We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
19
18
10
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
18
10
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lodging company hot tub apres ski main floor ski resort deck condo hill elk fireplace convenience
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2015

It seems we like Fernie even better in the summer than the winter. In our experience, the snow at Fernie is either fantastic or terrible and they can get some nasty cold weather. In the summer, it is a true gem. Great hiking, biking, fly fishing, rafting etc. This time around we stayed at the Snow Creek lodge condo right on the mountain. It seemed like we booked blindly because the information for the condo and units was minimal compared to other places we have rented around the world. Photos of units were scarce. We booked S411 which is a two bedroom condo. The location was great. We looked out at the mountain facing the ski hill. The outdoor pool and hot tubs were great. BBQ area was perfect. We BBQed supper every night and could sit on the deck or the indoor common area to eat. The complex was very quiet so it seemed like we had the place to ourselves (except the first night when a group of twenty somethings went to the hot tub. We were trying to sleep with the window open, but that was the end of that idea.) It was so nice to walk to hiking trails, the aerial park etc. Another nice feature is the underground parking where we could also lock up the bikes. The little balcony was a lovely place to sit especially early in the morning. Can't beat the location.
Now for the not so great. As i mentioned, photos of the unit S411 were scarce. In fact, after seeing the place for real, I don't think the photos we saw when booking were of the actual condo. The way it was described made it sound very spacious. Not so. It was....petite. Thankfully, we are a slim family otherwise we would have had issues. The master bedroom had a queen sized bed and bathroom, but not much room to move. The second bedroom had two bunk beds. They were in so tight we could barely move to change our minds. Across the hall from the second bedroom was another bathroom. The carpet has certainly seen better days - it needs a cleaning or even better a replacement. The dishwasher really needs a fix. The detergent door would not open so dishes were coming out dirty. The cleaning staff requires some retraining - the toilet in the second bathroom was not clean when we arrived. TV and fridge were covered in a thick layer of dust. Speaking of fridge, it is very small --- just a couple steps up from a bar fridge. It does have a freezer on bottom, but certainly not a full size fridge. When we made up the pull out bed, the duvet cover had a very funky looking reddish/brown spots on one side. Possibly body fluids of one end or another??? It took a few calls, but i managed to reach a fellow who very quickly brought us a replacement cover for us to put on. That was good service.
So, bottom line....great location, but could use some updates and a good scrubbing.

Room Tip: Nice to face the mountain instead of the front side which looks at parking lot and road.
Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank bkjjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernielodgingco, Manager at Snow Creek Lodge by Fernie Lodging Co, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2015

Hi bkjjk,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad to hear there were a lot of positives from your trip and that you have discovered Fernie in summer! It really is a 4 season destination!

As our properties are privately owned we unfortunately don't have as much control over the decor and upgrades as a standard hotel. Feedback such as you provided is an excellent tool for us to discuss any deficiencies directly with owners so we can help them to keep improving their properties. This also means that each suite is unique and as such, our website is the only resource that shows each individual unit.
I'm sorry to hear that you had issues with the duvet in the sofa pullout but am pleased that this was sorted out for you efficiently and with minimal inconvenience to you. We are working on improving our staff training to ensure that a high standard is maintained across all properties year round.

We hope to see you out here again - summers in Fernie seem to be getting better each year with the amount of events and outdoor activities on offer.

Thanks

Caitlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

We stayed in a studio suite that was very comfortable, clean & modern. The view from our room was excellent, watched people going up the ski lift's with their bikes. We didn't do our homework or we would have taken hiking boots to travel the walking trails at the top of mountain. The drive to get there was very refreshing compared to driving to work each day. Had a stressfree few days soaking up the sun and if you just want to get away this place is great.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Debbra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernielodgingco, Manager at Snow Creek Lodge by Fernie Lodging Co, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2015

Hi Debbra1,
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Snow Creek Lodge. It's great to hear that the accommodation was comfortable and that you had a great view to enjoy. We agree that the ski hill is a relaxing place to spend your time, any time of the year!
We hope to see you out here again in the future - make sure you bring your hiking boots along next time!
Thanks
Caitlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2015 via mobile

Excellent slope side facilities
Close to shop and childcare also
Well maintained - cleaned well with just the right amounts of essentials - toilet rolls / dishwasher tablets etc
Hot tub as a bonus

My best compliment is we have just booked to return !

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
Thank myfamily_animals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2015

Another Trip Advisor reviewer wrote that theirs was a "hard review to write" and I have to agree. While the location of this lodge is great, it lacks in so many other areas with the most obvious fault being customer service. Customer service is always the hardest to review because while we had a bad experience with one individual, another fellow was very helpful. And if you choose to stay here, you by chance may not have any bad interactions at all.

We found the staff to be a mixed basket - one Aussie fellow at the front desk was very nice while another lady at the front was extremely rude and condescending. We had booked a mountain view room but when we arrived our room view was ground level on the parking lot. The lady at the front desk basically told us that we screwed up the booking, and if it wasn't us who got it wrong, then it must have been the booking agent RCR. She told us that her "manager is feeling generous today so we'll switch your room" but "just so you know next time" we need to get the booking right before we show up. With that kind of customer service, I can guarantee you there won't be a next time! Our jaws were left wide open from her snooty tone. The obvious solution is to take responsibility for your booking agent/vendors mistakes, if that was the case, and accommodate a room change without treating your customer like an idiot. We own a business and understand that our company is responsible for making sure our clients are happy with the end result - we don't blame vendors or tell the clients they screwed up!

While not completely their fault, the lodge was having an issue with the electronic key cards as well when we arrived. We were told to wait in our room and in 10-15 minutes (as we were wanting to leave for dinner) someone would be by with a new key. We waited for an hour with no word from anyone. Finally we contacted the front desk who told us they needed more time to resolve the issue. Computer problems happen - that's okay. But at least follow up with us as promised so we can get on with the rest of our day! I've read a few other reviews on Trip Advisor also calling into question the customer service of this lodge so you should know there may be some validity to those statements.

As far as the rooms are concerned, they are decent. Nothing special and a little dated. They don't have a daily house keeping service which was a bit surprising but I assume this may be the norm for "ski lodges" as they aren't a hotel. The main foyer of the lodge is quite nice however. Note - there is no restaurant in the lodge but it is within walking distance of the main ski village which has a couple pubs and restaurants. The main town is not within walking distance but there is a shuttle available.

Overall, for the top-dollar rates they charge, I expected a lot more from this lodge. Know that you are paying for a great ski-in/ski-out location. With all of this said, I feel that if we had better interactions with the staff, it would have completely changed my perspective of this lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernielodgingco, Manager at Snow Creek Lodge by Fernie Lodging Co, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2015

Hi Niki M,
Thanks for your review - we appreciate your feedback greatly as it allows us to improve our services. We have recently undergone some management changes and as a result are placing customer service at the top of our priorities.
We know the nature of our business means that guests haven't always booked directly with us, and us such there can be issues with communication. Our priority is always the satisfaction of our guests and our direct relationship with you so we will be working towards ensuring that any misunderstandings are dealt with efficiently, and that our staff communicate with you throughout the entire process.
If you are back in Fernie we hope you'll give us the opportunity to improve upon your last visit and demonstrate our commitment to customer service.
Thanks very much,
Caitlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2015

Hard review to write. Fernie has had a lousy season so our ski holiday on "the powder highway" was a ski holiday on the groomed and fequently icy slopes. At least it didn't rain......We arrived at midnight and knew to check in at King Fir which was all fine. The room/ condo was a little small by some standards but in fact contained all we needed and was very comfortable. We found that by turning both thermostats in the place down to 10deg celcius it was not too hot. It was certainly not cold either. The front desk at Snow Creek is not always manned but the communal area we found pleasant - as did various regulars who use it as a dining room. Gives a nice atmosphere. The rental shop downstairs was good - so good we bought new skis for next time when - perhaps - the powder will reappear.
The underground parking was warm and never completely full. Good.
The free in-room wi-fi was excellent.
Just an idea - now that hotels are offering us a choice of pillow - how about a choice of duvet? Some of us like to be cool at night while others clearly like the big fat duvet that seems to be the norm. Just a thought.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fernielodgingco, Manager at Snow Creek Lodge by Fernie Lodging Co, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2015

Hi Docski,
Thanks for providing us with feedback from your stay. The winter was admittedly a difficult one - for holiday makers and businesses in Fernie alike so we are glad to hear that the accommodation was comfortable.
Our duvets are made for a Canadian winter however, we are looking at other options for guests based on your feedback.
Thanks again for letting us know and we hope to see you back in Fernie again in the future - hopefully with better skiing conditions next time!
Kind regards,
Caitlin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews