars and constellations and even the Milky Way visible to the naked eye, only to be distracted by the shooting stars.

The cottage is perfectly situated only a short drive to the main road connecting you to either Boussac 14km away to the South. A pretty market town with banks, cafe's, bakery and general newsagent and two supermarkets plus several places that serve excellent food at excellent prices. Or head north on the same road and a ten minute ride brings you into Sainte-Severe-sur-Indre another small market town famous for Jacques Tati 1947 film the "Jour de fete".

The nearest main city is Le Chatre about a twenty minute drive, with excellent restaurants,shops,supermarkets and swimming pool all laid out on pedestrian friendly characterful streets.

If your looking for a little more action Sidiailles lake is only twenty minutes away with sandy beach cafe/ snack bar, pedalos and zip wires running over the water. Another great family day out is to make the trip to Pierres Jaumatre just outside Boussac with high wire adventure playground, outdoor laser quest, Children's play area, restaurant/ cafe bar.

A short walk takes you up to the spectacular giant granite stones view point. The vista is breathtaking as you stand next to the large granite stones moulded into fabulous shapes balanced on one another as the sunsets on the Indre valley.

The Cottage is well equipped with T.V, WIFI, DVD and a selection of Dvd's, books and board games. We have a well stocked garden and are more than happy for you to harvest potatoes, tomatoes, melon or what ever vegetables/ fruits are in season. The cottage has a small seating area at the back with table and chairs ideal for the morning breakfast and a lawned private garden at the front with sun loungers, deck chairs and BBQ.

The cooler winter evenings are a perfect excuse to curl up on the sofa in front of the wood burner after a busy day exploring this beautiful region.

We have lived here for over ten years and all the numerous sights can't be covered in this brief description but we are more than happy to give ideas for places to visit and more detailed information, We want you to have the perfect holiday whether you`re looking for action or just a relaxing getaway,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J E
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely, relaxing stay in delightful surroundings”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a fantastic 2 week stay at Stargazer; a lovely converted cottage nestled amongst old farm buildings. The inside of the cottage is cool and extremely comfortable. We had absolutely everything we needed and more. The kitchen was very well equipped and included a slow cooker, combination microwave and freezer. Maureen also offered us the use of her washing machine (just next door) and we had some tasty fresh fruit and corn on the cob from the garden.

We really enjoyed the little private patio area at the rear of the cottage and dined outside often, entertained by the trio of ducks that live in the neighbouring paddock. There is also a larger garden and vegetable plot opposite the cottage.

The cottage has a lovely rustic feel with exposed stone and timbers and has been lovingly furnished with interesting pieces, which really makes it feel like a home rather than a holiday rental. There is a very good supply of books and DVDS and an array of useful guides and maps to the surrounding area. The WiFi was excellent and there is FreeSat available as well. These extras make a real difference.

The local area is rural and quiet (which is just what we wanted) and perfect for a relaxing break. We found plenty to occupy ourselves and would particularly recommend the lake hike at Sidiailles and a walk along the canal (and visit to the Roman ruins) at Drevant. We also took a trip up to Sancerre, a lovely old hilltop town surrounded by vineyards.

Thank you Maureen and Steve for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things to choose just one
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth W
Munster, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic break, superb holiday”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed two weeks and enjoyed every single day. The Cottage is cosy and very comfortable. Mo & Steve are two fantastic hosts, most helpful. The garden is incredible, and we were very welcome to help ourselves to everything in it! We certainly recommend this Cottage, it's a real gem, we'd come back any time!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1968ajs
Milton Keynes
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

What a great stay! The welcome from our hosts Mo and Steve was fantastic, we were made to feel welcome straight away with a cool beer which started the stay off perfectly!

You have everything that you need to enjoy your time at Stargazer. I noticed that there had been a comment about there being no oven, for us this was not an issue as we did not go on holiday to be cooking every day!

On the odd day that we did cook, we had pretty much free run of the fruit and vegetable garden opposite the house to cook the freshest food that you could ask for.

There are plenty of things to do around and about so it is a great base to go a explore from.

Try the lakeside beach at Sidiailles, where there is also a high ropes course.

Chez Marie is teh Bar/Tabac in the nearby village and is about a 20-25 minute walk, the welcome is warm, the serve food and you can buy provisions from there as well.

A brilliant place to stay, fabulous hosts and the ideal place to chill out and get back your life! The next challenge is to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts!
Liked least: The cockerell at 6.30am!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing