We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riviere-du-Loup & Saint-Simeon Ferry
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely scenic convenient trip.

Staff very professional and friendly....Specatacular ride across St. Lawrence....saw 3 whales on... read more

Reviewed 17 September 2018
Mary beth C
,
Saint John
nice trip

we crossed the Saint Laurent river with our car. The ferry was late but boarding was smooth and... read more

Reviewed 1 July 2018
rafchik01
,
Holon, Israel
Read all 179 reviews
  
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
38
46
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
46
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quebec city st lawrence gift shop beluga whales north side free wifi return trip loading and unloading the river nice ride beautiful trip seating inside small restaurant scheduled departure eating breakfast hour crossing day trip
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018 via mobile

We took the ferry on a gorgeous day me, my firend and Woody (my dog). We had great views and smooth ride across the river. Our puppy had a great time mingling, and passengers and crew didn’t seem to mind but we had to stay on the deck with him. The views of the St. Lawrence as we drove to La Malbaie. Total cost one way was 85$ and 65 min on and off included.

Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Staff very professional and friendly....Specatacular ride across St. Lawrence....saw 3 whales on transfer this am!

Thank Mary beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

On a last minute whim, we decided to take the ferry on a gorgeous day. What great views, including a beluga glimpse. Only when we got back in the car with our dog did we see a sign saying dogs must be crated during the trip. Our puppy had a great time mingling, and passengers and crew didn’t seem to mind. And the views of the St. Lawrence as we drove to Quebec City were much nicer than what we remember from the southern shore. Total cost one way was C$81, and we got a senior discount

Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

It’s a nice ride in the summer months. Only about an hour cruise plus load and unload. Not much of a time saver for me to get to Jonquiere but saved me two hours of driving return. I’d rather watch the sunset and Belugas from a ferry for two hours than be driving on the highway. Nice staff. Food is OK too...

Thank dhillca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Nice ferry ride from San Simeon. Very efficient moving cars on and off. Biggest problem I found was no reservations which meant you had to get there at least 2 hours before boarding for a one hour trip..everyone involved with the operation though was very friendly.

3  Thank LennyBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Very well organized - clean and professional. You don’t get up close to the whales however should you give up cold beer and clean washrooms for a Zodiac; then be my guest

Thank KevinKim17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

We had a great crossing with all of the staff very helpful. Once we were part way across we began to see beluga whales...what a treat and well worth the cost for the 4 of us and the vehicle. Get there about 90 minutes ahead of time to ensure that you can get your vehicle on the ferry.

3  Thank 2havefun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

we crossed the Saint Laurent river with our car. The ferry was late but boarding was smooth and efficient. We enjoyed the one hour and something trip. River sail is a special and enjoyable part of the trip.

Thank rafchik01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Just a response to the comment about the Whoa white whales.
They are the St Lawrence Beluga whales, highly endangered and protected. they live in this area all year round and are isolated from the ones in the artic. There are very few left. Growing up in the summers in just outside Riviere du Loup in the 1969s we used to see them all the time just off shore and could hear them blow as they breathed. Now we are lucky to see them at all as they pass by as their numbers have declined.

Thank lindsay203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Nice way to cross from rivière du loup to st Simeon. Seats available outside and since it’s still cold indoors also. Not much snacks available though so better eat before.

Thank shrimpsandsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews