We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage, well equipped and fitted to a...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
81 reviews
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
The Garden room
Well equipt Kitchen with all your home from home essentials
2 Fridges and a large freezer to keep all your groceries fresh
View from kitchen to garden and fields
The dining area
Lounge with sofa bed for additional 2 guests if required
Cosy wood burner for those nippy evenings
Twin bedroom
AT THE END OF THE LANE. A WARM WELCOME TO ALL OUR GUESTS AT THE CASTLE INN. EXCELLENT FOOD .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodiam, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 81 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesbron
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely cottage, well equipped and fitted to a high standard set in a secluded location with views across open country”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

As a family with very young children this was an excellent cottage in a great location with plenty to do. The cottage is finished to a high standard and the garden is spacious and secure. Set down a secluded lane the cottage is within walking distance of the spectacular Bodium Castle and the Kent and East Sussex Steam Railway. The cottage has lovely views of the countryside and even a summer house.. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and in the Pavilion .We are very lucky with it being so close to Bodiam Castle and all the walks surrounding it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal M
Tienen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Escape to the Country at its best”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our second stay in Bodiam and once again a very enjoyable experience. If you are looking to escape to the country and enjoy peace, privacy, wonderful views, delicious home-made cake (which is awaiting you upon your arrival) and walks on your doorstep, this is the place to be! Just like the first time we were sad to go, so we will definitely be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pinkdixie...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fully Equipped Cottage in lovely location”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed here for the December New Year break and what can I say.... Simply perfect! Very spacious cottage (we were 6)! We were welcomed by Sharon and found a lovely cake on our arrival! The place is clean, the place was spotless and the views were lovely - needed the change from London! The apartment is fully loaded... We even had the luxury of a slow cooker! Everything is kept to high standards and the living room is very cosy! The fire warms up everywhere quickly!
There is barely any cell reception but fully connected on wifi plus there is a house phone in case people need to reach you. Ideal place for your dog with a fenced huge garden (more like a field)! Lots of nice walking routes too!
Well done and will definitely recommend and visit again when the opportunity arises!!! Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage to your liking. We hope to welcome you back someday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantal M
Tienen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning views, great accommodation, a wonderful place to stay with dogs.”
Reviewed 10 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Staying at The Old Cricket Pavilion was a wonderful experience, one which will definitely go down in our memory books. The accommodation is modern, clean, warm and cosy and our two dogs had a great time strolling round the garden. The views are absolutely stunning, and being able to walk down to the pub and the castle is a real bonus. We felt very welcome and didn't want to leave. We have already booked another stay for 2016, so that says it all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. Look forward to seeing you again in May.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexTra...
Steyning, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perefct in everyway - Faultless”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Perfect location. Wonderfully spacious cottage. Fabulous outlook. Peaceful at a dead end road. Pub 5 min walk away. Perfect for the dogs to run in the garden and lots of nearby walks including the best castle in England at Bodiam. The cottage kitchen has every utensil you would need. Great coffee machine. All the white goods. Comfy beds. Comfy sofas. VERY efficient heating and very hot water at an instant. Solid wood fuel burner . SKY TV, DVD player.......the only thing that didn't work was the radio....not the end of the world! A huge thank you for the cake, bread, eggs and jam for brealkfast!! Awesome customer service. Terri and team were magnificent with all their communications, and keeping a well manged and spotlessly clean property

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and attention to detail of the extent of provisions in the cottage
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry about the radio. I think we will change from digital as it doesn't always get a signal.
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;