We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Moonlit Cove B&B(Sooke)(Great Value!)
USD 155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 213
USD 178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 267
USD 257
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 285
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salty Towers Oceanfront Cottages(Sooke)(Great Value!)
USD 148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
3
6
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
6
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at this most relaxing of locations for two nights, but if we had been more flexible with work would have changed our return tickets and extended our stay. The hosts warm welcome and delicious fresh bread and muffins set the tone. Sit on the absolutely tranquil balcony and watch the humming birds with a backdrop of the Juan de Fuca Strait and Olympic Mountains. The location is so peaceful that it refreshes the soul. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are two rooms, both excellent and very large for the price. Simply, if you want more space or are planning to stay for a week, book the bigger of the two. If you are stopping for a couple of days and want to wake up over-looking the strait, book the smaller one.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heronsrest, Owner at Heron's Rest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. The hummingbirds are very active right now and we haven't seen so many at our feeders and flying about in the gardens as this year. It's relaxing just to sit and watch them flit about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Virginia and Don made our stay very enjoyable, they go out of their way.

Great fresh baked bread and muffins make this place enjoyable, along with a well-stocked fridge.

Great views of the Strait and we saw a deer and hummingbirds in the backyard. Lots of blackberries when we were there.

Good drives and hikes are close at hand.

I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Heron's Nest is for couples, the Heron's Roost has more room for families. There are only two rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshua b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heronsrest, Owner at Heron's Rest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay! We apparently make our garden comfortable for the wildlife too! Glad you saw our resident buck who helps trim the vegetation for us. The herons (could be the same heron) have been spending a lot of time flying past in the evening lately and even landed on our roof once again.

Because of guest requests, the Heron's Nest now has a one burner hot plate that can be used for simple cooking needs out on the deck in addition to the BBQ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and I spent one night there. What a wonderful rustic hideaway! The room was cozy, with a lot of little surprise touches. Breakfast in the room was great! Loved the homebaked muffins and bread. Loved the view of the water. Would recommend for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picton64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed here for two nights and it was fantastic so nice having the balcony to sit out on for meals. Breakfast was amazing plenty to keep you going, we espcially loved the homeade bread! There is a BBQ available to use which was handy as any restaurants are a drive away.

Very relaxing and enjoyed watching the hummingbirds in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ima_hazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We spend a night in the Heron's nest during our holiday in Canada, The room was very big and cozy. Moreover a very good breakfast with homemade muffins and bread was provided. It was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews