We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and Ecletic and Great Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sooke
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heron's Rest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed for two nights and was very happy with the accommodations. The breakfast is "on your own" with stuff provided in the small kitchen in your room which we like sometimes. Virginia & Don are very gracious hosts and met our every need. Driveway a bit steep and parking is a bit tight, we chose to back down into the parking spot from the road. Road is never busy so not a problem. Will definitely stay here again. Perfect!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms in this B & B. Did not see the bigger one. The smaller one we stayed...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank usdeputysurveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for Heron's Rest Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at this most relaxing of locations for two nights, but if we had been more flexible with work would have changed our return tickets and extended our stay. The hosts warm welcome and delicious fresh bread and muffins set the tone. Sit on the absolutely tranquil balcony and watch the humming birds with a backdrop of the Juan de Fuca Strait and Olympic Mountains. The location is so peaceful that it refreshes the soul. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are two rooms, both excellent and very large for the price. Simply, if you want more space or...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heronsrest, Owner at Heron's Rest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. The hummingbirds are very active right now and we haven't seen so many at our feeders and flying about in the gardens as this year. It's relaxing just to sit and watch them flit about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Virginia and Don made our stay very enjoyable, they go out of their way.

Great fresh baked bread and muffins make this place enjoyable, along with a well-stocked fridge.

Great views of the Strait and we saw a deer and hummingbirds in the backyard. Lots of blackberries when we were there.

Good drives and hikes are close at hand.

I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The Heron's Nest is for couples, the Heron's Roost has more room for families. There are onl...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joshua b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heronsrest, Owner at Heron's Rest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed your stay! We apparently make our garden comfortable for the wildlife too! Glad you saw our resident buck who helps trim the vegetation for us. The herons (could be the same heron) have been spending a lot of time flying past in the evening lately and even landed on our roof once again.

Because of guest requests, the Heron's Nest now has a one burner hot plate that can be used for simple cooking needs out on the deck in addition to the BBQ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and I spent one night there. What a wonderful rustic hideaway! The room was cozy, with a lot of little surprise touches. Breakfast in the room was great! Loved the homebaked muffins and bread. Loved the view of the water. Would recommend for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picton64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed here for two nights and it was fantastic so nice having the balcony to sit out on for meals. Breakfast was amazing plenty to keep you going, we espcially loved the homeade bread! There is a BBQ available to use which was handy as any restaurants are a drive away.

Very relaxing and enjoyed watching the hummingbirds in the evening.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ima_hazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sooke hotels
0.0 km away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
0.0 km away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
0.0 km away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Straitview Ridge B&B
Straitview Ridge B&B
#5 of 24 in Sooke
29 reviews
0.0 km away
Gordon's Beach Farmstay B & B
0.0 km away
Salty Towers Oceanfront Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Sooke

Been to Heron's Rest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heron's Rest Bed & Breakfast

Address: Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1H9, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Hotel Class:3 star — Heron's Rest Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Heron's Rest Bed & Breakfast Sooke, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing