We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
29
9
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
9
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno elevatorloved this hotelchoice hotelskeurig coffee makerdowntown orilliahot itemsking bedrooms are smalllocation is greatbeds were very comfortablestayed here for one nightmain floorwithin walking distancewould definitely stay here againcomplimentary breakfastfionnlobby
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We visited for a local concert. The hotel has been renovated and is clean. Rooms are decent. The staff is very friendly. A simple buffet breakfast is included. They have pet friendly rooms upon request.
There is no elevator currently so those who may have difficulty getting luggage upstairs should ask for help.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Calum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Public Relations Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience in our clean and renovated rooms. Our convenient location to the downtown shops and Casino Rama, make us the perfect ideal choice to stay when attending a concert.

We do offer pet friendly rooms in our lower level rooms for our furry loved ones to travel with you. We currently do not have an elevator but we do offer a porter service to assist you to your room.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

My wife and I were in Orillia for a concert at the casino. This hotel is only a ten minute (maybe less) drive and is FAR cheaper than staying at the casino hotel. The hotel was recently renovated. The rooms are modern and clean. The bathroom is particularly nice. There isn't much parking but they do have an overflow lot. There is also a Fionn McCool's attached to the hotel if you need a place to eat. I would definitely stay here again for a concert or casino visit.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MarcS2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your experience in our clean and renovated rooms. We are conveniently located in downtown Orillia close to local shops, bakeries, and Restaurants. Our attached restaurant Fionn MacCool's has delicious food. Our convenient location to Casino Rama makes the Champlain Waterfront Hotel the perfect ideal choice to stay when attending a concert. A 15 drive or a convenient concert night shuttle to the venue. It is definitely "worth the stay".

We appreciate your comments and we hope you will join us again. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the Champlain Hotel when my water pump broke at home. I'm so glad this is the place I chose to stay. The staff are fantastic, friendly and extremely accommodating. The hotel has everything I look for in a place to stay. There's a cute fitness centre which is fantastic. Fionn MacCools, an amazing restaurant, is right next door. Free breakfast with delicious breakfast sandwiches. Lastly the room is cozy and very clean. The bed is like sleeping on a cloud & the shower is a dream. I will definitely recommend this hotel to everyone and anyone looking for accommodations for business, leisure, etc. I travel often and was amazed that the best hotel I've ever stayed in was located right in my home town.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank _spencer_anne_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your recent stay at the Champlain Waterfront Hotel. We are so pleased we could be available for your during your water issues.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We were two couples in Orillia for a show and we stayed at the Champlain on a Friday night. It's easy to sum up our experience: friendly and welcoming staff; clean, comfortable and updated room; convenient location.

The rooms are small and there is no elevator but neither of these things would prevent us from returning.

It was nice to have a relatively short drive to the show. We were also told that there was a shuttle option which we did not opt for. The hotel is close to a number of restaurants which we appreciated because we had a small window to have dinner and get to the show.

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor if the stairs are a problem.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayKay1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at the Champlain Waterfront Hotel. It was our pleasure to provide you a comfortable stay.

We are conveniently located to many restaurants, from fine dining to fast service.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

Stayed here for work for twenty one days. Staff was very accommodating while working nights. Put me in a quiet corner room with. Asking when I get up in the afternoon if I need any of the complementary breakfast.
The room is very clean and well laid out. The housekeepers do a very good job and accommodate with the nights. Saving to do the room when I get up. The curtains are very good for blocking out the window for sleeping in the daytime.
The hotel common areas are very clean and well laid out. Only three floors, but no elevator. The complementary coffee and breakfast are very good compared to most complementary breakfast at other hotels.
The location is central and within walking distance to any restaurant or grocery stores or shops downtown.
I would gladly recommend the hotel and would stay here anytime when in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Service
1  Thank Crocmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M, Front Office Manager at The Champlain Waterfront Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

It has been a pleasure having you stay with us and we enjoyed providing excellent service for you and we enjoyed our delicious treats from you.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews