We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful,beautiful,memorable!!!”
Review of Markham House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Markham House
Ranked #13 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We spent three lovely nights with Sally+ Lyall. They were the best hosts we've encountered in many years. Along with top flight accomodations and exceptional breakfast, they were quite lovely. Very helpful in regards to planning our outings and offering precise directions. We were very pleased with the recommendations to various sights and eateries. The experience at MARKHAM HOUSE will definitly be a long and lasting special memory for Kathy and myself, many thanks to Sally+ Lyall

Room Tip: all rooms enjoy the peaceful quiet, we loved the Garden Suite,very roomy and comfortable.Nice soaker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

My husband and I just got back from our third stay at the Honeysuckle Cottage and it was just as relaxing and perfect as our previous stays. The cottage is our little home away from home and we could not ask for better hosts. Sally and Lyall are so accommodating and the breakfasts are truly the best we have had! The cottage is so comfortable and it is the most amazing place to get away from it all and relax. The private hot tub is an amazing place to sit back and enjoy a great book. We can not wait to plan our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We just had the most relaxing anniversary stay at the cottage. Cozy, comfortable and spacious it had everything we needed. I was impressed but not surprised to see that every detail was thought through and prepared for the guests to enjoy.

Set of lovely ( quality) wine glasses for indoors and a set of plastic ones for the hot tub. Even the plastic ones were bright and clear not that it matters much but I like to have nice wine out of a nice glass. Anyway a small matter but a nice touch I thought.
Fire wood was dry and perfectly setup for us to start the wood stove which kept us warm all night with a very nice heat.
Cottage has a nice selection of movies DVD's and VHS with something for everyone.
Best of all breakfast was absolutely wonderful. Lyall, our gracious host, brought us a basket of fresh croissants, yogurt, granola, berry jams, and then he offered us hot breakfast which we accepted not realizing how full we were going to get. However it was worth it, West Coast style Bennies (poached egg , smoked salmon on an english muffin, potatoes and mushrooms with fresh herbs) who can resist that.

I would wholeheartedly recommend this lovely place to anyone looking for a cottage getaway. We live here in the area and did not have the time to plan anything big but this was a perfect getaway close to home. We enjoyed every bit and it felt like being away without having to travel far.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreiFedorov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Spend two night at this B&B and loved it! It's a beautiful house and the breakfasts were amazing. Also, they built a little nook for a nice secluded hot tub outside.
It was a little outside of Sooke, so if you want to be in the "downtown" area, then you do need to drive. On a good note, the location is a tiny bit closer to Victoria and VERY close to the 17 Mile Pub, which is a great place for dinner/beers.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psu_h2o_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Wow! What a great experience. Lyall and Sally are very gracious hosts and what an amazing breakfast. It was like a hotel experience, yet all the benefits of a B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sooke hotels
18.9 km away
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#3 of 24 in Sooke
106 reviews
8.9 km away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
9.2 km away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 km away
Salty Towers Oceanfront Cottages
9.1 km away
Sooke Harbour Resort and Marina
2 km away
Moonlit Cove B&B
Moonlit Cove B&B
#8 of 24 in Sooke
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markham House

Address: 1775 Connie Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1C8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range: $98 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Markham House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded on 10 acres, only 35 minutes from Downtown Victoria, B.C. Close to beaches, parks and hiking trails. Extensive Gardens and Forest. King, Queen and Twin beds. Honeysuckle cottage on the edge of our woods is a favorite for romantics. Cable, DVD, Stereo, Telephone, WiFi in all rooms. Elegant breakfast served at the time of your choice in the main dining room or, at the cottage for cottage guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Markham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markham House Sooke, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing