We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base for Wells Gray”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clearwater Valley Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
NSW, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good base for Wells Gray”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed here two nights, purely for its location as a base to see Wells Gray. If you don't expect too much its a good choice, as accommodation is limited in Clearwater and the newer motels are right on the bland main road. Our upstairs unit had a balcony overlooking the lovely grounds and pond, the unit was spacious with a full kitchen, and the location was quiet. The complicated bath/shower arrangement took a bit of figuring out. Although well used the resort is obviously well looked after. Can't comment on the dining room as it was not yet open for the season, and I can imagine that this place with its combination of cabins, units, RV and camping could get quite crowded and noisy inthe summer season. However for our purposes, and at that time of year, it was a good choice and I would stay there again (Wells Gray PP is stunning).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wompoo773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    53
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
38
54
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This wasn't particularly flash, and we only used it as an overnight stop. I can see that it might be great for a longer stay if you had a young family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogbaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I was very happy I took the advice of other TA reviewers and chose this location for our stopover on the drive from Whistler to Jasper. Clearwater is a little more than half way and was a great move as it left only a 4 and half hr drive to Jasper. We stayed in a ground floor cabin by overlooking the little lake. The one bedroom room was very clean and comfortable with a fully equiped kitchen. It was nice to have a full size lounge, and bath, a microwave and full table and chairs after the smaller hotel rooms we had stayed in over previous days. When we arrived, about 5pm, there was a line up of RVs also checking in and I was not sure if I had made ther right decision. How silly I was to be concerned...the check in was quick, there was NO noise from all these other travellers ( we stayed in all hotels except for Clearwater). What made our stay was the great staff at the restaurant...we were very happy with our meal but enjoyed discussing the wildlife we had seen (all new to us as we are from Australia)with the young man who waited on the tables (the managers son). Towards the end of dinner we met Dave, the manager who went out of his way to answer all our questions and make us feel welcome even adding the pin for our hometown on his world map on the wall. Our visit to the restaurant wasn't just for food...it offered advice, discussion about the routes we were to take, friendship and genuine interest in us. This is a place for travellers....you are well accommodated and welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This is a slighly odd 'motel' because it is really about 10 individual buildings on the edge of a fair sized RV Park, but then we knew this and accepted it. It has a heated outdoor pool, a restaurant which does breakfast and dinner, a bar and free wifi which worked well enough. The 'room' i.e. an individual bungalow, was a bit small but adequate for two. It had a fridge and coffee maker but no cooking facilities. It was clean and well maintained and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. The best thing was that it's on the road into Well Gray Provincial Pak from the main highway and the scenery is amazing. We were there for two full days and, in spite of some indifferent weather, we had a great time. If we ever find ourselves back in this part of the world we'll certainaly consider this motel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonshearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed one night in an independent bungalow set next to the lake. Clean room. Motel standard with fridge and kettle. Staff very welcoming and helpful. My iPhone was on the blink and the man on reception was able to fix it! We ate in the restaurant which was fine (see separate review)

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjcalvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clearwater hotels
0.3 km away
Clearwater Lodge
Clearwater Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clearwater
279 reviews
1.0 km away
Wells Gray Inn
Wells Gray Inn
#3 of 8 in Clearwater
106 reviews
1.1 km away
Dutch Lake Motel and RV Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ace Western Motel
Ace Western Motel
#8 of 8 in Clearwater
105 reviews
17.0 km away
Alpine Meadows Resort
Alpine Meadows Resort
#1 of 8 in Clearwater
415 reviews
0.0 km away
KOA Campgrounds
KOA Campgrounds
#10 of 16 in Clearwater
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clearwater Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clearwater Valley Resort

Property: Clearwater Valley Resort
Address: 373 Clearwater Valley Rd, Clearwater, British Columbia V0E 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Clearwater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Clearwater
Price range (per night): $135 - $168
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clearwater Valley Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Clearwater Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clearwater Valley Hotel
Clearwater Valley Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing