We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
192
169
159
71
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
169
159
71
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tuboutdoor poolwestern countrybest western hotelsausagebasket ball courtbasketball courtsteam roomwafflesfree breakfastbeds were very comfortablecasinocarolpatiocerealmicrowavecoupon
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Pros: the room was very spacious and included a screened in porch, some updates to bath and laminate flooring, mini fridge, microwave and flat screen tv. Beds are comfortable. Our room was clean and well stocked. Parking is free and breakfast is included. The indoor pool is a good size. Staff are friendly. The location is good. Wifi worked well and is free. Good value.
Cons: if you are looking for a trendy hotel this is NOT for you - most furniture is older, the halls and carpets need some tlc (think church hall from the 70s), the overhead lights were out in the pool, many of the fixes looked like they were done by a handyman not a professional, the breakfast room was full and noisy because of a bus group so we had to eat across the hall. Overall it looks like an older motel with a series of additions. Quality of room seems to vary according to which area you're in.

Room Tip: Pay more for an upgraded room
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2015

Thank you for your review we always appreciate the feedback this helps us improve any issues we are not aware of .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

Let's start by saying that this hotel has seen better times ;-) But even if it's a little dated, a few things were upgraded, such as washrooms and beds. The rooms are clean. At $100 or just above, it remains a good deal and a pleasant place. Staff is friendly and location is good.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank geolocura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Thank You for your review, we are pleased with our renovations and they are continuing very smoothly, we are glad that we are still able to modernize but keep the historical charm of the resort. We hope to see you return in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

The Country Squire is rated three stars on a popular hotel site where you "name your own price". Don't be misled-the stars are not indicative of the quality, only what is offered-ie if there's an attached restaurant, that apparently ups the rating. Regardless, the Squire is a decent enough hotel, although it's showing its age. It appears to have been a Best Western in a former life (the stickers on the in-room phone were a giveaway). The pool and rooms were decent enough, but don't stand out. The comp breakfast was typical chain hotel free breakfast fare-toast, cereal, yogurt, scrambled eggs, and sausage.
Be aware-occupancy rates are based upon two people. Any kids over the age of 8 incur an additional $10/night fee. Something I'd never encountered and seems somewhat nickel and diming the customer, but it is what it is. You might be able to negotiate that out.
Essentially, it appears to be an average economy to mid priced hotel that is competitively priced (around $75/night US) for the area.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cje123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Thank You for your review, although we do have an occupancy limit as most resorts do, unlike most resorts we do not charge certain fee`s for several different amenities we include these in our room rates, we have free parking, Complimentary breakfast, free wifi included in each room and we at no extra rental charge have health club equipment for use such as basketballs for our indoor and outdoor courts, squash equipment for indoor courts, pool accessories. This not only helps entertain children better but allows parents to be a bit lighter on the travelling gear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Privately owned and well managed Country Squire Resort and Spa in Gananoque is great value.
We highly recommend this accommodation over the many chain hotel/motels available in the area. Country Squire is not new and in some places may show its’ age however upgrades seem to be ongoing. This accommodation is truly a resort that offers what the local chains do not. Indoor and outdoor pools, spa, hot tub, squash, tennis, sauna, on site restaurant with outdoor patio. Large enough to take a stroll around the grounds on well maintained property. Staff is very friendly and helpful from Tori at check in with an attitude that lets you know right up front that you are at the right place to Tatiana in housekeeping whom we made friends with in the first minutes of meeting. We booked a room on the west side near the front with two double beds. The room had been somewhat renovated and included fridge, microwave, coffee maker, iron, hair dryer, flat screen t.v etc. The room was clean on check in. Breakfast is included and is much better than the simulated process fare offered by the chains. We slept well at $89.00 can. per night. Cousins on King bar and grill on site was excellent dining at reasonable prices. There are many restaurants in the area including a coffee chain next door and a burger chain and all you can eat buffet across the road. Country Squire is walking distance to many amenities you may require if traveling including major grocery, hardware and drugstore. It is a short drive to the casino, downtown Gananoque and the famous thousand island cruise terminal. Also nearby along the Thousand Island Parkway are the quaint villages of Ivy Lea and Rockport. You are thirty five minutes from Watertown, New York shopping malls and thirty minutes from historic Kingston, Ontario. Gananoque is busy in the fall with tourists booking tours of the Thousand Islands to view the fall colours so make reservations. I was impressed with this business and had no complaints; however had the feeling that staff would quickly correct anything I might have found less than accommodating. You are not going to find opulence in Gananoque as it is a smaller Ontario town. You will find good value and great staff at Country Squire. Whether you make this establishment a jump off point for touring the Thousand Islands or stay for all the resort has to offer, I feel you will be satisfied with the accommodation.
Keith D

Stayed: September 2015
4  Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Thank You for your review , we do appreciate this very much and look forward to having you stay with us again .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

We stayed at the Country Squire Sept 18th & 19th 2015. There was an unfortunate mix up with our reservations but Carol (at the front desk) was very helpful and accommodating. The resort is a labyrinth of hallways which will either be amusing or annoying depending on how you like, I found it amusing. The room was very clean and spacious, we were offered a couple of options (due to the mix up) and saw that all the rooms were quite large and clean but there are some that are really dated. We chose a room with a balcony and thoroughly enjoyed sitting out watching the lightning storm in complete comfort.
You can tell that they are making a true effort to give you all the comforts of home and a pleasant stay. You are also only minutes away from the Casino, there are plenty of restaurants in the area for all tastes but we drove to Brockville & Kingston (not far) for shopping.
And then there was the breakfast.... There are 2 attendants in the breakfast area trying to look busy and they were pleasant enough but when I asked where the waffles (as seen on the website) were I was told by them that they don't put them out because it's to much trouble (REALLY THAT'S YOUR ANSWER?!) and the front desk said that the waffles were a burn risk because of un-attended children. Since they had not one but TWO attendants in the breakfast area I do not understand either answer. The coffee was mediocre at best, there was toast & bagels. Sausages and scrambled eggs (I don't eat/like eggs) so I had 2 (cold) sausages burnt toast and a bowl of rice crispies. On the next morning I simply walked over to McDonalds.
So, had a great time but eat breakfast somewhere else

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the outdoor pool, it is very quiet and secluded. Most rooms have a small balcony to allow you to sit & enjoy
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cassandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GroupsalesGananoque, Manager at Country Squire Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Thank you for your review , we appreciate the feedback and will make changes accordingly .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews