We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
280
179
41
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
280
179
41
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boston pizza liquor store best westerns western hotels breakfast staff tim hortons hot breakfast canadian tire outdoor hot tub within walking distance the hotel is clean room was spotless standard room the main highway front desk staff en route king room
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Nice to have the Boston Pizza attached which is non-gourmet but good menu with variety and nice selection of beverages etc. Breakfast in hotel itself is standard chain breakfast powdered egg sort of fare but you get what you pay for and the rooms are nice, the hotel is very clean and the staff super friendly. Always stay here when staying in Fernie for business.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernieMountainGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for providing your positive feedback about our hotel! We appreciate your reoccurring business when you are in Fernie. Our team works hard to provide our guests with a high-level of service during their stay and we are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in town!
Shelley L’Estrange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

wonderful place. Clean and comfortable. Beautifully appointed and in a very good location. Handy to restaruants and coffee shops. Good value for this property. Lots of parking . Staff is amazing . Very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank K5297OKelaineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernieMountainGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to share you five-star experience with us! Our team is delighted to hear that your recent stay was comfortable. We always want to provide our guests with a clean room and an elevated level of service to make your stay that much better. From complimentary breakfast to free wi-fi, we have all you need for your getaway on property, so all you have to do is relax and enjoy yourself. Next time you are in Fernie, we hope you will make us your home away from home again!
Shelley L’Estrange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We found all the staff, including housekeeping, to be very friendly and helpful during our stay. Whenever we had questions or requests, nothing was too much trouble.

The room was very comfortable and clean. The bed was slightly too soft and you tended to roll towards the middle of the bed! Otherwise everything else was perfect. We loved having the separate sitting room too. The bathroom also had a double walk-in shower which was very invigorating.

The best part of this stay was the 'free' breakfast. We appreciated having a breakfast with proper crockery and cutlery, rather than the usual paper and plastic offerings at many other Best Westerns. The hot breakfast items were also good quality and varied.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank UkDebs62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernieMountainGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

We believe our staff is some of the friendliest in the hospitality industry! At our hotel, we believe in making everyone feel right at home the moment they walk through our front doors. In addition to our customer service, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and cutlery. We appreciate you taking the time to provide such a thorough and positive review about our hotel. I am glad that you found your room to be above satisfactory and hope you will consider staying with us again!
Shelley L’Estrange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The experience was all good, we have been to Fernie many a time, first time at this hotel. High levels of service, hotel has newer appearance even though it was built in 2000 (as per plaque at entrance). Impressive lobby, very high levels of service. Medium sized indoor and outdoor hot pools and indoor pool. I cannot find much if anything to complain about so five stars it is. We did go just after Labour Day and not at a busy time as that is when we like to travel, having said that:
Location: probably subjective as to what you are looking for. The hotel is just off a fairly busy highway as are many of the Fernie hotels. We had a room at the back of the building ( received a free upgrade) complete with kitchenette and fireplace, thus for us potential highway noise was not an issue. A supermarket, Starbucks, Tim Hortons, McDonalds, liquor store very close and located in the same parking area as the hotel. Didn't try it personally but I think walking to the historic downtown would be a bit of a hike but doable for some people I am sure.
Breakfast- I think the operative word is complimentary. I agree not fine dining but a cut above other "free" breakfasts. Good variety of hot and cold items, people behind the counter to help if necessary, otherwise self serve. Totally adequate for our purposes.
Like other mountain areas in the West this year Fernie was smokey from wildfires ( no fires in Fernie). However, we knew that, Calgary where we live was smokey too, we are not outdoors types and picked our spots, restaurants and shops that we frequent when in Fernie. The indoors facilities are good and we thus did not have to spend a lot of time outdoors. Having said that, there was still a lot of outdoors activities going on.
Overall a very good experience and we will be back.



Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank james19501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernieMountainGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your 5-star experience with us! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your thorough feedback and insights on our property. Our team hopes that you enjoyed the various amenities we offer throughout the property, like our pool and hot tub. The hotel rooms are designed to make our guests feel comfortable and relaxed during their stay. Our spacious rooms paired with our elevated level of service, make for an amazing stay. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Fernie!
Shelley L’Estrange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Very clean and well maintained hotel in the mountain town of Fernie. Better than usual breakfast for this type of hotel. It is close to the downtown area and near a Starbucks and a pizza restaurant. Good for families.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob and Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FernieMountainGM, General Manager at Best Western Plus Fernie Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Our complimentary breakfast is for all of our guests to enjoy every morning and we are glad that it exceeded your expectations. I hope that you had a chance to experience some of the other various amenities we offer on-site, like our free wi-fi and relaxing hot tub. Our team hopes to see you back in Fernie again soon!
Shelley L’Estrange
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews