We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”
Review of Qualicum Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Qualicum Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Burnaby, British Columbia Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice place to stay”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

On October 14 & 15th I stayed at the Old Dutch Inn in Qualicum Beach, I was attending a wedding at the Qualicum Beach Golf Club and this hotel was right across the street. You could walk to it and didn't have to worry about having a few drinks. It has everything a restaurant, swimming pool, hot tub, no elevator because it is only 2 levels. It is located right across the street from the beach, if you get an ocean view room, the view is spectacular especially when the sun is going down. It is also not to far from the town centre where you pick up something that you might not find anywhere else. A lot of little interesting stores, good restaurants. They told me they were going to start renovating the hotel in January 2012. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    65
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
88
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

On arrival for the Thanksgiving Buffet it was nice to be greeted and shown our table by new manager Kevin, and notice the window blind had been lowered by our table to block out the afternoon sun.

The selection and quality of the salad and hot food was wonderful, and the service was excellent.

However, to offer a little constructive criticism, if the plates had been warmed our food would have stayed hotter. By the time we went through the buffet line and back to our table the food had cooled considerably.

Also, we were a little disappointed with the dessert table, where the Sticky Toffee Pudding appeared dried out, with no heat under it, and there could have been a better way to present the whipping cream than a can of Cool Whip for topping. And one other small point, we assumed coffee would have been included in the price.

But overall it was a very pleasant experience, and a great improvement on the dining room standard of the past. As a local, I have witnessed the sad demise of this hotel in recent years, and look forward to having the Old Dutch Inn "back on the map", which I'm confident Kevin will achieve, given his experience and enthusiasm.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay, a great value for the price. Pool and hot tub were very clean as were the change rooms. The view from our room was beautiful and the room itself was clean, comfortable and all we could have expected. Breakfast in the dining room was very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was very nice. The breakfast wasent the best. I ordered the French toast and it was really soggy and had no flavor. I had to drench it in maple syrup. And i still wasn't satisfied.
hotel service was great. I would reccomed the hotel but not the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The decor in this hotel desperately needs an update. At one time I am sure it looked quaint, but now it looks tired and worn. The rooms are quite large, which was nice, but the bathroom was fairly small. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. It looked like they had a decent swimming pool, although I didn't have time to check it out. I also liked the balcony which had an ocean view. My breakfast in the restaurant was quite good, although I thought service was a little slow and disorganized considering there weren't very many people to be served. Personally, I just couldn't get over the old-looking appearance of the room. I wouldn't recommend it to a friend unless they were just looking for a cheap, decent room.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor room on the east side of the hotel to get an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
0.4 km away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
13.0 km away
Oceanside Village Resort
Oceanside Village Resort
#2 of 13 in Parksville
518 reviews
9.1 km away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
2.4 km away
Buena Vista by the Sea
Buena Vista by the Sea
#4 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
126 reviews
13.9 km away
Ocean Sands Resort
Ocean Sands Resort
#1 of 13 in Parksville
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qualicum Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qualicum Beach Inn

Property: Qualicum Beach Inn
Address: 2690 Island Hwy W, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 1G8, Canada (Formerly Old Dutch Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Qualicum Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Qualicum Beach
Price range (per night): $240 - $344
Hotel Class:3 star — Qualicum Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new Qualicum Beach Inn is a boutique hotel featuring 32 well appointed luxurious guestrooms. Located just 25 metres from the beach in the beautiful town of Qualicum Beach, panoramic views and amazing sunsets across the Georgia Straits to Denman, Hornby & Lasqueti Islands with the Mainland Coastal mountain range in the distance. Indoor heated pool with whirlpool and cedar plank dry sauna available to guests from 6am to 10pm. Try our C-View restaurant with contemporary cuisine from 7am to 10pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Qualicum Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Dutch Hotel Qualicum Beach
Qualicum Beach Inn Vancouver Island, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing