We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Five stars is NOT enough...deserves 10!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Living Room
Dining Room
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Queen Bedroom with Ensuite
Front entry
Sunrise view
area map
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lunenburg, Southwest Nova Scotia, Nova Scotia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gottago19...
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Five stars is NOT enough...deserves 10!”
Reviewed 4 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I won't reiterate everything people have said in reviews about Rise Again Cottage but will highlight what we loved. First, Fern and Harvey are the BEST! No question went unanswered (and timely too) and no request was too much. They are so responsive and helpful. I have a short tem rental such as this in a US state and I kept reminding myself to check my rental on returning to the US to see if I had everything a guest would need...there wasn't anything in terms of kitchen supplies, washer/dryer, detergent, etc. etc. that Fern overlooked. It was immaculately clean, beautiful views, comfortable, great wi-fi, and the BEST location between Lunenburg and Mahone Bay. We took an evening cruise around Mahone Bay (south shore boat tours--FAB), had access to great restaurants, wonderful maritime museum in Lunenburg. Didn't get my fishing and golf in but that was because there was so much to go and see along the coast. I would definitely recommend Rise Again!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
Thank you Sandy and Bob for your enthusiasm and the great review. You were mighty fine guests, yourselves. The cottage misses you. Fern
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A relaxing getaway and more.”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The first thing you notice when entering Rise Again Cottage is how big it is inside. The pictures really don't do it justice. Although there were six of us...my wife and I, our son and his wife, and our grand-daughter and her boyfriend, you hardly noticed that there was anyone else around. Although we usually ate in the huge dining room, we also enjoyed many meals on the deck, and even used the fully-equipped Barbecue. We especially loved sitting around the fire-pit in the evening, and made good use of the abundant free firewood.
The next thing you notice is how clean it is. You immediately feel comfortable, and once you meet the owners, Fern and Harvey, you also feel welcome and right at home. Although they live right next door, you won't even know they're there, but they are easily reachable should you have any questions. Be sure to read the informative book provided...it will answer most questions you may have about the cottage, and also provides a wealth of information on the area.
Much has been said about the great view and the spectacular sunrises, but the reviews can't begin to do justice to this bit of paradise. The location is perfect for visiting local must-sees such as Lunenburg (take a sail on the "Bluenose", and check out the farmer's market every Thursday), Mahone Bay, Bridgewater, The Ovens, Kejimkujik National Park, and many of the popular beaches ... we took advantage of the cooler, and beach equipment (umbrella, mats and beach towels) provided at the cottage. They really thought of everything. We also went swimming and fishing from the dock, and had fun with the paddle-board and rowboat. What a beautiful view from here. We made some great memories and got some great family photos.
Even famous Peggy's Cove is an easy and scenic 1 1/4- hour drive. When you go, make sure to visit the nearby SwissAir Flight 111 Memorial. It's a beautiful site and provides a different perspective on Peggy's Cove.
This cottage is remarkable in that you could pick up a few groceries along the way, and you're good for your stay. Be sure to enjoy some of the great local restaurants, but if you want to cook you'll find everything you need, and many things you didn't think of, at the cottage.
Finally, to repeat what many have said before, 1 week is definitely not enough. Kudos Fern and Harvey for providing this vacation paradise.

Terry & Linda and Family
Ottawa
Visited Aug 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: How clean and well-equipped it was.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Terry and Linda, Thank for your the spectacular and detailed review.. Not only is it blushingly great for us to read, but your travel tips will be invaluable for others. We loved having you and your family as guests and neighbours, too. Until we meet again ... Fern and Harvey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“A Slice Of Heaven”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

~ where do we begin?? Our stay this past August @ Rise Again Cottage Just minutes from the spectacular and gorgeous "Old Town Historic District" of Lunenburg, N.S was one of our most favorite places to date. ( We have travelled extensivelly)This was not just a "cottage" but a home away from home, Fern and Harvey have created the ultimate get away nestled up on a lovely grassy rolling hill with amazing views of the waters. Enjoying morning coffee on the deck or the dock was so peaceful as was waking to the sound of Loons and Sea birds and soft breezes. Ending the evening with a glass of wine on either was equally lovely. We relished the quiet and privacy, the ability to decompress and have such a wonderful stay! This home was so fully equipped with every known amenity from a very warm welcome of Fern & Harvey's beautiful garden flower arrangement,and gift of locally made coffee and wine! to the super detailed guidebook to utilize every option in this home as well as an array of what to see and do in the area. We had the choice of a super washer & dryer to the charming much loved clothesline to hang our clothes for that natural summer air feel, Soft linens & pillows, cozy duvets, tons of rooms with gorgeous local artwork and beautiful colors, every dish, pan and pot you could need and more, not to mention beach gear,bikes, kayaks, canoe & rowboat! We had beautiful music supplied as well as a super selection of DVD's, books, travel guides etc. We totally overpacked! ( Thank goodness for the walk in closet in the master bedroom !) Not even to mention how immaculate and pristine the home was inside and out! We had a plan to do some relaxing and genealogy finding and actually met a 7th cousin and had an enjoyable time with her ,as well as friends we met during our stay! The folks here in N.S are so friendly! Thank you Harvey for your help with our car issues ( our battery died and Harvey was so kind as to take my husband into town to help get a new one) My most favorite spot was the lovely dock with adirondack chairs to just sit and enjoy the water views and rolling hills! This was such the perfect spot to drive from the ferry in Yarmouth and to all the other areas we visited. Super location to everything, The Farmers Market was truly a treat! We made the mistake of only taking a week! Just not enough time, and are already missing this place so dear to our hearts so quickly! We will be back for a much longer stay in 2017, Looking forward to returning to this beautiful "Slice of Heaven" already feel homesick! Cheers Fern & Harvey for providing the ultimate retreat for a couple, a family, or any gathering people who will enjoy a home away from home with everything one needs and more! Sarah & David- Boston, MA Aug 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: That we had to return home !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2016
Thank you Sarah, for a great review, AND for being such wonderful guests and neighbours. We are awfully happy when we know that guests are enjoying the cottage, the dock, the peacefulness, the sunrise! and all the amenities, AND the beauty and attractions of our corner of Nova Scotia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShirlEC14
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just had the pleasure of staying in this cottage for our 3 weeks holiday.
It was the most well equipped property we have stayed in and we have loved every minute of our time there. It is everything we expected from a traditional Atlantic Cottage. Furthermore, it had plenty of personal touches from the owner too which gave it more of a homely feel.
We have experienced all that is Nova Scotia and its wonderful people. Fern and Harvey, the owners, live next door but they are not in the least bit intrusive. They are, however, very welcoming and on hand if there is anything you need or to offer any advice on what to do in the province.
There were bikes of a rental standard available to use and Kayaks with exclusive use of the family dock. We made excellent use of both the bikes and the kayaks.
The fire pit was well used by us too. Nothing nicer than sitting by a roaring fire after a busy day with a glass of wine, a wonderful view and the " cricket sounds " as the sun sets.
This cottage, in our opinion is extremely good value for money.
We left taking wonderful memories with us and sincerely hope to return where we can see the sun rise again at the " Rise Again Cottage "

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & View
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you and thank you for the enthusiastic review! You certainly made the most of your three weeks, you went everywhere and did everything, and we were pleased to have you as our guests. Until we meet again. Fern
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois M
Kentville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was truly over the top as far as location, and especially accommodations. It was equipped with almost everything you have in your own home except for your food. It even had spices, and condiments in the fridge. Fresh flowers and a binder with all information on the cottage/home. Fern thought of everything including beach mat, umbrella, cooler and towels. We had shampoo, conditioner and body wash in each bath area. Beds were very comfortable. The view was spectacular and nice area for biking and walking. Brochures, travel guides and loads of entertainment items. Fern is at your beck and call if you need anything. An amazing place to spend time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to narrow it but I'd say the feel of the cottage with beautiful art and bright colours.
Liked least: Just would recommend they cut down a large spruce tree to open the view even more to the gorgeous water.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2015
Thank you! I just saw your review now. Very glad that you and your sister were happy here. Fern
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing