We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B & B on Howe Island, Gananoque”
Review of Howe Island B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gananoque
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howe Island B&B
Ranked #1 of 12 Gananoque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

One night stay at this beautiful B & B
on St Lawrence River it was too short....!
Wendy and David ...your hospitality was wonderful...thank you for making our stay at your place so special...
Grace & Blayne

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Grace Grazyna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017

Thank you Wendy and David for the amazing 4 nights at your beautiful and peaceful property on Howe Island. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience of taking the ferry across to Howe Island and John my husband asked, “Howe did we do without this?” We finally caved and had a coffee on the deck on our last morning at the early wee hour of 8:30 a.m. Yes, as you can see we relaxed and enjoyed the sounds of the loons and song birds. Just beautiful sitting out on the deck and enjoying the view of the St. Lawrence.

We looked forward to the delicious breakfasts each morning which were plentiful. Wendy is an amazing chef and David always made sure our coffee cups were full. Did I mention that David is quite entertaining? We stayed in the Lawton lodge which had that rustic cottage feel with all the comforts. We enjoyed relaxing and sitting out on the screened porch at night.

We met Wendy and David as strangers and truly left as friends………a fantastic and relaxing experience!

Miss you already, Gloria and John

Room Tip: Lawton is separate and private away from the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gloriacollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We recently traveled to Gananoque, Ontario to celebrate a good friend's 50th wedding anniversary. The couple and my parents were staying at the Howe Island B&B and we spent most of our days there with them. Wendy and Dave were the perfect hosts and made us all feel completely welcome even finding some breakfast and a nice cup of coffee for us even though we "may" have arrived a bit past the posted hour.
Their property is simply gorgeous and they even managed to keep the much promised rain at bay for our entire visit. Well Done!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

A lovely place, a lovely couple, a lovely B&B
If you are on the way from Toronto to Ottawa, Montreal (whatever!, if you are on highway 401) it is absolutely worth to hop on the ferry and in 20 minutes you are there.
This is a place for one night or two. Best for short break and relax.

Wendy is sweet and lovely, david is fun (Make sure you have Wendy around when David is making jokes, as she is the only one that knows how to control him)

Relaxing ambience, beautiful cottage, lovely hosts, yummy breakfast. What else do you need?

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ali j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Our family had the pleasure of staying at Howe Island B&B, what an amazing experience. We had come into town for a graduation ceremony and only had 1 day there, but wish we had booked for the entire week. David and Wendy were amazing hosts, first they are both so friendly and accommodating, we had a very early morning and they had zero hesitation in being up with this bright and early and making breakfast. The breakfast was fantastic, Wendy went out of her way to make a little person pancake for our son, and we even got the recipe! The actual accommodation was a very well maintained guest cabin that we stayed in, with beautiful views of the water (the property has a dock and large water frontage). The property is immaculate, and like I stated above we wish we had much more time at Howe Island B&B, give yourself some time there! Don't rush :)

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rjl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gananoque hotels
8.8 km away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 10 in Gananoque
528 reviews
10.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
8.3 km away
The Woodview Inn
The Woodview Inn
#3 of 12 in Gananoque
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Sleepy Hollow Bed & Breakfast
8.9 km away
Seaway Manor Bed and Breakfast
8.4 km away
Absolute 1000 Islands Suites
Absolute 1000 Islands Suites
#11 of 12 in Gananoque
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howe Island B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howe Island B&B

Address: 1976B Howe Island Dr, Gananoque, Ontario K7G 2V6, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Gananoque
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Gananoque
Price Range: $153 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only 1000 Islands B&B on 250ft of absolute St Lawrence River shoreline, our Howe Island home has origins dating back to the early 1800's. We're located conveniently between Kingston & Gananoque. Come and relax on our deck or riverside hammock and watch the bird life and the river slip past. Discover why we say '' Discover Howe to relax! '' You'll love our enclosed sunroom overlooking the river and gardens and the cozy lounge. Howe Island B&B is very much an escape and dare we say, 'far from the madding crowd'! Gardenview and Vineyardview rooms are Air Conditioned, totally private and accommodate two couples or mature family. Lawton Lodge is a self contained cabin with screened porch and can accommodate two couples or a small family. Yes, you can even cruise up to our private boat dock! All that at just $185 per room per night (maximum 2 guests per room). Ask about our SUITE DEALS! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howe Island B&B Gananoque, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing