We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveller rating
172
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslawton lodgelawrence riverferry ridestuffed french toastperfect hoststhoroughly enjoyed the experiencemain homeflower bedsscreened porchrelaxing staygreat conversationpleasure of stayingthe water's edgeeach morningwonderful hospitalitylovely couplestayed for two nights
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 179 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Thank you Wendy and David for the amazing 4 nights at your beautiful and peaceful property on Howe Island. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience of taking the ferry across to Howe Island and John my husband asked, “Howe did we do without this?” We finally caved and had a coffee on the deck on our last morning at the early wee hour of 8:30 a.m. Yes, as you can see we relaxed and enjoyed the sounds of the loons and song birds. Just beautiful sitting out on the deck and enjoying the view of the St. Lawrence.

We looked forward to the delicious breakfasts each morning which were plentiful. Wendy is an amazing chef and David always made sure our coffee cups were full. Did I mention that David is quite entertaining? We stayed in the Lawton lodge which had that rustic cottage feel with all the comforts. We enjoyed relaxing and sitting out on the screened porch at night.

We met Wendy and David as strangers and truly left as friends………a fantastic and relaxing experience!

Miss you already, Gloria and John

Room Tip: Lawton is separate and private away from the main house.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gloriacollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We recently traveled to Gananoque, Ontario to celebrate a good friend's 50th wedding anniversary. The couple and my parents were staying at the Howe Island B&B and we spent most of our days there with them. Wendy and Dave were the perfect hosts and made us all feel completely welcome even finding some breakfast and a nice cup of coffee for us even though we "may" have arrived a bit past the posted hour.
Their property is simply gorgeous and they even managed to keep the much promised rain at bay for our entire visit. Well Done!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile

A lovely place, a lovely couple, a lovely B&B
If you are on the way from Toronto to Ottawa, Montreal (whatever!, if you are on highway 401) it is absolutely worth to hop on the ferry and in 20 minutes you are there.
This is a place for one night or two. Best for short break and relax.

Wendy is sweet and lovely, david is fun (Make sure you have Wendy around when David is making jokes, as she is the only one that knows how to control him)

Relaxing ambience, beautiful cottage, lovely hosts, yummy breakfast. What else do you need?

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ali j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

Our family had the pleasure of staying at Howe Island B&B, what an amazing experience. We had come into town for a graduation ceremony and only had 1 day there, but wish we had booked for the entire week. David and Wendy were amazing hosts, first they are both so friendly and accommodating, we had a very early morning and they had zero hesitation in being up with this bright and early and making breakfast. The breakfast was fantastic, Wendy went out of her way to make a little person pancake for our son, and we even got the recipe! The actual accommodation was a very well maintained guest cabin that we stayed in, with beautiful views of the water (the property has a dock and large water frontage). The property is immaculate, and like I stated above we wish we had much more time at Howe Island B&B, give yourself some time there! Don't rush :)

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rjl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Howe Island B&B is a pristine property. The beautiful lawns and flower beds lead you down to the magnificent river front where you can become mesmerized by the view sitting on the dock or in an Adirondack chair. Wendy and David are perfect hosts. Breakfast was outstanding. We began with a lovely fruit plate followed by stuffed French toast which was out of this world. We stayed in the very comfy and cozy Lawton Lodge Room that afforded us continuous sight and sound of the river. Our visit was a pure delight in every way.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank pm222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews