We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holy Crap what a dive!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Resort & Campground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Resort & Campground
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Holy Crap what a dive!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

I booked this resort in advance because of their availablity to accomodate a family of five. I thought at the time it was a bit pricy but we wanted to ensure we had appropriate accomodations. When we arrived the front end staff was very nice and accomodating, we initially thought the room was great. It was two bedroom condo style, lots of room for our three teenage boys.
It didn't take long to discover just how run down this place was. The room smelled like moldy bread, the paint on the walls & stair rails was peeling very badly, the fan in the bathroom never shut off and wasn't barely strong enough to move even the slightest amount of moisture from the room. Even though we had a non smoking room, there were at least 6 other guests outside their rooms with lawn chairs and ashtrays smoking like chimney's immediately adjacent to our room, we had to walk through all that just to get to our door. Day turns to night and we discovered as we attempted to go to bed the comforter and sheets in the rooms were covered in stains & old paint, the carpeted floor was covered in old nacho chip crumbs. We immediately went to the front desk and requested they change the bedding, they did begrudgingly. The owner kept saying "it's only dryed paint, no big deal" Took pictures of the mysterious brown stains on the mattress?? We soon discovered the walls are paper thin, no fire wall and the young toddler next door screamed all night off and on, the sound was like he was right there in the same room with us, didn't get a whole lot of sleep. the water slide wasn't available because it was raining??? and of course if you want to play mini golf or use the water slide it costs extra, on top of the already over priced room rates. Don't fall into the same trap we did and believe the advertising, For the age, condition and cost of this motel, i wouldn't recommend it to anyone!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank birniefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    33
    16
    9
    10
See reviews for
80
19
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Went back to the greatest resort ever for our 4th family vacation. The cabins are fantastic, clean and have everything you need. The staff are excellent and most helpful. It is a great family atmostphere, a place kids can have a grand time, waterslides, pools minigolf etc. We will definately be going back year after year as we love this place and highly recommend it to all, you can't find better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebrab1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed at Riverside the July 1st weekend and had a fantastic time! There was a family reunion going on at the resort and I understand they return every second year. I certainly know why - now that we have also had the wonderful Riverside Resort experience! The staff - from the front desk to the cleaners are friendly and personable. An outstanding staff member is Deb! Even when busy on the phone she always acknowledges you with a smile and a nod when you come through the door. There is a great store with a good selection of merchandise, especially candies and ice cream for the big and little kids!! Fresh coffee was ready every morning when I went to the office/store with cream to use as well!! Lots of washers and dryers if needed- which I am sure is very much appreciated by many parents.
We will certainly be back and we would highly recommend this as an all round place to come. There are two pools with waterslides; miniature golf and a playground. A quick 5 minute walk and you are at a lovely beach. I would recommend beach shoes as it is quite rocky, but great for a walk.
Pets are allowed at the resort, but all were on leashes and our little puppy had as great a weekend as we did!
Thank you everyone at Riverside Resort for a wonderful long weekend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hjg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

stayed for the winter because I was there in the summer and loved the place. Everything was just what we wanted - everything - super place with super staff - couldn`t ask for anything better.
Everything you need -- groceries, pop, toys, newspapers, candy (got to have that) cigs, some supplies of this, that and a bit of everything. If they don`t have it they`re more than willing to tell you where to get it.
The accommidation is old and well kept -- makes you feel at home -- comfortable, clean, tidy, bright --- just what we needed -- perfect.
Great place for all walks of life -- young, old and all the rest. --- even dogs and cats
Coming back again and again and again for sure

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bill707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanaimo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Resort this past Feb. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin with fireplace. The cabin was a stand alone unit and very very clean. My friends and I had a blast for sure. The cabin contains everything you would need to prepare a meal. The one thing it was lacking was a large roasting pan. I went to the office and asked and they had one in the back which they lent to me. I found the staff very helpful, and the whole setting of resort very calm and peaceful. The staff were telling me they are very popular during summer for family reunions. I can see why... They have 2 pools,a big waterslide and small slide, 18 hole mini golf and they were only 10 min walk from beach....Does it get any better than that?? . They are all about the families and stuff during summer and during the winter more laid back. Still an awesome place for a get away.. Would I reccomend "YOU BETCHA"

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zzbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
12.3 km away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.2 km away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.8 km away
Shorewater Resort
Shorewater Resort
#3 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#8 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
12.9 km away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
0.8 km away
Buena Vista by the Sea
Buena Vista by the Sea
#4 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Resort & Campground

Property: Riverside Resort & Campground
Address: 3506 West Island Highway, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Price range (per night): $96 - $213
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverside Resort & Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riverside Resort & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Resort And Campground Hotel Qualicum Beach
Riverside Resort & Campground Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing