We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a quaint, place with a beautiful view!”
Review of Radium Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Radium Chalet
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Radium Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2017

We stayed in Unit 321, a Third Floor Family Suite. It was perfect for our daughter, son and us. They used the beds in the loft - reached by a cute, metal, spiral staircase. They left their luggage on the main floor as it would have been difficult to carry it up the winding, narrow staircase. We left the bathroom light on at night if they had to use the bathroom - it allowed adequate lighting to safely descend the spiral staircase. There was a nice kitchen to use and a fireplace. The free breakfast area had a very limited seating. Food selection was excellent. Parking was tight. The Chalet is located high on a hill, and the view was wonderful - although, our room did not face it. We were fortunate to see 3 big horn sheep right next to the road as we departed for the Hot Springs! It was a delightful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sandyBrowerville_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emelisa B, Manager at Radium Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Hi Sandy , it was nice to hear that you really enjoyed every detailed thing in our place. Family room is designed for family and group of friends to have a spacious place at affordable price plus amazing view. Thank you and hopefully we can see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017

we had a corner 1st floor room with 2 balconies-the views were very nice. the room layout is enter bedroom, (bathroom off bedroom), to narrow kitchenette, to den area with fireplace, tv, futon, & table for 2. with a family of 4 it could be snug moving back & forth in the room. you could tell they have made many upgrades & hopefully they are not finished (new mattress & bed but dated futon & dinette table). breakfast was interesting--normal continental fare, except jams, butter, milk, etc. were all more communal (the large economy size & were just open for guests to all share). for a one night stop, it suited our needs but not sure if we would stop there again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank tarheelUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here on May long weekend. When we got to our room we immediately noticed it was filthy! Spider webs everywhere dirt on the door and baseboards, water stains on the walls and roof. Since it was may long there was nowhere else to stay so we sucked it up and complained when we went to leave! They said a contractor had been staying in the room so that is why it wasn't in very good shape. We asked don't you check rooms before new people stay in the room. The front desk lady replied "we trust our cleaning team." After some back and forth and my boyfriend and her going to look at the room she agreed on giving us a full refund for the weekend. Which was awesome! 3 days after we got home we noticed they charged us again for 1 night. We called and said wtf and they said sorry communication error as English wasn't there first language! We tried to ask them to refund my card again and he said he would send us vouchers for future stay with them. We didn't really want this as we never wanted to stay here again after all this. We agreed on it anyways. We have still not seen any vouchers in over a month! Why they thought they could recharge my card 3 days after departing after we had agreed on a refund is beyond me!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerry T, Owner at Radium Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

I personally inspected the room after Lisa and her boyfriend checked out. The spider web in question was small and up very high, there was a misplaced piece of trim, and light scuffing on the baseboards, all which are were minor thing- but still not up to the standard we would like to achieve. During the weekend we had offered to fix the problems and offered a discount.

My understanding is that during the stay, this couple demanded a full refund for the room or else they threatened to leave a bad review. There was miscommunication and a full refund for two nights was initially issued, when a maximum of one night or future stay voucher should have been offered.

It is great that consumers have a lot of power with the ability to leave reviews, and great that other consumers can get a sense of the quality, service and value of a place based on those reviews. But it is not acceptable for guests to try to hold a business hostage and threaten to leave bad reviews unless they get things for FREE on a long weekend.

I spoke with the boyfriend to explain that the card one file had been charged for one night and that for a busy weekend when the property is at 100% occupancy and although there were a few minor problems with the room, it was difficult for us to justify refunding two full nights. Obviously these issues in question were not serious enough for them to leave early and try to find accommodation else where. He was not happy to be charged for even one night, but when I offered a future night's stay, he countered and negotiated to try to get two nights stay- which I agreed to on the condition that it was not for a week end. It was my intention to send out the vouchers soon, but have been busy and did not get to it yet. I was really hoping to impress them when they stayed again, and rather then this review expected a reminder for not getting the vouchers out right away.





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Dont let the outside fool you. This hotel looks a bit dated outside but the rooms have/are being renovated. The room was layed our so you come into the bedroom where there is a bathroom attactched. Walk through a small hall with a mini kitchen into a living room with a fire place and sectional couch. Also a balcony with a nice view and chairs. The room was nicely done and the only issue was the shower tap was put on backwards. Breakfast was bagles and toaster waffles. It rained most of our trip so the covered balcony was very nice.
Keep in mind this place is up a steep hill so you will need to drive wherever you need to go.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Great spot perched atop a hillside looking at a beautiful mountain valley. The rooms are neat and tidy, looks like recent upgrades to paint and carpet. The grounds could really use some attention, looking down from patio you see all kinds of garbage and construction waste on the hillside...Takes away from amazing views. the lobby is very dated and the free breakfast,, well I'll say not so good!! toast, jam, hard boiled egg and gas station donuts..but it was not the worst i've ever had.. The important parts are the room.. nice set up will small kitchen area.. fireplace sofa bed and queen bed. Overall great value for price... a little effort to improve the grounds would give it another star in my books.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank trevg446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Radium Hot Springs hotels
0.9 km away
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn Radium Hot Springs
Best Western Plus Prestige Inn R...
#5 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
446 reviews
1.1 km away
Village Country Inn
Village Country Inn
#10 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
120 reviews
1.1 km away
Radium Park Lodge
Radium Park Lodge
#21 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Bighorn Meadows Resort
Bighorn Meadows Resort
#6 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
318 reviews
1.1 km away
Crystal Springs Motel
Crystal Springs Motel
#2 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
389 reviews
0.4 km away
Gateway Motel
Gateway Motel
#1 of 23 in Radium Hot Springs
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radium Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radium Chalet

Address: 5063 Madsen Road, Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia V0A 1M0, Canada (Formerly Chalet Europe)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Radium Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Radium Hot Springs
Price Range: AU$100 - AU$175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Radium Chalet 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our piece of the mountains lets you overlook the Village of Radium, the Purcell Mountains, and the Columbia Wetlands - truly peaceful. 16 junior suites featuring separate bedroom (queen bed) and living room (pull out couch), and one 6 person family room (featuring a bedroom, loft, and living room). All of our rooms feature incredible views, complimentary movie channels, premium in-room coffee, all-natural Rocky Mountain soap and shampoo, fireplaces in every room, unlimited access to our top of the line fitness centre, hot tub, and sauna. Gateway to the Columbia Valley, the Radium Chalet is your tasteful quality accommodation perched above the village of Radium Hot Springs, nestled against the Rocky Mountains and bordering Kootenay National Park. Only two minutes off the main highway, Radium Chalet is the perfect 'base camp' for all of your adventures- whether it is white water rafting, golfing, skiing or simply exploring Lake Windermere or the wonderful shops and farmer's markets of Invermere. You make the memories, we'll supply the place to rest. Life is good on top! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Radium Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Europe Motel
Hotel Chalet Europe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing