We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not extra”
Review of La Ferme des Mares

La Ferme des Mares
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We stay 4 night half pension in the hotel and we hoped to heave top level meals. But we were a little bit disapointed. It was good food, but we got better food in others restaurants. For me it is medium and not worth to give a star!

Date of visit: May 2018
1  Thank charlespolspoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

La ferme des Mares catered our wedding and did an outstanding job. The food was incredible and Mike Allen was so helpful in helping plan our entire day. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here in our way back to Cherbourg. The hotel is hidden away in a small village close to the sea. The setting is very picturesque. This small hotel is very comfortable, charming and well appointed. Our room was large, clean and everything was in good condition. We stayed half board which came with a three-course fixed menu which was lovely. There is an extensive wine list. Breakfast was equally good although fresh coffee (rather than a thermos) would have been a bonus. Be aware if you are a light sleeper that the church clock chimes every quarter of an hour throughout the night.
We would return.

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank Dickdob1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

This is a hotel and restaurant of the highest standard in out of the way Saint Germain Sur Ay. Everything is a joy from reception through to the end of the meal. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable and the menu is a delight. The standard is set the owners who are an English chef and his French wife who runs the place. If you find yourself in this rejoin you will not be disappointed if you manage to secure a table for dinner.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We had diner/lunch here several times, and we always have been very satisfied. Last visit in August 2016 and it was beyond awful. Raw fish (sole), beef totally overcooked. It looked like the chef was absent and replaced by someone totally unfit to run a kitchen.
Anyhow, looking at quality/price we would not likely visit again or refer this restaurant in the near future.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Rudolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Ferme des Mares also viewed

 
La Haye-du-Puits, La Haye
Creances, Manche
 
Blainville-sur-Mer, Manche
 

Been to La Ferme des Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing