We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great”
Review of 1000 Curry

1000 Curry
Ranked #2 of 56 Restaurants in Gananoque
Price range: USD 2 - USD 13
Description: Fresh, authentic Indian cuisine made to order. Phone orders are appreciated to allow us time to prepare your meal to your tastes.
Restaurant details
Description: Fresh, authentic Indian cuisine made to order. Phone orders are appreciated to allow us time to prepare your meal to your tastes.
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

I quite enjoyed our meal from 1000 Curry. The staff were super friendly and helpful with helping us decide what to order.
This is a takeout only and they have no indoor seating so keep that in mind but the food is well worth taking it back to your hotel room and eating it there :)
The butter chicken was fantastic and the basmati rice was so yummy.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ReganP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

this place is the classic mom and pop indian food shop run by community centric owners. the curries are excellent and they make everything to order so it might take a little longer than the average fast food place but the wait is worth it. great food, albeit on the $$ side but also worth it! best indian food in the region for sure.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 1000islandsdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

I have to say I am sad that it took me so long to try 1000 Islands Curry!
The food we had was absolutely fabulous and the service from the friendly staff made the visit even better.

Take out joint with clean and friendly desk/order area. Living local we took it home, but there is outdoor area to enjoy as well.
The staff made my feel at home instantly, and helped with menu suggestions, since the cuisine is fairly new to us.

Can NOT wait to go back!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank BrentS818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

The only thing memorable about this place is the smell of spices that hasn’t left our clothes! The place can be renamed as 1000 oils. The food was a disappointment to say the least. We had ordered food for four. Paneer Tikka masala and Chicken Dopyaza both were very oily the chicken in the latter was hard. We also had chicken kebab which was very tough and hard. The chicken biryani was no different, very oily and the pieces of chicken were hard. The naans were not naans, they were some kind of ready made pita bread. This review may seem harsh, but ,well it is what we felt!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Nafisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, Owner at 1000 Curry, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hello Nafisa,
Thanks for the feedback and taking valuable time to review us.
GOOD or BAD review we should now to make improvement for our-self.
since this the the FIRST ONE BUBBLE REVIEW WE HAVE RECEIVED, I have done extensive research to see HOW WAS THIS POSSIBLE!!
Looking at your profile made it clear to me that something seemed fishy, I am not calming that My operation is perfect and we don't make any mistake but the dishes you mentioned in your review WE DON"T HAVE THEM IN THE MENU!!! Specially the "Paneer Tikka masala"
The Chicken Dopyaza is a stir fried dish which requires a decent amount of oil.
If you are concern about the smell from your cloth, they are because we roast and grind fresh spices in house and they are strong, you might want to rinse your cloth in Vinegar water to get rid the aroma of the spices.
I would recommend you to stop by and revisit us so we can prepare dishes as per your specification to make you happy and like my other 124 Reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed nearby and ate there both days of our vacation. The food was fantastic...the best Indian food!!! We ordered the chicken madras and veggie samosas. The restaurant is family owned and operated and just lovely and friendly people. Laura, Los Angeles, California.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M, Owner at 1000 Curry, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Laura,
Thanks for the feedback and taking valuable time out of your busy schedule to review us.
We look forward to serving you , your family and friends whenever you are visiting around the area.
Once again thanks for making the effort to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1000 Curry also viewed

 
Gananoque, Ontario
 

Been to 1000 Curry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing