We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent once again!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
Enclosed Garden looking out onto fields
The Garden room
Well equipt Kitchen with all your home from home essentials
2 Fridges and a large freezer to keep all your groceries fresh
View from kitchen to garden and fields
The dining area
Lounge with sofa bed for additional 2 guests if required
Cosy wood burner for those nippy evenings
Twin bedroom
AT THE END OF THE LANE. A WARM WELCOME TO ALL OUR GUESTS AT THE CASTLE INN. EXCELLENT FOOD .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bodiam, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma H
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent once again!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My husband booked this as a surprise for me. We had visited for a few days in January 2012 and we loved it. On arrival we saw Terrie who came to welcome us, we had milk, bread, eggs, tea, coffee, homemade cake etc waiting for us! Lovely stuff!! We felt at home straight away, everything is thought of and our two children were very well catered for. The place is extremely clean and tidy, all of the utensils are clean. The site itself is fantastic. But what makes this place exceptional is the attention to detail and the superb service given by Mike and Terrie. Nothing is too much trouble and they genuinely care. We had a problem with the boiler, meaning we were without hot water and heating for a period of time during our stay, unfortunately this occurred over bank holiday weekend and so it took a little more time to fix. However, Mike and Terrie couldn't do enough for us to ensure we were comfortable, we were offered another cottage until the heating was fixed, and use of other bathrooms if we didn't want to leave the pavilion. However, we were happy to stay until it was fixed, and so we were brought electric heaters and piles of logs for the wood burner. Terrie and Mike kept checking in on us to make sure we were ok and whether we needed anything else. They then brought us a fantastic pork joint and bottle of wine over too. We also returned from a day out to a lovely card and recompense for the boiler breaking. Having stayed in plenty of holiday rentals, I can honestly say that the cricket pavilion is by far the best. I'm looking forward to going back again! I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone who has small children, ours are 2 years and 3 months. Mike and Terrie are a credit to the pavilion and made our stay in bodiam exceptional.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your patience with the boiler. ( Now Fixed). We look forward to you test driving one of our new holiday lets later this year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hetherp
surrey, England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing Time”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Our first visit to The Cricket Pavilion - it was perfect. We were looking for somewhere to go for a break but needed to take our cat who is on medication so couldn't be left. We found the Cricket Pavilion and so glad we did. Great weather meant that we were all able to make use of the garden including Flora who kept a close eye on the pheasants that made frequent visits. It was great to have the welcome pack including bread, eggs milk and a huge Victoria sponge cake. The property is in a superb location rural enough for peace and quiet but only a short walk from the castle and pub (great Sunday lunch). There were good places to visit nearby Battle, Batemans, Scotney Castle etc. it was so good to find somewhere where Flora settled in so well. Great to have Terri on hand to give advice and a fab welcome. We will all be back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views were wonderful.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.
We are glad that you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to you coming back. We hope Flora is doing well
Regards
Terrie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mary c
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Five star plus!”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A beautiful cottage in a lovely peaceful location with wonderful views. The Pavilion exceeded our expectations in every way, the owners have thoughtfully provided every comfort. We had exceptionally good weather and enjoyed long walks from the door every day. A very dog-friendly property with a good enclosed garden and the Castle Inn at the end of the lane serves delicious, good value food. We were really sorry to leave but are looking forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased the cottage exceeded your expectations and would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T
Angouleme
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A gem of a cottage with everything required to have a good holiday.”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is immaculately clean, comfortably furnished with all the elements needed for a splendid stay. It is well situated to explore the interesting and beautiful area with a wide variety of activities

Terrie and Mike do everything in their power to ensure that everything Is of high quality and the holiday is a great success.

There is a very generous welcome pack and we can recommend highly the meal provided on our arrival.

We have already booked for next year,

Perhaps we should keep this place secret it is so good!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome and kindness of Terri and Mike to their comfortable cottage.
Liked least: We didn't have enough time there.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nimbletim...
Brighton, England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic Bodiam!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Our second stay at the Cricket Pavilion was lovely. Fab weather to make use of the lovely garden, perfect for the dog to run about and us to laze about!
Nice touches include the bread, eggs and Victoria sponge cake on arrival, after that and a BBQ we didn't go hungry.
Great location a short walk from the castle and pub and good places nearby drive away.
We will be back (again!)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2013
many thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your return visit and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing