We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
162
64
24
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
64
24
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfour poster bedkings suitethe pubsteeped in historyvillage greenmy partnerold englisha lovely stayvillage churchfull englishnewer partroll top bathlovely old buildingstayed one nightstay overnightoriginal featuressteak
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Stopped off here for a late lunch. Fabulous old character building with a very relaxed atmosphere.
Great staff and service. Food very tasty. Clearly all home cooked. Will definitely be returning again soon!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy_given
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia P, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello Andy

Thank you so much for your lovely words! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We met friends half way at the Crown Inn. Super lazy lunch and really good food. Super bottle of white wine. Fish and chips great. A lovely big dining room with loads of interesting features from 17th Century.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

This beautiful place is near perfection. It’s the only place I’ve ever known that manages to successful balance being a pub, a restaurant and a lush hotel. It’s also bizarrely reasonably priced. My only gripe is that I went for lunch last Saturday and found that the menu had been changed and not for the better. Suddenly the sandwich selection is minimal and dull. Please work on this as everything else is smashing.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Pye36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia P, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely words about the pub. Im sure you will be delighted to know that our sandwich menu has been changed and we now have a much larger selection of sandwiches to choose from.
We hope to see you again soon so you can try some out.

Georgia
The Crown Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Good choices on menu, we sat in the bar area some wanted a snack others a meal which was well catered for.
Quite a wait for our food but delicious when we got it.
Service was friendly.
Elderly lady couldn't make it upstairs to the ladies room so used the men's downstairs which she wasn't that happy about.
An enjoyable lunch, comfortable seating and lovely atmosphere.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank SueYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia P, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you for your review Sue. Im sorry there was a wait for the food, but I'm delighted it was delicious once you received it.
Hopefully we will see you in the Crown again soon

Georgia
The Crown Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We had a family reunion and treated them to a meal at the crown, very disappointed with the waiting time, waited about 20 minutes for our drinks then the meal orders took about 45 minutes, very embarrassing.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank mitchison2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia P, Public Relations Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Im so sorry to hear you did not have a satisfactory experience with us. When we get busy the team try their hardest to keep wait times down to a minimum. I hope apart from the waiting time you had an enjoyable reunion.
We hope you come back to try us again soon.

Georgia
The Crown Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews